We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We rented a few cottages for a large family reunion and the cottages were all a very steep walk from each other. The cottages were simple and clean. The ones at the top by the swimming pool were large and luxurious though. Good location close to Hout Bay and Constantia is very beautiful. Having said that, we probably won't choose this one again as there are other great places to stay in the same area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
11
23
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed in 3 lodges from 31 March to 6 April and were very pleasantly surpirsed when we arrived. The pictures on the website do not do the lodges justice. They are all individual and set in a beautiful spot overlooking the back of the 12 Apostles and the wine estates on the mountain. The views are truly stunning.

The staff were all very friendly and the lodges are very comfortble with big open fires for the chilly evenings!
A big Thank you to the management for the safe delivery of my son's wallet. My 17 year old son left his wallet in a drawer in the lodge and the manager very kindly searched to find it and arranged for an overnight courier to send the wallet to our accomodation in Durban.

Room Tip: Cedar Lodge and Squirrel Lodge both had stunning views. Eagles Nest was a little obscurred by bushes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This lodge would suit a family or perhaps a couple wanting a more private experience than a hotel. The setting is quite beautiful, high in the cool mountains of Constantia. We had a small cottage which was nicely furnished and very comfortable. The little balcony overlooked the valley below. A continental breakfast was included in the price and a cooked breakfast available for about R50 or so. Some cottages are completely self catering. The staff are very helpful. The lodge is convenient for the wine farms and beaches nearby and not far from Cape Town.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a larger cottage if that is what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicelincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed for a week in December. The room was good with a magnificent view over the valley, Eagle's Nest and the 12 Apostles. However, as the resort is set on a very steep hillside it is not suitable for anyone with limited mobility as there are no handrails on any of the steps leading to the main part of the resort. Nor are there grab rails in the shower and the terrace is not safe for young children as they could easily fall through the railings and there is a drop of several metres to the ground. The staff were helpful and breakfast was reasonable, but the whole resort is in need of upgrading. The surroundings were delightful but would benefit from a restaurant on site.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

At the end of February 2011 I stayed at Silvermist Mountain Lodge - in a self-catering unit (Fynbos unit) sleeping at least 4 privately, with a beautiful kitchen, dining-room, lounge, beautiful bathrooms with an outside shower under a fig tree (felt a bit like Batsheba/Eve...!), 2 rooms (one upstairs) and an outside deck with the most magnificent view of the back of the Twelve Apostles and some vineyards. Apparently this property is the only one inside the Tafelberg Nature reserve in private ownership. I payed less than R600 per night then. Cape Town is within easy reach...and the hop-on, hop-off bus is driving past the gates of the property many times a day!

I totally enjoyed my stay. Drove up the mountain to the breakfast room or walked there (a continental breakfast is included, 'hot' breakfast can be ordered separately and you pay for it). Yes, it is a bit of a climb, but good exercise and totally manageable.

To the one side you can drive to Houtbaai within a 5 minutes drive, to the other side you can visit Groot Constantia wine estate within a 5 minutes drive. It is right up against the mountain...totally private, secure, calm, quiet, tranquil, still, restful, peaceful.

I unfortunately did not write a review on TripAdvisor then - and when I was looking for a place to stay in Cape Town again this year (2012), I contacted SIlvermist Mountain Lodge and promptly booked. This time for my husband and I, but no self-catering units were available and we took a 1 bedroom unit with a butlers kitchen (very small fridge, microwave, kettle, cutlery, crockery.) Again less than R600 per night for both of us.

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor (and before we went there the 2nd time), I thought maybe the owners have changed...as I could not understand the negative reviews from some of the contributors on TripAdvisor.

I was pleasantly surprise when we arrived at Silvermist to see Candace and her personnel again. The unit (Owl room) had the same lovely view, a wooden deck to relax, beautiful duvet and cushions...The fridge was very small and one cannot even fit a 2 liter milk in the door, but we managed. The property is being developed slowly so more vineyards can be planted and the friendly way we were welcomed back make me say without a doubt: I will definitely stay there again on any visit to Cape Town.

We had a problem with the connection of the microwave, phoned reception and it was sorted out within 30 minutes.

I must add this as well: In 2011 I met two dear old ladies at Silvermist during breakfast (one from Scotland, one from the Netherlands) who visit Silvermist at least once a year...they stay for a month! I met them there again this year...they are still coming to Silvermist once a year for 3 - 4 weeks. Does that say it all? Those two ladies I guess cannot be younger than 75 or 80 years of age...and they also walked to the breakfast room one morning...shuffling happily along with the geese around their feet, through the patch of forest...in the crisp morning air.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMPSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Silvermist is in a stunning location with breathtaking views. But the accommodation is very old and in need of renovation - the crockery, cutlery and kitchen equipment is seriously old (crockery stained even). The bed linen is good and the bathrooms OK. This is NOT luxury accommodation. The place is very clean, however, so I would rate it 3 stars.

Breakfast was not good at all - the continental breakfast was basic. We asked for a cappuccino and were brought hot water and an instant 'cappuccino' in a sachet. Cooked breakfast is not included in the price, so we paid for a cooked breakfast. The cheese and tomato omelette had virtually no cheese.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenbennhoutbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with a toddler and found the following.
1.freezing room with insufficient heater provided,heater that was provided did not work.
2. the room was unsafe for a toddler,due to 2 steps the full length of room,toddler could fit through bannister on patio area with big drop of this.
3.all doors /windows rattled all night with huge drafts.
4.no curtains or blind on most doors/windows.
5.bathroom was in poor condition and looked very old.
6.no safety deposit box,which is highly recommended for south africa.
7.15 min walk up a vertical mountain to reach breakfast area.
8.no restaurant or any food services except breakfast,car required as nothing is walking distance for food.
9.nothing on the grounds Has been maintained and all looks overgrown,worn down.

overall, we reported all this to reception who made it clear that they were not interested, we ended up moving out of our room after one night and moved in with a family member whos villa was slightly better.we only completed our stay here as we had a wedding to attend. we did not get any money refunded.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csrs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Constantia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
3.7 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
494 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.2 mi away
Constantia White Lodge
Constantia White Lodge
#7 of 40 in Constantia
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate

Property: Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate
Address: 22 Constantia Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermist Hotel Constantia
Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing