We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could own this place :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Light Country House
Ranked #11 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish I could own this place :)”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Southern Lights at the end of August 2013 and of all the places that we stayed during our trip, this was by far the best. The room was spacious and cosy (very necessary as it rained the whole time) and the bathroom looks like it was taken out of a lifestyle magazine. The view from our room was beautiful and the sound of the nearby river makes you feel like you are in the middle of a forest. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious and the serving lady was very friendly. The only criticisms that I have are that there was no receptionist to receive us and the color scheme of the honeymoon suite is a little hard on the eyes (black and pink). If you are a cat lover, the cats on the property are gorgeous, and we nearly packed the little queen called Pepper into our luggage to bring her home with us.

Room Tip: I think that the best view is from the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarren1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your review and taking the time.
We wil look in to the attendance of Reception staff. Some times we need to do some shopping and this can collide with arrivals. Florence is always there and capable to assist, she has bin working with us for 14 years and is part of the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    33
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
53
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I booked into this guesthouse for the night before my wedding with my maid of honour and the night of my wedding with my husband. Maxi was amazingly helpful in the run up and she was always prompt in getting back to me with any query. She went out of her way to organise a breakfast for our family that had travelled from far despite the late notice which we were really grateful for! That said a few things disappointed, the TV remote was not working, the bathroom has an amazing corner bath and we were so excited to dive in after our long wedding day but there was no hot water and on the night of our wedding my husband and myself were left to make bedding arrangements with 2 single duvets. But besides this the setting was amazing, (very child friendly!) and if you are a cat lover this is the place for you with their stunning friendly cats always ready to greet you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for thank the time to Review.
We have checked the remotes in the mean time and have relived they where actually broken:( we have replaced them so all back in working order.
We use energy saving heat pumps and solar to heat the water in the geyser's unfortunately it take a bit longer to re heat in June due to the outside temperature being lower. we are relay sorry for that.
We do have double duvets that we offer on Requests. Most of the Guests prefer there own single duvet.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We needed peace & tranquility and this venue was just right! The weather was in our favour so that we could enjoy the pool during the day and the evenings outside our rooms. Rooms were very comfortable and we were not disturbed even when just lying in bed till late mornings.
A thought to management - the TV could be placed higher (wall-mounted or higher cabinet) for more convenient watching.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your time.
We will look in to, how we can adjust the TV's for more convenient watching. Would be grate to know what room you stayed in?
Regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We were down in Cape Town for a friend's wedding and decided to try Southern Light Guesthouse as it was close to the venue. We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival and we really enjoyed just relaxing by the pool for a whiel. The garden is lovely and great just to sit on the patio and relax with the view. The only thing that bothered me was the lack of a mirror/dressing table in the bedroom. I had to rely soley on the bathroom mirror to do my make up and hair each day which did bother me. Other than that the breakfast was lovely, the staff freindly and the bed was very comfy. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We did install full mirrors in each room.
Regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed being spoiled in the luxury of Southern Light. What makes it even better is that is set in a lovely mountain and forest surrounding secluded from the hustle and bustle of the city

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 on a last-minute booking (groupon) for a weekend away (we are actually locals, unlike most of the other guests at the establishment!).

Upon arrival, our host showed us to our room (without actually introducing himself, but anyway). The room was spacious enough (garden view room) and well equipped. Very happy with the mini bar fridge, as we like to put some of our own things in a fridge when staying somewhere else as well. The bathroom is small but well laid out and modern. There was no light bulb in my bedside lamp. The only thing obviously missing which I would have expected from a four-star establishment was an air conditioner (granted... it was February!). The room was a bit stuffy and the fan which was provided only moved the air around... but helped the evening.

Something which I like to do is check whether the listing of TV channels provided is up to date. With the satellite television channels moving channel numbers around in October 2012, I checked whether the listing provided in the information booklet was amended, but it was not. Just something small.

The bed was extremely comfortable with lush bedding. Well done.

The property is really amazing, with rolling lawns down to the tennis court and pool. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly. Only thing which would have added to the ambience would have been some soft background music perhaps?

We had dinner at the Alphen Hotel on the Friday evening which is recommended (see separate review.)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that who ever took you to your room did not introduce her self. Some times you get so carried away with other things on your mind you forget your own name:).
Tv list has bin updates and bulb replace:) we never had one of dose go missing before.
Sorry we don't have air-condition but we try to be good to the environment by using less electricity.
Regard, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A little haven just a stones throw away from the bright lights of Cape Town . A home from home indeed it is . A place to totally switch off and relax,lovely garden with shadey trees and swimming pool with loungers to unwind. Maxi and her staff work verry hard to keep the place spotless and attention is give to little details to make you feel welcome.Thank You for a wonderfull couple of days

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to overlook the wonderfull gardens- worth to pay the extra price .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thanks for your lovely review makes it all worth it:)
Regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
416 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
189 reviews
5.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
187 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
291 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Light Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Light Country House

Property: Southern Light Country House
Address: 24 Hohenort Avenue, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Light Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Light Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Light Country House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing