We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the Cape Town Area”
Review of Steenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I were coming off a Safari at Garonga and were staying in the Cape Town area for 4 days. We decided to stay at the Steenberg in Constantia because of the beautiful grounds, service and great reviews on tripadvisor, We weren't disappointed.

The hotel arranged a transfer from the airport, and the driver greeted us right when we got off the plane. We were looking for a nice restaurant to eat that evening, and the hotel concierge suggested Constantia Uitsig nearby. The hotel was nice enough to offer complimentary pick up and drop off to the restaurant. The restaurant suggestion was great, as the food was very good, and atmosphere wonderful.

The hotel also offers complimentary shuttle into Cape Town. They drop off around 10am and pickup is around 3pm. They drop off right at the waterfront, near the blue market and the aquarium.

Our last day in Cape Town was a beautiful, sunny day. We decided to go up to Bistro Sixteen82, which is the restaurant at the tasting room. The hotel also shuttles people from the main lobby up the hill, though it is totally walkable from the main hotel. The views from restaurant against the winery was beautiful.

We had a wonderful short stay and would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us this great and comprehensive feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you managed to experience so much of what Steenberg has to offer! Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to welcoming you again next time. With best wishes, Gaby Gramm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

We live in Caoe Town and took a one day booking. We walked in winelands, bathed, slept, ate at the bistro, dinner at Catarina's was amazing, the Steenberg wine gorgeous, service excellent, breakfast delicious, views outstanding, spa treatment wonderful (Ataraxia massage wow) - we spent a fine amount but it was sooooo worth it for pure relaxation and special treat standards. I'm envious of anyway who stays 2 weeks wow.

The golf course is stunning, the driving range too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KickingkingCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again next time. With best wishes, Gaby Gramm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights but would have been happy to stay longer .The setting is delightful and the rooms very comfortable and attractive. All the staff were exceptional ,nothing was too much trouble and this helped to make our stay extremely enjoyable. The grounds were very well maintained creating a lovely backdrop to the accomadation. The restaurants served delicious food and breakfast outside looking at the vines was fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We initially booked for lunch, and sat outside under the trees on a lovely sunny day. The food and wine were excellent, and we just fell in love with the tranquility and history of this place. We talked about coming back next year to stay, but then decided we would see if they could fit us in this holiday!
Our room was just above the reception area, and was perfect. The staff and service were great. Theres a small pool with a bar, which was lovely to just relax and read. The restaurant for dinner was excellent. The weather turned and it was pouring with rain, but we still had a great time.
Theres a complimentary wine tasting, which we did the following morning. We then found that theres a bistro restaurant as well on the estate, which was completely different, and looked really interesting.
Before our visit, we had thought that there wasnt enough to occupy us for more than a couple of days on a wine estate. We've changed our view ! We didnt want to leave.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for this wonderful feedback! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much that it prompted you to book in and spend some time with us - and that you experienced all that Steenberg has to offer. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Gaby Gramm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks and found the hotel truly outstanding. The staff are very well trained, and always very very helpful.The shuttle service around the area is an added plus.
We plan on a longer stay next year.
Dr. Gordon Jenkins

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your 2 week stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again next time. With best wishes, Gaby Gramm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Steenberg Hotel a 5 star resort more then worthy.Rooms very comfortable.Breakfast-lunch-dinner more then perfect with a very friendly and helpful staff.They spoiled us completely and we will certainly come back.Beautiful well maintained golfcourse but very busy,if we had known we would have booked tee times before arrival.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your with us! We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future. With best wishes, Gaby Gramm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the Steenberg in January 2011 (apologies this is a late review). We drove through beautiful vineyards and arrived at several old Dutch buildings that were very luxuriously appointed. We arrived early so they gave us a beautiful day room to freshen up in. There is a real old world feeling like you stepped back in time and are standing in some kings mansion. The grounds are so well kept, neat and constantly tended to. We ate lunch and dinner in the main restaurant that overlooks the vineyard. I'd recommend making reservations for a chance to eat outdoors under the stars.

The rooms are pure luxury. You won't want to leave. Staying at the Steenberg was a great break from our Botswana safari before heading to Kruger. Our only regret is we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChefUzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in January with us, and that you experienced so much of Steenberg! We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

With best wishes,
Gaby Gramm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
439 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,362 reviews
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
198 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenberg Hotel

Address: Tokai Road | Steenberg Estate, Constantia 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#1 Family Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#2 Business Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: £171 - £1,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards nestles at the foot of the magnificent Stone Mountain. Here the elegance & tradition of the 17th century blend harmoniously with the luxuries and conveniences of our modern age. A Championship golf course, an award winning Winery, Catharina’s Restaurant and Steenberg Spa complete the serene picture of this 24-bedroom Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steenberg Hotel Cape Town
Steenberg Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing