We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in a vineyard next to Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Silvermist in the Cedar lodge while visiting our daughter who is attending UCT. Our friends traveling with us stayed in the one bedroom units. It was wonderful to wake up to bird songs, the breeze through the eucalyptus forest nearby, and look out over the vineyards and mountains while being so close to the city. We loved having the additional space of the lodge rather than a standard hotel room at the same price. The staff was incredibly helpful especially when one of our group experienced car difficulties. The continental breakfasts were great but most of the time, we could not resist adding fresh eggs or omelets to our meal (at such a small price). As our daughter will be at UCT for awhile, we look forward to returning to Silvermist.

Room Tip: We loved the Cedar Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarabroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

The estate is set on the mountain-side, just next to Constantia Neck. Beautiful views and surroundings - forest and vineyards, clean mountain air, birdlife and oranically managed vineyards on the estate wherre they produce their own wines. Ducks in the vineyards for pest-control.

There is a variety of accommodation from 3-bedroomed lodges to single (large) rooms in the historic part of the property.
The configurations are flexible enough to be suitable for large or small groups or even couples. They have conferencing and fucntion facilities; it is also a popular wedding venue.

I organised a team-building workshop there for 15 participants and we all thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights and days. One of our group had recently had a foot op and was not very mobile, but that was not a problem; she had a fabulous room close to the dining and reception area and to get to the conference centre lower down, she went as a passenger in a car.

Catering was good with outstanding attention to the special dietary requirements of a number of people, all the staff were extremely helpful and the service was great. As we had a chilly few days, fires were laid in each room each night and electric blankets switched on.

One of the reasons we chose Silvermist was because of its "away from it all feel". Despite this, it is close to all the major areas in Cape Towm - a few minutes form Kirstenbosch, 15 minutes from Hout Bay or Constantia shopping areas and 20 minutes from the city, so a perfect base for holiday makers.
Our only regrets were having to leave and not being able to stay for much longer.

Room Tip: Discuss your prefererences and requirements with the SIlvermist staff when booking and take their ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yachtneutron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We rented a few cottages for a large family reunion and the cottages were all a very steep walk from each other. The cottages were simple and clean. The ones at the top by the swimming pool were large and luxurious though. Good location close to Hout Bay and Constantia is very beautiful. Having said that, we probably won't choose this one again as there are other great places to stay in the same area.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiki142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed in 3 lodges from 31 March to 6 April and were very pleasantly surpirsed when we arrived. The pictures on the website do not do the lodges justice. They are all individual and set in a beautiful spot overlooking the back of the 12 Apostles and the wine estates on the mountain. The views are truly stunning.

The staff were all very friendly and the lodges are very comfortble with big open fires for the chilly evenings!
A big Thank you to the management for the safe delivery of my son's wallet. My 17 year old son left his wallet in a drawer in the lodge and the manager very kindly searched to find it and arranged for an overnight courier to send the wallet to our accomodation in Durban.

Room Tip: Cedar Lodge and Squirrel Lodge both had stunning views. Eagles Nest was a little obscurred by bushes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This lodge would suit a family or perhaps a couple wanting a more private experience than a hotel. The setting is quite beautiful, high in the cool mountains of Constantia. We had a small cottage which was nicely furnished and very comfortable. The little balcony overlooked the valley below. A continental breakfast was included in the price and a cooked breakfast available for about R50 or so. Some cottages are completely self catering. The staff are very helpful. The lodge is convenient for the wine farms and beaches nearby and not far from Cape Town.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a larger cottage if that is what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicelincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed for a week in December. The room was good with a magnificent view over the valley, Eagle's Nest and the 12 Apostles. However, as the resort is set on a very steep hillside it is not suitable for anyone with limited mobility as there are no handrails on any of the steps leading to the main part of the resort. Nor are there grab rails in the shower and the terrace is not safe for young children as they could easily fall through the railings and there is a drop of several metres to the ground. The staff were helpful and breakfast was reasonable, but the whole resort is in need of upgrading. The surroundings were delightful but would benefit from a restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

At the end of February 2011 I stayed at Silvermist Mountain Lodge - in a self-catering unit (Fynbos unit) sleeping at least 4 privately, with a beautiful kitchen, dining-room, lounge, beautiful bathrooms with an outside shower under a fig tree (felt a bit like Batsheba/Eve...!), 2 rooms (one upstairs) and an outside deck with the most magnificent view of the back of the Twelve Apostles and some vineyards. Apparently this property is the only one inside the Tafelberg Nature reserve in private ownership. I payed less than R600 per night then. Cape Town is within easy reach...and the hop-on, hop-off bus is driving past the gates of the property many times a day!

I totally enjoyed my stay. Drove up the mountain to the breakfast room or walked there (a continental breakfast is included, 'hot' breakfast can be ordered separately and you pay for it). Yes, it is a bit of a climb, but good exercise and totally manageable.

To the one side you can drive to Houtbaai within a 5 minutes drive, to the other side you can visit Groot Constantia wine estate within a 5 minutes drive. It is right up against the mountain...totally private, secure, calm, quiet, tranquil, still, restful, peaceful.

I unfortunately did not write a review on TripAdvisor then - and when I was looking for a place to stay in Cape Town again this year (2012), I contacted SIlvermist Mountain Lodge and promptly booked. This time for my husband and I, but no self-catering units were available and we took a 1 bedroom unit with a butlers kitchen (very small fridge, microwave, kettle, cutlery, crockery.) Again less than R600 per night for both of us.

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor (and before we went there the 2nd time), I thought maybe the owners have changed...as I could not understand the negative reviews from some of the contributors on TripAdvisor.

I was pleasantly surprise when we arrived at Silvermist to see Candace and her personnel again. The unit (Owl room) had the same lovely view, a wooden deck to relax, beautiful duvet and cushions...The fridge was very small and one cannot even fit a 2 liter milk in the door, but we managed. The property is being developed slowly so more vineyards can be planted and the friendly way we were welcomed back make me say without a doubt: I will definitely stay there again on any visit to Cape Town.

We had a problem with the connection of the microwave, phoned reception and it was sorted out within 30 minutes.

I must add this as well: In 2011 I met two dear old ladies at Silvermist during breakfast (one from Scotland, one from the Netherlands) who visit Silvermist at least once a year...they stay for a month! I met them there again this year...they are still coming to Silvermist once a year for 3 - 4 weeks. Does that say it all? Those two ladies I guess cannot be younger than 75 or 80 years of age...and they also walked to the breakfast room one morning...shuffling happily along with the geese around their feet, through the patch of forest...in the crisp morning air.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMPSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
1.9 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
439 reviews
1 mi away
Constantia Vista
Constantia Vista
#1 of 18 in Constantia
147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
512 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caxton Manor
Caxton Manor
#13 of 40 in Constantia
38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate

Address: 22 Constantia Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Constantia
Price Range: £50 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvermist Hotel Constantia
Silvermist Mountain Lodge Estate Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing