We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite gem”
Review of Steenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An exquisite gem”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Our stay was perfect - the cosy and classy ambiance, the polished and friendly staff and the deliciousness of the food. It also helps that you look out at a beautiful mountain range and can play golf on a magnificent golf course. Highly recommend this place...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisatonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    42
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
294
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

You can tell so much about a place from the welcome on arrival...this place does it brilliantly - the luggage vanished to reappear in our room, the car; parked, 'check-in' smooth and not too bureaucratic.
The Spa treatments were given the thumbs up by the girls and the food in Catharina's was really good. Great flavours and a lovely atmosphere without being pretentious and aloof.
The team were without exception warm and friendly and keen to please. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Fantastic hotel, fantastic food (and wine!) and impeccable service. We stayed in the Colonial Suite which was beautiful. Look out for the resident Owls and the Peacock. Wonderful experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorien39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We found Steenberg on the Internet when we decided at short notice to head for Cape Town after Christmas. As soon as we arrived, we relaxed. There is a great atmosphere, nothing is too much trouble, the room was great and the food memorable. We are not golfers and were pleased that that is just down the road. Steenberg itself is peace and quiet and well worth it.

Colin & Naomi Hall

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. From the warm welcome, to efficient and friendly check in, to the absolutely beautiful, well appointed and spacious room....and all in the most glorious surroundings - there was nothing I could find fault with. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Premier rooms are very spacious, quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I am hesitant to continue to spread the word on this gem! Such a lovely spot full of history. We stayed in the cottage rooms (not the main building), two regular rooms and one higher-end (this one was very large and more modern). The restaurants were great and the grounds are spectacular. We had some local friends to dinner one night and they also spoke highly of Steenberg (to be honest they recommended another similar spot as their favorite but I cannot recall that name). We did not play golf as we'd played elsewhere but the course looked nice and fairly basic. Look for the resident owl at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaE704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Steenberg provides a genuine five star experience. Wish I could afford it. We went in the low season in 2011 and they upgraded us to a nice room overlooking the golf course (which is a Championship course). Take the cheapest room if you cannot afford anything else - and enjoy the absolute high-end service level provided at a level that you would normally never be able to afford. Great food. Fantastic breakfast setting. Winery and golf course inside the estate. Wish I would never have to leave. Did I mention the spa?

Sincerely hope I can return one day. Last time we went to Cape Town, Steenberg only had rooms above our pain levels. Life can be beautiful.

Best hotel experience of my years travelling in 60+ countries

Room Tip: the simplest room is perhaps not five star great. But it buys you access to a brilliant service, loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders-Deguene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
409 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,553 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenberg Hotel

Property: Steenberg Hotel
Address: Tokai Road | Steenberg Estate, Constantia 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#1 Family Hotel in Constantia
#2 Business Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards nestles at the foot of the magnificent Stone Mountain. Here the elegance & tradition of the 17th century blend harmoniously with the luxuries and conveniences of our modern age. A Championship golf course, an award winning Winery, Catharina’s Restaurant and Steenberg Spa complete the serene picture of this 24-bedroom Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steenberg Hotel Cape Town
Steenberg Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing