We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Light Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Light Country House
Ranked #11 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kathu, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Welcome fruit not adequate. Cats in the room. Breakfast was excellent. Breakfast staff also excellent. Hand wash soap was empty on the first day and not filled even on the second day. More was expected from a four star establishment

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ewert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for the review.
We are very sorry for the soap, we ran out and the suppliers are still closed.
We are trying to keep the cat out, we already put Plexiglass strips on the windows but she keeps finding a way in. We really sorry for the inconvenience, we hope she was not too annoying.
Regarding the fruit basket. We do not put to much in to the basket, as this time of the year it goes off very quickly if it is not cooled. Guests are very welcome to ask for more if they desire.
We always have and open ear for requests or recommendations. Please come to us and tell us so we can make you happy. We don't want you to leave unhappy without giving us a chance to redeem ourselves.
Kind Regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    32
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
51
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

What can I say - this place is stunning and simply beautiful. Our hosts Maxi and Chris welcomed us as friends and showed us around. They have an open ear for wishes and suggestions and really care - something which we can say about everybody on the staff. We enjoyed their hospitality a lot and already came back 4 times.
The rooms are very clean, modern and spacious and the garden is huge with lovely flowers and a relaxing pool. We absolutely love this place and would highly recommend it - not only here but to our clostest friends as well (which we already did :) ) . Their experience absolutely aligns with ours.

Room Tip: If you stand in front of the house, right hand side, lower floor to the garden. This room is simply...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattias P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thanks guys, we really grateful. Its so rewarding to make some one HAPPY. See you again soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We would like to thank Southern Light Country House for the most amazing, magnificent 5night stay we had for our honeymoon.

It was just what we needed after planning our wedding which was a bit stressful. We stayed in the honeymoon suite with a balcony which was in decorated beautifully and very clean. We loved lounging by the clear blue pool, surrounded by beautiful greenery garden and mountains, it was so peaceful, that was certainly one of our highlights.

The staff and management was so friendly, kind and was always there to make our stay a memorable experience. The breakfast was tasty, leaving my hubby wanting more:). Management was extremely polite especially when we asked if we good stay an extra 2nights which she worked around to make it happen. Thank you.
We will definitely come back to Southern Light Country House and have recommended this beautiful guest house to all we know.

Well done and keep up the awesome work :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LGsuperhuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your Review we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at Southern Light Guest House for 6 nights during December 2013. The Country House setting was superb, set in the mountains of Constantia.

The Staff were lovely and ever helpful and friendly. They delivered excellent hospitality. However, The management and owners were unprofessional. We were treated very bluntly by the land lady. Her people skills were not welcoming at all.

She even let people into our rooms without notifying us.

In my opinion, I would not come back to stay at this establishment again due to the lack of professionalism and hospitality. I've never been treated like a second class citizen in Cape Town before.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbrood1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for the review, I suppose.
We not sure what made you decide to put such a hostile review on trip advisor.
We do not want to came this a big think but some thinks can not stay unsaid, especially wan its about our reputation.

We really tried to accommodate you as best as I could unter the circumstances.
Considering the hosts people skills, we did not have complaints before and have many returning guests.
Unfortunately the host struggled a little bit with the unique situation() she did not want to make you feel uncomfortable, or herself. This is the reason she did not make to much conversation.
If this offended you she is very sorry she did not mean to upset you.
You call yourself a lower class Citizen in the review, we at Southern Light would never even dare think or treat another person like that, we have been brought up with too much respect!!!!!
About our Professionalism:
You did not read your quote correctly!
Accepting a quote via a booking agent and making a Booking for 1 room, when you actually needed 2 Rooms.
Booking 5 nights 17.12-22.1213, when you actually wanted 6 Nights.
Adding a room for your brother but making random changes to the booking.
Making changes to your bookings out of the blue once you already checked in, reducing and adding night’s randomly.
Your brother arriving at 8am without ever ringing the boor bell, diving in after the staff and ending up sitting in the entrance with no one knowing he was there.

We have House rules that we did email to you and they in the signature to every email we send.

Regarding the people that looked at your room for 1 minute! We confirmed this appointment before we knew you would stay to the 23rd, you where only booked to the 22nd.!! Check out is at 11am the people viewing arrived at 3pm!

About our Hospitality:
Unfortunately we had to be BLUNT with your wife about your departure, considering you did not know what was going on with your booking. If we would not have asked her about your brothers departure we would have never cleared up the confusion regarding your dates that you booked short.

You cannot make us responsible for your mistakes and be unhappy about the lack of service wan we clearly did our best to accommodate all your needs and changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Southern Light Country House. Very peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. A suggestion - that breakfast be changed every day and according to guests requests. Overall, a wonderful holiday. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pillaymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your Review.
If you do visit us again please inform us of your Breakfast requirements we are happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at Southern Lights at the end of August 2013 and of all the places that we stayed during our trip, this was by far the best. The room was spacious and cosy (very necessary as it rained the whole time) and the bathroom looks like it was taken out of a lifestyle magazine. The view from our room was beautiful and the sound of the nearby river makes you feel like you are in the middle of a forest. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious and the serving lady was very friendly. The only criticisms that I have are that there was no receptionist to receive us and the color scheme of the honeymoon suite is a little hard on the eyes (black and pink). If you are a cat lover, the cats on the property are gorgeous, and we nearly packed the little queen called Pepper into our luggage to bring her home with us.

Room Tip: I think that the best view is from the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarren1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your review and taking the time.
We wil look in to the attendance of Reception staff. Some times we need to do some shopping and this can collide with arrivals. Florence is always there and capable to assist, she has bin working with us for 14 years and is part of the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I booked into this guesthouse for the night before my wedding with my maid of honour and the night of my wedding with my husband. Maxi was amazingly helpful in the run up and she was always prompt in getting back to me with any query. She went out of her way to organise a breakfast for our family that had travelled from far despite the late notice which we were really grateful for! That said a few things disappointed, the TV remote was not working, the bathroom has an amazing corner bath and we were so excited to dive in after our long wedding day but there was no hot water and on the night of our wedding my husband and myself were left to make bedding arrangements with 2 single duvets. But besides this the setting was amazing, (very child friendly!) and if you are a cat lover this is the place for you with their stunning friendly cats always ready to greet you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for thank the time to Review.
We have checked the remotes in the mean time and have relived they where actually broken:( we have replaced them so all back in working order.
We use energy saving heat pumps and solar to heat the water in the geyser's unfortunately it take a bit longer to re heat in June due to the outside temperature being lower. we are relay sorry for that.
We do have double duvets that we offer on Requests. Most of the Guests prefer there own single duvet.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
5.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
2.5 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Klein Bosheuwel Guest House
Klein Bosheuwel Guest House
#4 of 40 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Light Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Light Country House

Property: Southern Light Country House
Address: 24 Hohenort Avenue, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Light Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Light Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Light Country House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing