We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow service but nice foods”

La Belle Bistro & Bakery
Ranked #23 of 47 Restaurants in Constantia
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had dinner at La Belle at the recommendation of our hotel. We had a nice table on the terrace, the place had a good atmosphere, didn't like the music from the restaurant next door though.
The food was excellent and good value. Some of the food was quite salty which was fine for us but could be a problem for some people.The service was slow and a little disjointed but we are on holiday and there is no rush, as long as we have a glass of wine it's not a problem. We will be back when we return to Constantia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Margaret,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our la Belle Bistro & Bakery. We have taken note of your valuable input with regards to the music and service as we endeavor to keep our guests coming back.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

came to a nice bistro with friendly and service-oriented and knowledgeable staff! ate an absolutely amazing risotto of asparagus and shrimp, the best risotto I have eaten anywhere in the world
the house burger for main course, yummy
for dessert, I got a special icke-cream with raspberries!
This a place I love to come back to

Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

Our la Belle Bistro & Bakery is enjoyed by in-house guests staying at The Alphen Boutique Hotel as well as our local supporters. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am starting to consider myself an increasing expert on "breakfast places" around the Claremont, Constantia area of the Cape. At the moment, La Belle beats the lot! Sit out under old oaks in the Alphen hotel courtyard, picturesque and relaxing. Sit comfortably, expect speedy and friendly service. Sit back, unfold your newspaper, and your chosen drink is already arriving. Today I had fresh orange juice and Eggs Benedict - the poached eggs exactly as I like them, set and soft, the salmon delicious. (The three-cheese omelette is also magnificent.) Plenty more on the menu if lunchtime approaches. Tables inside if the weather grumbles. Just that bit extra on taste, setting and service that you always hope for but so seldom find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you so much for the review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your breakfast at our la Belle Bistro & Bakery. Your fantastic feedback has been shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Alphen Boutique Hotel, perhaps for lunch or dinner.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As a treat my husband and son took me for a birthday lunch to La Belle. The first shock was the price of a glass of wine with the cheapest white being R45 a glass. We gave our orders and then we sat ....... Over an hour later the food finally arrived. The food was tasty but if the service doesn't improve I will not be visiting again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch.

La Belle Bistro & Bakery is known for its great service and delicious food so we take this feedback seriously and have discussed this with the relevant managers.

We hope that we get the opportunity to prove our 5 star services to you in the near future.

Warmest regards,
The la Belle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Pop in anytime for a java and scone or a meal . Sit outside in the sun or shade or cosy inside. Staff are friendly and smile, food is good and quick and prices are fair.

Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at La Belle Bistro & Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks so much for the review!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us at la Belle Bistro & Bakery. Please pop back soon to try out our new summer dinner menu at 5 Rooms Restaurant. Hope to see you soon.

Warmest regards,
The la Belle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Bistro & Bakery also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Wynberg, Cape Town
 

Been to La Belle Bistro & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing