We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent food at reasonable price tag”
Review of The Conservatory

The Conservatory
Ranked #8 of 47 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Conservatory, situated adjacent to the historic Cellars-Hohenort cellar, offers diners unparalleled garden vistas from both the sun-drenched terrace and the indoor tables. Carefully constructed around a giant 300-year-old oak tree, The Conservatory is one of Constantia's finest daily breakfast, lunch and dinner venues. Here the head chef creates hotel classics alongside modern and seasonally influenced dishes. The Conservatory menu places a great emphasis on fresh produce from both The Cellars-Hohenort gardens and local green-friendly suppliers, and this gives it the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the Constantia Valley. Friendly service and an award-winning wine list ensure that The Conservatory offers guests and locals an exceptional everyday dining experience.
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A few people have commented on service not being what it could be at this place but we really found it to be outstanding, including a really excellent wine recommendation. (rustenberg Chardonnay I think). It was pretty quiet when we were there so perhaps it deteriorates when busy. The food here was excellent, to a standard I would associate with a much higher price usually. The cheese souffle in particular was exquisite as was the kingklip fish. Deserts I thought not quite up to the standard of the rest of the meal. It is just 5 mins from the botanical gardens so it was very convenient for us to go there after to try and walk off some of the calories! Would definitely return given the chance and can imagine this place is excellent for a long and lazy Sunday lunch in beautiful surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ruth_is_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 198 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We really enjoyed our meal in the conservatory. The menu is quite simple but well executed and there is something there for everyone. The service was excellent especially as it was pretty busy. We shall certainly return.

1  Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We visited The Conservatory for the dinner on a summer evening in late January as a group of 5.

The grounds of the Cellars Hohenort Hotel are beautiful, so first impressions were very good. Unfortunately the experience went downhill from there.

We visited The Conservatory for the dinner on a summer evening in late January as a group of 5.

The grounds of the Cellars Hohenort Hotel are beautiful, so first impressions were very good. Unfortunately the experience went downhill from there.

We intentionally arrived about half an hour early so that we could have cocktails out on the terrace. There was nobody at all in the lounge or bar areas to greet us, and we had to go into the restaurant to find someone. We arranged to go outside to a pleasant table near the duck pond. 10 minutes went by until we were given cocktail menu's, and then another 10 minutes for the orders to be taken (bear in mind we were the only guests there). Then another (longer) wait for the drinks to arrive - one of us to go inside to find out what the delay was). When the drinks did come, the signature "Americano" cocktail had morphed into, wait for it..., a cup of black coffee with biscuit. After that was corrected, we were left alone outside.

We gave up waiting to be called in to our table, and made our way through ourselves (now 25 later than the original reservation slot). The restaurant had filled up considerably, so the good tables (i.e. with views or alongside windows or wall) were gone. We therefore did not experience any real atmosphere.

It took ages for the waitress to arrive at our table. Too few menus were brought out, and we had to ask twice for the wine list. The food itself was an equal disappointment. Between the 5 of us, we tried 12 different dishes over the course of the evening. Some were okay, but a number verging on the bad. A standout was a course containing whole foie gras. The liver had not been cleaned, and was raw in the middle. Disgusting.

We had let the restaurant know that the dinner was a birthday celebration, but there was no acknowledgement of this during the dinner. They either must have forgotten or didn't care.

On our visit, the service was distinctly poor. We visited a number of other well known restaurants during our trip - all of which were far better. A notable contrast is The Greenhouse. On the same property, but in an utterly different league.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SussexCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time out to communicate your sub standard experience that you had with us in January. We do however wish that you had brought this problem to our attention sooner so that we could have done something to rectify the problem immediately, however we do appreciate your feedback.

This type of experience is definitely not the standard that we live up to here at The Cellars Hohenort and we would like to apologise for what happened that evening.

We strive for excellence throughout and we will definitely ensure that this type of experience does not happen again in the future.

We would really like to see you again in the future and please make contact with me directly should you be in Cape Town again, we would like to show you the true Conservatory dining experience that we have become well known for.

My email address is hilton@cellars-hohenort.co.za

I look forward to hearing from you soon,

Best Regards

Conservatory Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The cellars hohenort is a very besutiful place in the heart of constantia, cape town. The conservatory restaurant is situated beautifully in the midst of the famous hohenort gardens. We had a lovely dinner, marvellous signature dishes and the service was excellent, very friendly. Very nice barman/sommelier as well!

Thank Featherfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Good Day

Thank you so much for your feedback about your experience at The Conservatory.

We are so glad to hear about your excellent experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cellars Hohenort in the future.

Best Regards

Conservatory Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

There has been a reorganisation at the Cellars Hohenort in recent times and the Conservatory is part of the new dining experience at the hotel.

After some indifferent experiences at the Cellars over a period of years we gave it a miss and its nearly five years since we last visited. We read quite a few positive reviews recently so thought we would give it another go.

We went for a Sunday lunch and the experience was so good that we went again a few days later for a midweek lunch. Both experiences were very positive in particular the Sumday lunch, Yorkshire pudding is a great test and not many places get it right, happily the chef at the Conservatory came up trumps. The famous Liz Mcgrath chocolate dessert was always pretty special but they seemed to have taken it on to another level, it was sulime.

The only thing I was not impressed with was the wine list. There seems to be a growing tendancy to put huge mark up's on the price of wine, especially in tourist areas. It is a very worrying trend and I won't be alone in voting with my feet if I feel I am being taken advantage of.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank intergoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Good Day

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Conservatory. We appreciate your comments and really look forward to your next visit with us.

With regards to your thoughts regarding the pricing on our wine list, we will look into this and try to offer competitive pricing on all our wines to the best of our ability.

We appreciate your feedback and we will do everything we can to provide value for money, as well as an excellent dining experience all round.

Best Regards

Conservatory Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Conservatory also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing