We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steenberg Hotel”
Review of Steenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Beautiful setting in lush vineyards...very comfortable, all needs catered for....highly recommended.
Staff were friendly, restaurant "Catherina's" was wonderful...Wonderful wine tasting experience of the Steenberg wines,

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite, which was a private 'house' with full facilities, 2 large bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juditta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed three nights at Steenberg (in no. 25, the Pinot Gris) at the end of August. It was our first accommodation on our tour through the Western Cape and our baggage got lost somewhere on the way from VIE-FRA-JNB-CPT. We asked the reception, if they could call the airport and ask for an update. From that time onwards we had the impression, that the whole team at Steenberg made it their personal goals to get our baggage to the hotel - superb service!

Our kids found little welcome presents on their pillows! The spacious rooms (and the bathroom) are equipped with sufficient European plug adaptors, for Nintendos, shavers, etc. If you fill the bathtub, the water may appear brownish, but this is normal in the region and should not to be interpreted as poor water quality).

We had dinner at Catharina's on the day of our arrival. The restaurant, which is located next to the main building combines modern design with a casual atmosphere (we liked the origami on the ceiling, the cosy fireplace and the views through the ceiling to floor windows). Food was excellent, staff was very friendly and flexible in fulfilling our kid's wishes.

Breakfast is also served in Catharina's - it is a la card, not a buffet breakfast, again staff was very flexible and going the extra mile (you know, kids can be very specific in what they like).

Catharina's was closed one evening and the reception booked a casual restaurant for us, five minutes from the hotel. A driver brought us to the restaurant and picked us up again at no extra cost - not only that we felt like VIPs, it is a very secure way of dining out and you can enjoy your glass of wine with a clear conscience.

Speaking about security: Steenberg is a very well protected estate. Another plus is the location - it is a 30 minutes drive to the penguins at Bolder's and also 30 minutes to Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, Kirstenbosch is even closer. And finally for mom and dad, Steenberg produces excellent wines (plus Constantia and Buitenverwachting close by).

The Eqyptian goose, which you will find everywhere on the estate, can get loud in the morning, but for us it was just the pleasant sound of nature.

Summing up: 5 star service in a little paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank schofmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My niece and I spent six nights here and enjoyed every second. The reception staff were friendly and helpful with organising bookings, transfers or just advice and information. The room was beautiful with a view out the back to vineyards and Table Mountain to our right.
I cannot fault any aspect of our stay and the warmth and friendliness of the staff.
We made good use of the restaurant, Catherina's and the tapas bar and wine tasting at 1682.
Would go back any time, be it to sight see or just chill out.

Room Tip: Our room was well located and we could walk out into the main grounds very easily. We did not see ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manuela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have been to the Steenberg Hotel for a short stay during a business trip to Cape Town. I have appreciated:

- the warm welcome
- very confortable stay in the cosy and well-equipped rooms
- excellent restaurant
- nice and relaxing outdoors
- good price for the service level and quality

Happy to come back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pabo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Amazing service, amazing people. While the hotel and the surroundings are fantastic, the spa stands out not only for the expertise of the treatment specialists, but also the people themselves. It's so easy to be disappointed by a spa experience when you travel, but this is fantastic on both counts. Well done, and thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Editor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 days while on business, didnt get to use all the facilities, but the accomodation, food and staff are all excellent.
View from the breakfast area on a morning was stunning,
If I was working in that area again I would plan my trip around staying at the Steenberg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoobyDoo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our company's international board of directors (German, Japanese and South African) stayed at Steenberg Hotel from 19 May 2014 to 21 May 2014. We also hosted our board meeting at Steenberg Hotel. The hotel and the estate provide for spectacular views and lovely accommodation. The customer service was exemplary.

Thank you very much to Jackie, Bronwyn and the team for ensuring that everything went smoothly and for making our stay a memorable one. I received only positive feedback from all the directors.

Elize

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizeIsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
427 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,572 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenberg Hotel

Address: Tokai Road | Steenberg Estate, Constantia 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Constantia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#2 Business Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: £179 - £1,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards nestles at the foot of the magnificent Stone Mountain. Here the elegance & tradition of the 17th century blend harmoniously with the luxuries and conveniences of our modern age. A Championship golf course, an award winning Winery, Catharina’s Restaurant and Steenberg Spa complete the serene picture of this 24-bedroom Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steenberg Hotel Cape Town
Steenberg Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing