We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”
Review of Steenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth England
1 review
“A gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Having travelled on business for 20+ years it was a joy to stay at such a unique hotel. Great personal service, stunning (quiet) setting, wonderful restaurant & fantastic wines. Transport service lets you explore.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheppy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    42
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
65
295
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

First: We travel a lot. A LOT !!!
Spent 1 week at STEENBERG Hotel in March and were so thrilled about well, EVERYTHING, that we have immediately booked another trip for December. The Rooms are wonderful, the service very attentive (without being annoying), the location a dream (especially the gardens and the adjoining golf course). Food delicious (amazing breakfast), great wine list (not to be missed!) and phantastic food at CATHARINA's restaurant - which is definitively worth a visit (try SUNDAY JAZZ BRUNCH) even if you dont stay at the hotel.
STEENBERG became one of our most favourite hotels - and is for sure one of the very best down at the Cape. Keep up the good work STEENBERG!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derhase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2009

My stay at the Steenberg hotel was nothing less than stunning.
Set in beautiful surroundings with lovely views of the mountains the hotel is perfect. Within easy reach of Cape town it is an excellent base to explore the area.
The staff were warm friendly and welcoming, the food was 1st class, rooms well designed and spacious. The Spa and wine tasting all added to a really great stay.
Perfect for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I stayed at the Steenberg as part of a business trip, however the hotel has a perfect ambience for business or leisure. The rooms are large and comfortable. The surroundings are perfect - you can even see Table Mountain in the distance from some of the rooms. The Spa is a perfect way to relax. The food in the restaurant is wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
1,513 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 974 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

This hotel and winery is in the most beautiful region called Constantia in South Africa and is everything a five-star hotel should be. Service was outstanding, the spa was first class and the food excellent. The golf course looked inviting and well maintained and the pool is lovely. Room service was provided with polite speed and can be served on your private patio. This hotel deserves at least a few days so that you can enjoy all it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybeeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We recently returned from the lovely Steenberg Hotel in Constantia, having enjoyed a relaxing stay in tranquil and secure surroundings. The service at the hotel was excellent and all staff were polite and helpful. Our room was large and beautifully furnished, with a pleasant outdoor patio area. We had our two small sons with us and, despite this hotel being an upmarket, boutique style hotel, they were made to feel very welcome. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, GA, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

My wife and I spent the first 3 nights of our 32 day African experience
at the Steenberg. We wish it had been our last 3 nights after our
grueling but fantastic African travels. The hotel, the grounds, the
fantastic staff and wonderful service, and our spacious and posh suite
were all top notch. Dining at the hotel restaurant was very memorable,
especially the inclusive breakfast buffet in its vineyard setting. The hotel is surrounded by its own large vineyards and golf course, with
tasting room. It is located in the Constatia Valley, 15 miles outside
Cape Town, on the Cape Peninsular. There is a complimentary
shuttle service daily to Cape Town City Centre. Otherwise it is
advisable to have a rental car to enjoy the beautiful surrounds of
the Peninsular. We won our 3 nights package on an internet auction
site at a fraction of the $500+ room rack daily price. Otherwise, I
feel that paying full price is not worth the stay, in spite of the splendid
atmosphere and memorable time we had there. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
409 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenberg Hotel

Property: Steenberg Hotel
Address: Tokai Road | Steenberg Estate, Constantia 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#1 Family Hotel in Constantia
#2 Business Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards nestles at the foot of the magnificent Stone Mountain. Here the elegance & tradition of the 17th century blend harmoniously with the luxuries and conveniences of our modern age. A Championship golf course, an award winning Winery, Catharina’s Restaurant and Steenberg Spa complete the serene picture of this 24-bedroom Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Steenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steenberg Hotel Cape Town
Steenberg Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing