We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again”
Review of Constantia Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Constantia Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have just booked our fourth stay at Constantiavista and are counting the days, The apartments are all superb, different and on independent sites with the most breathtaking views. We are also looking forward to again seeing the slightly eccentric owner, Ian, who is totally dedicated to the well-being and happiness of his guests, and his two delightful assistants, Seeyah and Samantha.
Constantiavista is centrally situated for runs into Cape Town, Camps Bay and the warm waters of False Bay. Wonderful walks from the top of the road into the Cape National Park (if you have the energy!)
Geoff and Maureen Robinson, Somerset, England.

Room Tip: All good but our prefernce as a couple would be the View Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at Constantia vista for 11 days during February 2012 and can recomend this property to any discerning travellers requiring accomadation in this beautiful part of the peninsula...The best views we have seen in a long time .
All the seperate units are self catering with 2 swimming pools plus jacuzzi and barbeque facilities on the property.
A real home from home and the very obliging friendly owner, Ian, is always there to give a helping hand..We hope to stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: All rooms different but of the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was attending a conference in Cape Town, and Constantia Vista was recommended by a South African colleague.
I arrived, sight unseen, from the airport, and was greeted 20 minutes later at the gates by Ian Assin and his two friendly mutts.
After a welcoming drink, I was shown to my "room", a 1,200 square foot separate house with an outstanding view of False Bay and the vineyards in between. I had a hot tub and a barbecue area all to myself, and a full kitchen just behind that. Just off to my right was the common swimming pool.
Everything was immaculate, and as I got to know the area better, I began to realize what a find Constantia Vista was. It was 20 minutes to downtown Cape Town, and was a logical jumping off point for the south and the Cape of Good Hope. Groceries were a short hop down the hill, and a couple of good pubs were recommended by Ian, especially to watch the Rugby World Cup.
The upscale suburb of Constantia is home to South Africa's oldest wineries, from the 1600s, and dare I say that Ian knew some of the best. An added bonus is that you can hike to the top of Table Mountain from Constantia Vista, along a series of easy to navigate trails.
As a result of my experience at Constantia Vista, Cape Town and environs are a definite must to see again, and Ian has a standing invitation to visit Calgary any time he wants!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
Thank jsjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we rented the main house at constantia vista for a two week stay in cape town in december 2011. the house is located in constantia valley at the top of price drive and has beautiful views over the mountains, vinyards and ocean. ian who runs the place stays on the property and is very helpful with golf and restaurant recommendations. the house itself is nice with a very well equipped kitchen and a large bathroom, the main bedroom is large with superb views, the second bedroom is smaller with a queen size bed only, difficult if you have children who have to share bed. the other facilities are good with a large living room (with a pool table), the house is cleaned daily to a high standard and there is a nice pool as well as an outdoor jacuzi. not cheap but good value for money. one comment to add is that it is not very handicap friendly, the living room is split level and all the bedrooms are upstairs and access is through a relatively narrow stairway. also you should be aware there can be a little bit of noise between the main house and the second self catering unit as they are only separated by a glass door and heavy curtains.

all in all very good and would have problems recommending this place to others.

Room Tip: the main villa is best, however, there are three other self catering on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timetraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife and I just stayed at Constantia Vista for 11 days in December 2011, and have nothing but good things to say about the experience. The views, the location, and the hospitality were second to none. Finishing off the day with a glass of wine in the hot-tub overlooking the Constantia valley and mountains in the distance was more than we had hoped for; the photos on the website do not capture the full beauty of the views! Just down the hill the main road provides quick and easy access to the best Constantia shopping and vineyards as well as Hout Bay and other sights along the Cape Town peninsula. Trails to the Table Mountain park are just 100 meters from the doorstep, which was also a welcomed surprise! Ian Assin (the owner) went over and above to make sure our stay was something special. I would highly recommend staying here, and my wife and I hope to do so again in the not too distance future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

2012 will see my family and I visiting Constantia Vista and its delightful owner Ian Assin for the third time in recent years. Due to school holiday constraints we have only been able to visit in the Easter break each time, and on the whole the weather has been very agreeable. Each separate apartment has it's own style, and each decorated and equipped to a comfortable and luxury standard. The apartments are set in a very large, steep shrubbed garden on the back side of Table Mountain, overlooking the Constantia Wine Valley. It is possible to see False Bay and the beautiful mountains on clear days. The outdoor jacuzzi is the perfect place to sit with a glass of wine and take in the stunning views. There is also a plunge pool away from the main stylish black swimming pool.
Ian and his staff make every effort to see that all your needs are catered for, including an extensive wine cellar. There is a beautifully decorated lapa for BBQ's, game playing or reading, to shelter from the sun. For your own independence there is a fantastically stocked shopping centre 5 minutes down the road which includes Pick and Pay for your personal catering. There are also plenty of luxury item shops in the shopping complex. On some days the famous Tablecloth cloud which overhangs Table Mountain can be seen from here. All of this area is affluent and secure, and Constantia Vista is completely surrounded by a high fence and automatic gates to the drive. There is a wonderful restaurant called Peddlars On The Bend
within 5 minutes drive, for days when you fancy a treat.
All in all I can't recommend Constantia Vista too highly, and my family and I cannot wait to go back. Enjoy.

Room Tip: All the apartments and the main house are designed to cater for different numbers of guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0Pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

It is with great pleasure that we can promote Constantia Vista. We stayed there for 2 weeks in February 2011. It is situated in the upper part of Constantia with beautiful views and surroundings. It is close to the shopping centre, the wine route and Hout Bay.
The apartments are individually decorated, neat, spacious, fully equipped and the cleaning service is excellent.
The host Ian is driven by a passion for details and a love of people.

Lorraine Hatton, Kathu, Northern Cape

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
1.1 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ikhaya Safari Lodge
Ikhaya Safari Lodge
#8 of 40 in Constantia
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
463 reviews
3.2 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantia Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantia Vista

Address: 34 Price Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Constantia
Price Range: £58 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Constantia Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Constantia Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantia Vista Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing