We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful - Always” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Belle Bistro & Bakery

La Belle Bistro & Bakery
Ranked #19 of 41 Restaurants in Constantia
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

A gathering of Yummy Mummy"s at breakfast followed by Ladies that Lunch and Couples in the evening. Good menu - daily specials would be an added bonus. The Blueberry Flap Jacks with Maple Syrup are scrumptious as it the fresh Apple and Carrot juice. On the upper expense range but certainly worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank familybrown176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback on your visit to la Belle Bistro & Bakery. On your next visit please try our Eggs Benedict as they are known for being the best in Cape Town.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel soon.

Warmest regards,
The la Belle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    84
    39
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I really enjoyed my lunch at La Belle. The service was swift and professional and the menu offered plenty of choice. I decided on the vegetarian burger and it was excellent. The open fire added to the ambiance. Remember to book though, they are really popular.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fumpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Good day,

Thank you so much for your review on the la Belle Bistro & Bakery.

The Vegetarian Burger is always a winner but please visit us again soon to try our Salmon & Kingklip Fish Cakes as this will not disappoint.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool Venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have been visiting the Alphen for a number of years...they have done a great job on La Belle and the Rose Bar at the back of the Hotel...We went for lunch, the atmosphere is great, warm, inviting and a good lunchtime buzz...its winter and the place had the fire going...the service was excellent the front of house I know from her previous employ so you are in good hands...

We unfortunately did not have great food there. Both the Tomato Soup and Burger were returned due to being cold which was dealt with swiftly. Unfortunately as rustic and inviting as the burger looks its tasteless with virtually no seasoning or other ingredients other than mince...the mushroom sauce does little to salvage it. The soup was very good.

I will be going again but now a bit more cautious about what to order. The prices are fair if the food is of a high standard. The wine too pricey compared to other reatuarnts in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank getcarter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We would like to apologize for the disappointing meals had at la Belle and assure you that we have addressed the situation internally.

Please allows us an opportunity to make it up to.

You can contact me on monique@kovecollection.co.za. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty and cosy place to chat and to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

This cafe/restaurant is attached to Alphen Boutique Hotel and its a perfect pitstop. It's cheap, warm, cosy and with a very nice staff. Worth a visit for breakfast or lunch if you passing by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FRSBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such a pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I visit this Café quite often, as it is such a great place to work! There's a big table in one corner, near the beautiful open fireplace, where you can sit with your laptop and get on with it. The waiters are very attentive but not in an annoying way, and I never get the feeling that I'm being watched and hurried along. The atmosphere is lively, but the noise levels remain manageable throughout the day (this is only really a factor if you need to work & think!). And the food...well, that's just fantastic. I'm a big fan of their seafood broth, and the goat's cheese salad with grapes and cashews is quite spectacular. On top of everything, the Café has a lovely selection of sweet treats and breads produced by the bakery. Overall, La Belle is the kind of place that makes you want to come back again and again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We would like to thank you for the great review and the 5 star rating.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Bistro & Bakery also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to La Belle Bistro & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing