We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Save
  
Ways to Experience Groot Constantia
from US$42.20
More Info
from US$220.28
More Info
from US$90.03
More Info
from US$108.67
More Info
Reviews (1,545)
Filter reviews
1,545 results
Traveller rating
811
505
149
54
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
811
505
149
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar tour oldest winery wine tasting cape town blue line south africa hop on hop off bus wine estate wine making different wines the city sightseeing bus beautiful estate tasting room take home red bus great wine sauvignon blanc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 1,545 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

We went for a chocolate and wine pairing, Tim did the tasting for us and really made the experience a very memorable one. His knowledge and passion really came through during the tasting, we will definitely be back.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Devster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2019 via mobile

For 110 rand per person you’ll get Museum, wine tasting, wine tour and wine glass.
For the Museum we were given a book to refer to for each artifact‍♀️
The wine tasting was great. We had a young guy whose name escapes me but he was knowledgeable and took the time to go explain the key notes to all of our choices.
The wine tour was a bit ordinary....
if you’re after nice wines, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Nads71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

The grounds are attractive but I downgraded it a bit because they are not is pretty as for galligan or Beau Constantia or some others, but it has great history, is very accessible from anywhere in Cape Town, and wines were very tasty. It is accessible from the Hop-on Hop-off. The wine tasting is 90 and for just 15 more you get the cellar tour and the manor house ("museum") tour. It's worth the marginal difference.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank 490kirbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

Every visit to Cape Town I make time to visit the oldest wine-producing farm in South Africa. The location is memorable, with easy access from the city. Tour of Wine Museum, followed by wine tasting very informative. Both restaurants have menus to cater for all pallets. Presently in the Manor House is an interesting exhibition on Napoleon being exiled to St Helena by the British government.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank heatherpartingtonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2019

Beautiful, pristine, photogenic, historical setting. We took the purple bus and did the museum tour and wine tasting. The beauty of the winery was soured when we experienced a racist incident during the wine tasting: The white lady served the white people around us, but would not serve me...twice! We are South African's of Indian descent, and Susan wouldn't even make eye contact with me! Extremely disappointing. I have reported the incident to Groot Constantia, who immediately made an excuse for her, saying that 'it probably was not intentional' but that they would investigate! Racism is certainly NOT dead in South Africa!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank SPiCEYDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews