We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok food but very over priced, especially their bottled water 2x250ml R35!!!”
Review of The Raj

The Raj
Ranked #22 of 42 Restaurants in Constantia
Cuisines: Indian, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“ok food but very over priced, especially their bottled water 2x250ml R35!!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I wont return to this over the top curry den, the waiter was great , the food average,very average,price was way to high .bottled water was just amazing -overly priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    14
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very tasty and good size portions”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The service quality has been a little sporadic over the various visits we've made however the food has always been served very quickly, piping hot and very tasty. The portion sizes are great and the size dishes and vegetarian options are really good.

It can get quite cold if you are side outside the actual main building but they do provide heaters so ask for a table near one.

They also offer sushi so also a great option for summer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantia, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Split Decision"”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I went to this restaurant with my wife on Friday evening, we did not pre-book and were greeted warmly by the door staff and seated in a very quick manner. The service all evening was very good and friendly, our waiter was Karl who was very knowledgeable about the menu and also the wine list. We had a selection of samoosa's for the starter and these were excellent. I had the Lamb Madras and it was cooked just right, no complaints from me, my wife however was not overly impressed with the Prawn Malai, she said it was very sweet. All in all though a very good indian restaurant in the area, we will go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asmwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not the best Indian Food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were disappointed at the service, ambience and the food. It was very average and not up to the standard of other Raj ( Sun City ) or other top Indian restaurants. Will not repeat the experience. Might be OK for a take-away

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
454 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good service, excellent sushi”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

i used the restaurant venue as a space to work one evening. I ordered the sushi special as a starter, and I was really blown away. it had combinations that I have never tasted before. The wine list is extensive and they have a good variety of wine by the glass. I will certainly go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raj also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing