We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Constantia Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Constantia Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
257 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

we rented the main house at constantia vista for a two week stay in cape town in december 2011. the house is located in constantia valley at the top of price drive and has beautiful views over the mountains, vinyards and ocean. ian who runs the place stays on the property and is very helpful with golf and restaurant recommendations. the house itself is nice with a very well equipped kitchen and a large bathroom, the main bedroom is large with superb views, the second bedroom is smaller with a queen size bed only, difficult if you have children who have to share bed. the other facilities are good with a large living room (with a pool table), the house is cleaned daily to a high standard and there is a nice pool as well as an outdoor jacuzi. not cheap but good value for money. one comment to add is that it is not very handicap friendly, the living room is split level and all the bedrooms are upstairs and access is through a relatively narrow stairway. also you should be aware there can be a little bit of noise between the main house and the second self catering unit as they are only separated by a glass door and heavy curtains.

all in all very good and would have problems recommending this place to others.

Room Tip: the main villa is best, however, there are three other self catering on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
72
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife and I just stayed at Constantia Vista for 11 days in December 2011, and have nothing but good things to say about the experience. The views, the location, and the hospitality were second to none. Finishing off the day with a glass of wine in the hot-tub overlooking the Constantia valley and mountains in the distance was more than we had hoped for; the photos on the website do not capture the full beauty of the views! Just down the hill the main road provides quick and easy access to the best Constantia shopping and vineyards as well as Hout Bay and other sights along the Cape Town peninsula. Trails to the Table Mountain park are just 100 meters from the doorstep, which was also a welcomed surprise! Ian Assin (the owner) went over and above to make sure our stay was something special. I would highly recommend staying here, and my wife and I hope to do so again in the not too distance future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

2012 will see my family and I visiting Constantia Vista and its delightful owner Ian Assin for the third time in recent years. Due to school holiday constraints we have only been able to visit in the Easter break each time, and on the whole the weather has been very agreeable. Each separate apartment has it's own style, and each decorated and equipped to a comfortable and luxury standard. The apartments are set in a very large, steep shrubbed garden on the back side of Table Mountain, overlooking the Constantia Wine Valley. It is possible to see False Bay and the beautiful mountains on clear days. The outdoor jacuzzi is the perfect place to sit with a glass of wine and take in the stunning views. There is also a plunge pool away from the main stylish black swimming pool.
Ian and his staff make every effort to see that all your needs are catered for, including an extensive wine cellar. There is a beautifully decorated lapa for BBQ's, game playing or reading, to shelter from the sun. For your own independence there is a fantastically stocked shopping centre 5 minutes down the road which includes Pick and Pay for your personal catering. There are also plenty of luxury item shops in the shopping complex. On some days the famous Tablecloth cloud which overhangs Table Mountain can be seen from here. All of this area is affluent and secure, and Constantia Vista is completely surrounded by a high fence and automatic gates to the drive. There is a wonderful restaurant called Peddlars On The Bend
within 5 minutes drive, for days when you fancy a treat.
All in all I can't recommend Constantia Vista too highly, and my family and I cannot wait to go back. Enjoy.

Room Tip: All the apartments and the main house are designed to cater for different numbers of guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0Pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

It is with great pleasure that we can promote Constantia Vista. We stayed there for 2 weeks in February 2011. It is situated in the upper part of Constantia with beautiful views and surroundings. It is close to the shopping centre, the wine route and Hout Bay.
The apartments are individually decorated, neat, spacious, fully equipped and the cleaning service is excellent.
The host Ian is driven by a passion for details and a love of people.

Lorraine Hatton, Kathu, Northern Cape

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Crookham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2007

We rented the smallest of the three apartments. Ideally suited for a couple who require a degree of independence. With the addition of a lounge, kitchen and dining room it was very practical place from which to explore the Cape Town area. The property is located in an affluent and secure area, on the side of a hill which is itself completely fenced off. It is in a quiet area which in convenient for visiting all around the Cape Town area, of course wherever you are you will need a car. The views are wonderful, including the ‘Grut Constantia’ wineries. The owner and staff are very hospitable and helpful. There is an ‘up market’ shopping centre about 3 minutes down the road which includes two good supermarkets and many small shops. The property includes a number of outside facilities which are very handy on those ‘lazy days’. An ideal location and very convenient if you don’t want to eat out every night. Try the pick your own take away food at the local supermarkets, very good and very economical.

I heartily recommend it.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ChurchCrookhamFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
3.3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
1.1 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantia Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantia Vista

Property: Constantia Vista
Address: 34 Price Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Constantia Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Constantia Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantia Vista Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing