We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper at conservatory ”
Review of The Conservatory

The Conservatory
Ranked #6 of 49 Restaurants in Constantia
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Conservatory, situated adjacent to the historic Cellars-Hohenort cellar, offers diners unparalleled garden vistas from both the sun-drenched terrace and the indoor tables. Carefully constructed around a giant 300-year-old oak tree, The Conservatory is one of Constantia's finest daily breakfast, lunch and dinner venues. Here the head chef creates hotel classics alongside modern and seasonally influenced dishes. The Conservatory menu places a great emphasis on fresh produce from both The Cellars-Hohenort gardens and local green-friendly suppliers, and this gives it the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the Constantia Valley. Friendly service and an award-winning wine list ensure that The Conservatory offers guests and locals an exceptional everyday dining experience.
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Had supper at this awesome place last night. Part of the restaurant week special, so I unfortunately didn't get to sample their cheese soufflé dish that I was so looking forward to. Starter was a carpaccio which was divine, followed by the pork belly, and my hubby had the fish which stole the show due to the tastiest risotto that was part of the dish. Desert was strawberry and white chocolate and hubby had the Panacotta. Both awesome. Only critique I can give is that the service was quite slow, but we really didn't mind as the waiters were awesome.

Thank mullchantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Mullchantal,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your restaurant week dinner. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the menu. I have noted your comment regarding the service and will definitely take it up with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Conservatory restaurant to try the delicious cheese soufflé.

Kind regards,

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We were staying in the hotel without a car, so we enjoyed the convenience of the restaurant onsite. We had room service one night, dined in restaurant the next. Food was very nice both times. Wine list had a good selection. Service was friendly and timely.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Arthur,

Thank you for your review. I hope you were able to enjoy some of the other facilities we have on site- like the hair salon, Spa and Collection boutique for some retail therapy? If not there's always next time.

Kind regards,

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Having eaten a superb meal at the other restaurant on site, the Greenhouse, we tried the Conservatory for breakfast and lunch. The breakfast was a nice mix of tradional and modern with an extensive range on offer. Service was top notch, friendly, efficient and discreet. The food was tasty and well presented for both meals. Lunch was fine a la carte but a little bit simple for dinner, that might well be the preference for many people. The location in an actual conservatory is great, with the mountain looming above you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Manofekent,

Thank you so much for a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Conservatory for our upcoming summer menu.

Kind regards,

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We ate at the Conservatory on three of the four nights on our recent stay at the Cellars hotel. We tried all of the main dishes between us and they were excellent. We particularly enjoyed the Bobotie, the Cheese soufflé and the chocolate dessert.

Thank BigdSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear BigdSuffolk,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience. The dishes mentioned are definitely very delicious- hence they have become signature dishes for our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful service. Exceptional food and location. Love the country touch to the dishes. Never been disappointed. Cocktails tops too!

Thank etoro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Etoro123,

Thank you so much for a lovely review.
I will certainly share it with the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Conservatory also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing