We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Light Country House
Ranked #11 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

From the moment you step over the threshold of Southern Light Guest House
you are greeted with a warm, homely and comforting ambience. I was booked to stay for 10 days and ended up staying 21 days, and that says it all. Maxi and her staff worked tirelessly to make my stay pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The room was a very generous size and absolutely immaculate, so clean and tidy, with lovely linen and pillows on the bed and a sparklingly clean bathroom. I specially enjoyed the wonderful aroma that was always present from the moment you opened your door. The location is superb and I got a parking spot right outside the front door. The premises and parking is very secure and this was important as I often arrived home late at night.

The Free wifi throughout and a cooked breakfast every morning made it feel like home and I felt sad to say goodbye to Maxi.

I will certainly book this wonderful accommodation again.
Roselle Adams
Guildford
United Kingdom.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Dear Ros
Thanks for so very much for your kind word, we really appreciate it and hope you will come visit us again soon.
Kind regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    33
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
53
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Woooow!it was nice staying at Southern Light,everything they offer is 100%!!!. Situated in a quet area with refreshing views!!Friendly staff and top of the range rooms cleaned into perfection daily!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nomvula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Thank soooo much, we loved having you with us.
Kind regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Country house is set at a beautiful venue. I was cold the whole night because the bed doesn't have a duvet big enough for the bed. The bedding needs to be replaced and be suitable for the bed in the room. The breakfast should also be a full buffet like most other places of a similar stature, the ladies in the kitchen made me the wrong eggs and so I didn't even bother to go for breakfast the 2nd morning. The housekeeper/guard gentleman was very friendly though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Room Description:
20 m - with cupboard, En-suite shower, satellite TV, mini bar, safe, king bed, No Aircon, 2 single Duvet on Bed (King Duvets on request), direct access to patio and garden. Garden room 5 has an open plan Bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here during Two Oceans 2014. Situated close to the start, and also close to a scenic part of the route, which suited us very nicely. Clean and comfortable facilities, friendly staff, great omelette for breakfast! Conveniently located for a visit to Kirstenbosch, Newlands Rugby stadium, Cavendish Square and also Constantia villiage shopping centre. Lovely patio overlooking the gardens and pool as well. We would happily recommend this guest house to anyone visiting that part of Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Riaan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Thanks for the Recommendation. Hope to see you again for the 2 Ocean.
Kind regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Host was amazing staff were wonderful and the overall stay was amazing. The rooms are beautiful and so are the grounds and the facilities. I would recommend this Country House to anyone who would love a sun filled and pleasant stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rich-cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Thanks so much we appreciate the afford for you to wright us such a lovely review.
Kind regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was my first stay at Southern Light and I was very pleased. Maxi, the proprietor, was always at the ready to attend to my every request. My breakfasts, prepared daily by Florence, were always to my liking. The peaceful surroundings were very restful and the room was comfortable and clean. Very happy with the entire experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Dear Glenn
Thanks for the review.
Kind regards, Southern Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We won this voucher on an auction and sooo glad we got to use it. We felt extremely welcome and the attitude very positive and relaxed. The room spaciously included a lounge and dressing room area. Everything was neat and extremely comfortable with every convenience. The gardens are beautiful, peaceful and quiet, it must be a beautiful stay during the height of summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocket2000, Manager at Southern Light Country House, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Thanks Rosie
I hope to see you again possibly in Tokay forest:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
409 reviews
5.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
488 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
2.9 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Constantia Valley Lodge
Constantia Valley Lodge
#12 of 40 in Constantia
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Light Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Light Country House

Property: Southern Light Country House
Address: 24 Hohenort Avenue, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Light Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Southern Light Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Light Country House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing