We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet tree house”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Conservatory

The Conservatory
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Conservatory, situated adjacent to the historic Cellars-Hohenort cellar, offers diners unparalleled garden vistas from both the sun-drenched terrace and the indoor tables. Carefully constructed around a giant 300-year-old oak tree, The Conservatory is one of Constantia's finest daily breakfast, lunch and dinner venues. Here the head chef creates hotel classics alongside modern and seasonally influenced dishes. The Conservatory menu places a great emphasis on fresh produce from both The Cellars-Hohenort gardens and local green-friendly suppliers, and this gives it the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the Constantia Valley. Friendly service and an award-winning wine list ensure that The Conservatory offers guests and locals an exceptional everyday dining experience.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet tree house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The setting at the conservatory is wonderful. You are elevated at tree canopy level and the restaurant itself is elegantly appointed. The service was friendly and efficient and the food excellent. The wine list is extraordinary and original. My only criticism of the experience was that the wine is overpriced with even the more ordinary options being priced at R 200 _R350. Would go again but not with wine lovers if I am paying.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steffen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good Day

Thank you for your feedback and we are really glad you enjoyed your experience with us at The Conservatory.

With regards to the pricing of our wine list, we will look into it and we appreciate your feedback on this matter.

Best Regards

Conservatory Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    68
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a splendid place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had an outstanding lunch at The Conservatory. The beautiful young lady serving us was so proffesional and so well informed. She even fetched us some Tonka Beans when we enquired. My two starters were magnificent. The double baked cheese soouffle is to die for. The stting is just so gorgeous with the able practically part of the garden. We will be backwere s

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good Day

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and we really hope to have you dine with us again in the near future.

Best Regards

Conservatory Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunch time delight! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We had lunch at the Conservatory. Very upmarket and nice setting. Food was awsome! Presentation 10 out of ten. browse the huge winelist for something for all tastes. Reasonably priced for the quality on offer.

Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton R, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Good Day

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your experience here at The Cellars Hohenort.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Conservatory Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nistelrode, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little gem in the make...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We arrived in the dark and that make tis restaurant difficult to locate. The Cellars-Hohenort is a big complex and signing and lighting is something they can improve on. We entered the restaurant thru the hotel and where seated in an area where other tables where occupied. To my surprise the restaurant was almost empty in contrast to the second restaurant on the premises which appears to be fully booked al the time. Service was very relaxed, guess that happens when they have a lot of time on there hands. We have asked our waiter to ask the kitchen to wait with our main dish and so they did. All was very well presented, michelin star like, and tasted very good. The made the afford to present us with a dish on which they wrote happy anniversary in chocolate. Very thoughtful .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TripleOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I gfound this the best of several very good meals we had in the Constantia Valley. The food was all very well presented and of excellent taste and quality. Service was very friendly and attentice. Particular highlights were the Springbok and the Hotels own label Dessert Wine

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Baronsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Conservatory also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing