We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great but service appalling”

La Belle Bistro & Bakery
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in Constantia
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As a treat my husband and son took me for a birthday lunch to La Belle. The first shock was the price of a glass of wine with the cheapest white being R45 a glass. We gave our orders and then we sat ....... Over an hour later the food finally arrived. The food was tasty but if the service doesn't improve I will not be visiting again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch.

La Belle Bistro & Bakery is known for its great service and delicious food so we take this feedback seriously and have discussed this with the relevant managers.

We hope that we get the opportunity to prove our 5 star services to you in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The la Belle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Pop in anytime for a java and scone or a meal . Sit outside in the sun or shade or cosy inside. Staff are friendly and smile, food is good and quick and prices are fair.

Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks so much for the review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us at la Belle Bistro & Bakery. Please pop back soon to try out our new summer dinner menu at 5 Rooms Restaurant. Hope to see you soon.

Warmest regards,
The la Belle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We dined here as a group of 15 so there was potential for overwhelming the kitchen and for mix ups on the floor but everything was handled with aplomb and the food was delicious. This is the perfect lunch venue with a delightful terrace for sunny days and indoor areas for inclement weather. Salads were crisp and fresh, the tuna I ate was perfect and well flavoured with subtle not over-whelming spices while others in our group all commented on the quality of their meal. Value for money was excellent and this restaurant is highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
We will definitely ensure that our team at la Belle Bistro & Bakery receive this great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel and all our outlets in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I had a lovely lunch here with friends. I had the asparagus starter (with poached egg and bruschetta, a very generous portion) followed by the salmon/kingklip fish cakes with stir fried Asian vegetables, both of which were very good. One of my friends had the mushroom tortellini starter which was in her words 'one of the best things I've ever eaten'. Having had a taste I agree, it was delicious! To end off the meal we shared a lemon meringue and what a meringue it was!!! Yummy dessert and excellent coffee just finished off a wonderful meal on a cold and wet Cape Town day.

My only downside was that there were a number of things unavailable on the menu. Service was good, food arrived quickly and the staff were friendly.

Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Lucy,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback.

We pride ourselves on efficient and friendly service and our Executive Chef does work magic in the kitchen. We apologise that certain items were unavailable and will endeavour to avoid this in future. Hope to welcome you back soon, perhaps to try our 5 Rooms Restaurant as we have just launched our summer menu.

Warmest regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

If it's fresh home-made pastries you're after, an interesting blend of tea or just lunch, brunch or breakfast - La Belle is quality and consistency located in Constantia.

Thank SaltRockCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for the review.

At The Alphen Boutique Hotel we strive for high quality and consistency in all our outlets. Please note that the la Belle Bistro & Bakery is also open for dinner so hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
The la Belle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Bistro & Bakery also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Wynberg, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to La Belle Bistro & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing