We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”
Review of Steenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2009

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Steenberg for 3 nights in December as our son's wedding reception was being held at the adjoining golf club. From the moment we arrived, we received fabulous services in really beautiful surroundings.

We had a very spacious room with a huge bathroom and a lovely patio with a view of some of the gardens and the nearby mountain. The furnishings were a lovely mix of antique and modern with all the little touches that make a hotel stay memorable. We also had a lovely lounge area right outside our door so we had the feeling of having even more space.

Friends were travelling with us with their daughter and they had one of the family suites which was equally beautiful with a bathroom that was bigger than most bedrooms.

What really stood out for us was the exceptional and hospitable service we received from every staff member we can in contact with. I was able to book hairdressing and makeup appointments months in advance and Sumari Vorster was not only very helpful in making the arrangements for us but was extremely prompt in responding to all my questions. Once we arrived at the hotel, every staff member seemed to know who we were and that we were there for our son's wedding. It was really special to have everyone offering good wishes on the big day.

As a side note, if anyone is looking for a truly wonderful venue for a wedding reception, the Steenberg golf club did a really marvelous job - great food, beautiful setting and excellent staff.

We would happily stay at the Steenberg again as it really is first class with great amenities, beautiful surroundings and staff that go out of their way to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hailey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Steenberg Hotel! Even though it was only one night- we decided to stay overnight on a whim whilst we were having dinner at the equally wonderful "Catharinas" restaurant located on the same property. It was our 6 year anniversary and all of the staff really went the extra mile and covered our dinner table and bed with rose petals, The staff were all great and overall it was an unforgetable experience!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazztart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Lovely small hotel surrounded by an excellent maintained golf course. Very friendly staff and spacious and luxurious rooms.
Unfortunately the restaurant was under construction during our stay, so we didn't get a perfect seat for dinner. But we are sure we''l come back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank spezialspezies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

The Steenberg has so much to offer - gorgeous grounds and gardens, vineyard and tasting room, a lovely spa. The rooms and lounges were welcoming and spacious but most notable was the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATravellerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

we get the advice to relax and do a perfect Winery of a business relation. For us it was the first time to get here, in three words it was: more than perfect.
every body gives us the status of a queen and king.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoopvanKrimpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

My wife and I stayed here two nights and we really loved the hotel. The rooms are unique, the staff is very attentive but not over bearing, the food is fantastic, and the grounds are second to none. Highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mjd232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

Absolutely perfect! We stayed on our Trip to South Africa in several good Hotels like the Fancourt, Table Bay Hotel in Cape town, the Arabella Western Cape Hotel. All of them reached a high level – but not even comparable! When it cams to Service, Friendliness and filling like at Home – Steenberg is the Place to stay! Together with remarkable Wines and a perfectly manicured Golf course (like a botanical Garden) and all in walking distance there is only one word – perfect! Thanks’ to all at Steenberg!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank credor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
464 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,410 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
216 reviews
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
542 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenberg Hotel

Address: Tokai Road | Steenberg Estate, Constantia 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#2 Business Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: £181 - £1,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards nestles at the foot of the magnificent Stone Mountain. Here the elegance & tradition of the 17th century blend harmoniously with the luxuries and conveniences of our modern age. A Championship golf course, an award winning Winery, Catharina’s Restaurant and Steenberg Spa complete the serene picture of this 24-bedroom Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Steenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steenberg Hotel Cape Town
Steenberg Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing