We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Beautiful Hotel - Perfect Base in Cape Town”
Review of Steenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Relaxing Beautiful Hotel - Perfect Base in Cape Town”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 2nd visit to Cape Town and were impressed by the beautiful setting of the hotel. It's set in the tranquil Constatia Valley about a 20-25 min drive to downtown Cape Town or Camp's Bay. The resort is set on a large tract of land that includes a winery & vineyards as well as the best golf course in Cape Town. One of my favorite memories was eating breakfast on the terrace of Catherina's overlooking the beautiful vineyards with hummingbirds feeding off the nectar from the nearby flowers. We stayed in the historic part of the hotel that dates back to the 17th century. All the rooms have been recently updated, but still retain their historic character will all sorts of antique furnishings, books and paintings in the common areas - some beautiful pieces that could easily be in a museum - so interesting. They've done a wonderful job of combining modern luxury with historic charm. The restaurants on site are very good. We had the pleasure of eating at Catherina's one night and the food and service were excellent. I wish we had time to try the bistro at the winery, as this looked very good - a bit more casual fare than Catherina's. We did, however, do a wine tasting at the vineyard bar and it was quite good. Not the best wine in the world, but quite good and the setting was beautiful. The winery is set in a tasteful modern building that blends perfectly with the surrounding vineyards. An excellent place to spend the afternoon. My husband also loved the golf course - some of our friends in Cape Town said it was the best in the city. While we were at the resort, they were hosting a roll-out event for the new Porsche 911 Carrera. It was fun to catch a glimpse of the newly redesigned 2012 model before it was even available in North America. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillertracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us this great and comprehensive feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! It's wonderful that you enjoyed so much of Steenberg during your stay, and we're thrilled that you had such a great time. We look forward to welcoming you again! With best wishes, Gaby Gramm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    42
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
294
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I were coming off a Safari at Garonga and were staying in the Cape Town area for 4 days. We decided to stay at the Steenberg in Constantia because of the beautiful grounds, service and great reviews on tripadvisor, We weren't disappointed.

The hotel arranged a transfer from the airport, and the driver greeted us right when we got off the plane. We were looking for a nice restaurant to eat that evening, and the hotel concierge suggested Constantia Uitsig nearby. The hotel was nice enough to offer complimentary pick up and drop off to the restaurant. The restaurant suggestion was great, as the food was very good, and atmosphere wonderful.

The hotel also offers complimentary shuttle into Cape Town. They drop off around 10am and pickup is around 3pm. They drop off right at the waterfront, near the blue market and the aquarium.

Our last day in Cape Town was a beautiful, sunny day. We decided to go up to Bistro Sixteen82, which is the restaurant at the tasting room. The hotel also shuttles people from the main lobby up the hill, though it is totally walkable from the main hotel. The views from restaurant against the winery was beautiful.

We had a wonderful short stay and would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us this great and comprehensive feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you managed to experience so much of what Steenberg has to offer! Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to welcoming you again next time. With best wishes, Gaby Gramm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We live in Caoe Town and took a one day booking. We walked in winelands, bathed, slept, ate at the bistro, dinner at Catarina's was amazing, the Steenberg wine gorgeous, service excellent, breakfast delicious, views outstanding, spa treatment wonderful (Ataraxia massage wow) - we spent a fine amount but it was sooooo worth it for pure relaxation and special treat standards. I'm envious of anyway who stays 2 weeks wow.

The golf course is stunning, the driving range too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KickingkingCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again next time. With best wishes, Gaby Gramm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights but would have been happy to stay longer .The setting is delightful and the rooms very comfortable and attractive. All the staff were exceptional ,nothing was too much trouble and this helped to make our stay extremely enjoyable. The grounds were very well maintained creating a lovely backdrop to the accomadation. The restaurants served delicious food and breakfast outside looking at the vines was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We initially booked for lunch, and sat outside under the trees on a lovely sunny day. The food and wine were excellent, and we just fell in love with the tranquility and history of this place. We talked about coming back next year to stay, but then decided we would see if they could fit us in this holiday!
Our room was just above the reception area, and was perfect. The staff and service were great. Theres a small pool with a bar, which was lovely to just relax and read. The restaurant for dinner was excellent. The weather turned and it was pouring with rain, but we still had a great time.
Theres a complimentary wine tasting, which we did the following morning. We then found that theres a bistro restaurant as well on the estate, which was completely different, and looked really interesting.
Before our visit, we had thought that there wasnt enough to occupy us for more than a couple of days on a wine estate. We've changed our view ! We didnt want to leave.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for this wonderful feedback! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much that it prompted you to book in and spend some time with us - and that you experienced all that Steenberg has to offer. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Gaby Gramm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks and found the hotel truly outstanding. The staff are very well trained, and always very very helpful.The shuttle service around the area is an added plus.
We plan on a longer stay next year.
Dr. Gordon Jenkins

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your 2 week stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you again next time. With best wishes, Gaby Gramm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mougins
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Steenberg Hotel a 5 star resort more then worthy.Rooms very comfortable.Breakfast-lunch-dinner more then perfect with a very friendly and helpful staff.They spoiled us completely and we will certainly come back.Beautiful well maintained golfcourse but very busy,if we had known we would have booked tee times before arrival.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us this great feedback - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your with us! We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future. With best wishes, Gaby Gramm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
409 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenberg Hotel

Property: Steenberg Hotel
Address: Tokai Road | Steenberg Estate, Constantia 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#1 Family Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#2 Business Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards nestles at the foot of the magnificent Stone Mountain. Here the elegance & tradition of the 17th century blend harmoniously with the luxuries and conveniences of our modern age. A Championship golf course, an award winning Winery, Catharina’s Restaurant and Steenberg Spa complete the serene picture of this 24-bedroom Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steenberg Hotel Cape Town
Steenberg Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing