We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay !”
Review of Villa Coloniale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Coloniale
Ranked #7 of 38 Constantia B&B and Inns
Biel, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay !”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We spent a wonderful time for 7 nights in the Villa Coloniale. Cornelia and Raymond are very pleasent hosts and helpful in any cases and gave us useful recommendations! Our room was tastefully decorated and we felt very comfortable. We enjoyed also the excellent breakfast in the
beautyful garden, which invites you to linger. Villa Coloniale is also a perfect base for many excursions and Cape Town is only 20 minutes away.
A perfect place – far away @ home !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    5
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
40
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The first impression of Villa Coloniale is very charming when you drive in from the street. The garden is very lush and the white colonial style building fits very well in. Unfortunately this so called paradise in paradise does not meet the expectations that one has when staying at a 5 star guesthouse. We stayed for 12 nights at the beginning of February and we were quite disappointed with a number of things.

• The hosts were not present when we arrived. They had informed us by email that they would be out golfing. We were received by the maids and put in room 8 which looked really nice. However, 10 minutes later (apparently the hosts had called from the golf club) we were moved to room 6, called a luxury suite. This room does not compare at all with number 8, maybe this is the de luxe suite (for just 200 rand extra). The guesthouse was left with no manager on duty on more than one occasion.

• Room 6 is called a suite but it is a really austere room. The fact that the bed and sitting areas are separated by a sliding door does not qualify this room for a suite. The bed is not a full king size, in fact two single beds are pushed together with individual mattresses, sheets and duvets. Above the bed is a noisy fan that needs repair. In the sitting area there is a very small writing desk with a coffee/tea tray, without spoons and just two small wine glasses. There is also a noisy fridge. The only lighting is on the ceiling. There are no reading lamps. If one goes to bed, it is lights on or out, except for the bed lamps. For the rest there is a small flat screen TV with only a few channels available, there is no radio, no iPod/iPhone docking station and only a limited number of old magazines. On arrival there was a glass filled with grapes. The next morning the non consumed grapes were removed but not replaced. One day the trash bin in the sitting area was not emptied. Altogether not exactly what you expect in 5 star accommodation. Our conclusion can only be that there is a clear lack of control by the hosts after the maids have finished serving the room.

• The bathroom is very basic with only one washing basin. Liquid bath and hand soap was not filled up until the last day. The packaging says Charlotte Rhys but I strongly suspects it is filled with ordinary soap. There was a small flower vase and the flowers were removed after a number of days, however the vase with the dirty water was left behind. One day the Kleenex box was empty but not replaced until the following day. Another day the towels were only partially replaced. A laundry bag had to be requested.

• Room 6 has an unpleasant terrace, not facing the garden, with basic furniture, separated from noisy neighbors by a high wall.

• The Villa Coloniale has no common lounge for evenings or bad weather days. According to the host “it is not necessary because the weather is always fine”.

• The swimming pool needs urgent maintenance and the bottom makes a really dirty impression.

• Breakfast. The fresh fruit and muesli are fine. However, no fresh juice is offered, just cheap stuff from the bottle or the carton. The choice of bread is very poor both in quality and in quantity. One day my wife ordered a soft boiled egg and it was brought to the table saying that it was over-cooked. She checked and it was indeed over-cooked and sent back. A few days later, the same happened again. Two eggs were sent back but only one was replaced. The flower plant on the breakfast table was death for a number of days before it was replaced.

• At check-out the printer was not working which can happen and I was promised that the invoice would be sent by email. Today, 10 days later, I am still waiting. Moreover, only the room could go on the invoice, not the minibar and the laundry. These were to be paid separately.

This is very clearly not 5 star accommodation. There is a lush garden and from the outside the building makes a nice impression. However, when compared with 4 star guesthouses were we stayed in Somerset West and in Franschhoek, Villa Coloniale is clearly below their level, except for the rate. A few years ago we stayed in a genuine 5 star guesthouse in Swellendam and that was clearly a totally different standard. I really wonder on which basis the TGCSA has awarded this guesthouse a 5 star rating, so I have inquired with them. It is true that other guests have written big praise reviews. Probably they had a more positive experience or maybe they had no basis to compare with other guesthouses in the Western Cape.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flamingotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benoitCapeTown, Owner at Villa Coloniale, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Constantia, 3rd April 2013


Hello dear Guest
When you left our Villa on the 13th of January we said good by after 12 days to each other and you told us that you and your wife had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the time in Villa Coloniale. You offered a generous tip for the staff, which means to us, that you have been pleased with the service.
Suite no 6 is very bright and sunny with it’s own courtyard (furnished with wooden deck chairs, sun cushions, a table and an umbrella and a lot of plants) offering the utmost privacy to guests. The bathroom is spacious with a walk-in shower and separate bath and the one basin you mentioned is extra large.
Our property and guest suites are very well maintained. Nevertheless it can happen everywhere, that something is not done or a maid forgot something to do. In this case we do apologize and set things right.
It is more than unfriendly to accuse us filling the can of Charlotte Rhys with cheap products. According to the invoices we pay to Charlotte Rhys this is defamation. A lot of other things you mentioned we do reject as they don’t figure the facts.
Our place is managed with a lot of personal engagement and it is our aim to make the stay of our guests the most pleasant and unforgettable.
We remember you and your wife every morning at breakfast in the garden, with a nice smile. We asked you each single day if everything is fine, if you need something, if we should do a booking for a restaurant or for a round of golf, but again your reaction was positive and the answer just” No, we are fine”. You gave us the feeling being as happy as our other guests.
You can imagine that your email is a shock to us and we have no idea what happened in the meantime to you. We would have really appreciated to get your feedbacks during your stay to make you holidays the most comfortable.
Anyhow we have to understand that we cannot make all people happy and regret that your memories became finally so unlucky.
Cornelia and Raymond
info@villacoloniale.com
www.villacoloniale.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed here for three weeks and during that whole time didn´t have a single thing to complain about. That must be a record! The guesthouse is beautiful and Raymond and Cornelia are wonderful hosts. Breakfast in the garden is a delight. We would thoroughly recommend Villa Coloniale to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed with Raymond and Cornelia for just over two weeks whilst visiting family and friends in Cape Town. My future in-laws are from Germany and really enjoyed the European touch and language proficiency of our hosts. Their service is immaculate and they won't hesitate to go the extra mile to help out. I got engaged on this trip and their hospitality was a wonderful delight. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Eben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Owners, Raymond and Cornelia, are special people. Our flight from Amsterdam was delayed by 2 hours, meaning that we arrived at Villa Coloniale at about midnight. I had called Raymond from Amsterdam to warn him... no problem, he said, and graciously met us, and showed us our suite, at midnight.
It was a great place to start our working holiday in the Western Cape - a luxurious suite and super comfy bed. We had so much space and the gardens are really lovely, as are the staff. I was pleasantly surprised at what we got for the price, as I had thoroughly searched the area (wanting to be near the Constantia vineyards) and Villa Coloniale had the best price, so I had considered that we may not be getting much for our money, but that was not the case at all.
Breakfast is also excellent - lots of everything, and then your cooked breakfast on command. Raymond also is a good guide for local activities and is happy to make arrangements or bookings on your behalf.
Villa Coloniale is in the suburb of Constantia, but very close to the great wineries in the area, and restaurants too. If it is not important to you to be staying right in the city of Cape Town, then this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Raymond and Cornelia, the owners of this property redefine what "can do" means. They also understand what customer focus is. The property is everything they say it is. Peaceful, safe and beautiful. This would also explain why the bird life is so abundant in the property. This was our first time and most certainly our choice for future stays in Cape Town. Yusuf and Chenise

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yusuf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Villa Coloniale offers 10 villas / B & B's that are located on a beautiful private house. Our car was safe as was the house itself. The villa we stayed in was beautifully and tastefully decorated and we were so comfortable staying there. The owners, Cornelia and Raymond are friendly and helpful and always had great recommendations of places for us to visit. The breakfast itself was delicious and we couldn't wait to eat our Swiss muesli every morning! This accommodation comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronwynK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
2.6 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.5 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Coloniale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Coloniale

Property: Villa Coloniale
Address: 11 Willow Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Coloniale 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Coloniale is a luxury 5-star, all suite guest house, nestled in the peaceful and rural Constantia Winelands Valley, nearest to the City of Cape Town. We have no doubt you will enjoy your stay with us. Villa Coloniale - "more than a guesthouse but not a hotel" Enjoy tranquility, privacy, security and superb accommodation in our splendid colonial style villa and magnificent garden with our new 14 x 4 m salt water pool. Villa Coloniale serves breakfast daily in the garden under palm trees, on the main terrace or in the private suites. A wide range of South African top class restaurants serving a variety of local and international cuisines can be found close-by. All guest suites are large, consisting of a spacious living room, bedroom with en-suite bathroom (shower & bath) and private terrace and patio, creating a warm and friendly atmosphere. Each unit have the following amenities: Telephone, Flat TV with full DSTV package (German & International programs) hairdryer, air-condition, heater, ceiling fan, digital safe, finest linen and towels, quality bathrobes, tee/coffee tray, international plug adapters, mini-fridge, basket of fresh fruit every day and flowers. Wi-Fi is available in all rooms and on whole terrain free of charge. 18 world class golf courses are within very easy access of Villa Coloniale and tee-off times can be booked for you in advanced to ensure that your golf holiday in the Cape is an unforgettable experience. The Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden can be found within 9 km and the famous V&A Waterfront you reach within a 20 minutes' drive as well as the Cape Town International airport. Actually from Austria, we speak German & English! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Villa Coloniale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Coloniale Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing