We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

My wife and I stayed here two nights and we really loved the hotel. The rooms are unique, the staff is very attentive but not over bearing, the food is fantastic, and the grounds are second to none. Highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Liked — location, food, uniqueness of the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mjd232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    41
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
61
277
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bottighofen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2008

Absolutely perfect! We stayed on our Trip to South Africa in several good Hotels like the Fancourt, Table Bay Hotel in Cape town, the Arabella Western Cape Hotel. All of them reached a high level – but not even comparable! When it cams to Service, Friendliness and filling like at Home – Steenberg is the Place to stay! Together with remarkable Wines and a perfectly manicured Golf course (like a botanical Garden) and all in walking distance there is only one word – perfect! Thanks’ to all at Steenberg!

  • Liked — Servie, everything in short walking distance
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank credor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

The Steenberg was a delightful surprise! We visited mainly to play golf on what turned out to be one of the best courses we played during our three week golfing holiday in South Africa. The Steenberg was more than the golf course however. The hotel accomodation was exellent as was the food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast. What set the whole place apart however, was the staff. They couldn't do enough for you and were always helpful and understandin. They were not motivated to be looking for tips all the time because the hotel makes clear its policy to guests...leave a tip when you pay your bill and it will be divided amongst the staff. You can't believe the difference this makes! Even the security staff smile when you arrive!
Overall we thought the Steenberg exellent and will make an effort to visit again when next in South Africa. It was the best we stayed in on this trip and the golf course...fantastic!

  • Liked — Everything was more than we expected.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterTiger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. By South African standards this is a very expensive hotel, but not by our (London) standards. It was well worth every penny. The staff were friendly and helpful but not overbearing. I loved the fact that as you walked through during the day everyone would say hello if they went past. We went out diving one day and when we returned everyone asked if we had a good time! Our room was beautiful - we had a whole building to ourselves near to the pool - well kept and clean. The turndown service was fantastic - it was lovely to come home to. Absolutely recommended to anyone paying a visit to Cape Town.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JMN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

From the moment we arrived, with the views of the mountain and the vineyards, we felt at home. The moment you step into the hotel, they treat you like Royalty. Check in is easy and quick...for good reason, because you need to get to your macnificent room asap. Our room had a open-plan bathroom and bedroom and how wonderful to sit in a bubblebath talking to my husband on the bed while taking in the amazing views of the mountains and the golfcourse.
Do not miss the amazing Steenberg wines. Their Sauvignon Blanc is the best in South Africa, the Merlot is unique to this area and wonderful with food and do ask for there special wine, Nebbiolo......my favourite!!!

The restaurant Catherina is in the Top 10 best restaurants in South Africa and they deserve it.

Definetely the best Hotel I have stayed in and we will be back everytime we are in Cape Town.

  • Liked — The amazing views, bath and wine!!
  • Disliked — Would love to stay longer
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MadGerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, Herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

Arriving at the gorgeous estate with the mountain backdrop and vineyards was a real treat. Then on arrival, the staff at Steenberg couldn't do enough for us. Welcome drinks, a quick orientation tour and then subtle attention throughout our stay. I can recommend the restaurant there despite having complimentary travel within a 5 km radius to other restaurants recommended by the hotel!
The bedroom was a beautiful 'oldy worldy' but emaculately decorated room with a wonderful high ceiling. Breakfast was laid out to oversee the vineyards and a delight.
We stayed there to play the golf course there, which was in excellent condition, although I would have preferred the houses to have been set back a little more from the course...being picky! But the course was good value with the significant savings if you stayed at the hotel, which we did. Golf wasn't such a bargain on it's own.
But I will remember Steenberg for the tranquil pleasures, the complimentary wine tasting and the lounging around the small but well layed out private feeling pool area.
Constantia is a good location from which to visit other Cape Town and peninsular areas too.

  • Liked — Characterful rooms, exceptional service
  • Disliked — Hard to fault
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHappy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

Like the previous reviewer I thought the rooms were lovely and enjoyed the spacious bathrooms. The grounds are a little open if it is a windy day but pleasant enough for a walk. There seemed to be lots of staff about most of the day too.

I thought the breakfast pretty average but was put off by the grubby marks round the bottom of the dining room walls and the ladies room was certainly not 5 star. Food very meat based and nothing too special. We were told there is going to be a major renovation of it all this winter but it would not draw me back as the Cellars Hohenhort is far superior in every way.

  • Liked — the bathroom
  • Disliked — the restaurant and dirt
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenberg Hotel

Property: Steenberg Hotel
Address: Tokai Road | Steenberg Estate, Constantia 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Constantia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#2 Business Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards nestles at the foot of the magnificent Stone Mountain. Here the elegance & tradition of the 17th century blend harmoniously with the luxuries and conveniences of our modern age. A Championship golf course, an award winning Winery, Catharina’s Restaurant and Steenberg Spa complete the serene picture of this 24-bedroom Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steenberg Hotel Cape Town
Steenberg Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing