We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Constantia
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had already stayed in the LW Franchshoek and were loathe to leave it because it was so perfect. We have to report just as lovely experience in Constantia. For gardeners the garden is gorgeous and I wish I could recreate it at home. The wonderful Neville drove us everywhere we wanted it go. As it was autumn our private pool was rather shady and therefore rather under used, but the main pool was very pleasant. Again the staff were wonderful and helpful. Tessa and Shanee made us so at home. We would definitely go back

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fonzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the last word constantia over christmas and were treated like celebs! Even the tiniest detail was remembered. We normally try a new place each year, but I think we will be breaking tradition and returning here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Our Jubilee Book Club were so excited about having High Tea at the Last Word, Constantia.
What a disappointment! Seated in the hot and glarey conservatory, bowl of wilted roses on the table and NOTHING else! No one approached us about the way it works. After half an hour we realised it was self service and went up to the buffet. Tea: teabag in a cup. No bowl to put the used tea bag in. Coffee: was on the way. Food was good but nothing outstanding. No chocolate!
At a venue like this, highly recommended, I expected the table to laid for tea, a pot of tea, jug of mik and waitress service.

The gardens are beautiful and well maintained, but I won't be recomending the venue or going there again!

Anne, Noordhoek.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

My husband & I treated ourselves for our anniversary to the most decadent weekend away at this amazing hotel. We knew from the website that they offered fabulous service but we had no idea how wonderful this would be until we arrived. From the warm welcome to the marvelous suite, there was nothing we could want for, it was all taken care of. We ate in the hotel which was more delicious than any meal we've tasted before and we've traveled a great deal. Although we live just 10 minutes away these two nights felt like we'd been away for a month. The turn down service at the end of the day is such a treat too. I can't wait to try one of the other hotels in this chain for our next celebration.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyDaffarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Last Word Constantia in June 2010 as a part of our trip to the 2010 World Cup and we couldn't have been happier.

First of all, the service at TLWC is par excellence. The staff is always ready to help with any request and nothing is too big or two small. I'll give one example. My brother was studying abroad in Cape Town when we were there and he came from the City Center out to Constantia to visit on the night we came into town. By the time he was ready to go back, it was quite late and we didn't feel comfortable sending him in a cab by himself back to the city center that late at night. I called TLWC (we were out at a local pub) if we could have their car service take my brother back. The night clerk told us that the driver had left for the night, but he would see what he could do. A few minutes later he called back and said he had called the driver at home and the driver was coming back so that he could help us out. The driver got back to TLWC about the same time we got back and took my brother back to his apartment in the house Mercedes...and TLWC didn't even charge us for this! My brother gave the driver a generous tip, or course. This is truly going above and beyond, and this is only one example of the amazing service we experienced.

The grounds/accommodations: The grounds are beautiful. From the garden and the main dining area, you have stunning views of Table Mountain. The garden was manicured perfectly, even in the middle of winter. Our room was very nicely appointed - large bath tub (big enough for two), flat screen television, comfortable bed and seating area, and fully stocked mini-bar (fully complimentary). The turn down service every night was also great - very creatively designed little sweets, etc that were a pleasure to come back to after being out exploring Cape Town. The breakfasts each morning were also superb and they made every effort to get/ make what we requested.

Location: Constantia is one of the nice neighborhoods in Cape Town and we felt very safe and secure while out around the hotel. TLWC is also only about half a mile from the best restaurant on the African continent (not exaggerating - rated no. 1 in Africa, no. 12 in the world) and I would highly recommend getting a reservation there for dinner.

All in all, staying at TLWC was a fabulous experience for us and we would not hesitate to recommend it to any of our friends. If you want true unpretentious luxury and service, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrgupta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This hotel is amazing! You feel like you have stepped into a lovely home, with beautiful gardens, a great view of Table Mountain and a swimming pool. The reception staff was lovely, and the housekeeping/dining staff were among the friendliest people I have ever met. This hotel pretty much runs on the attitude "Your wish is my command".
The rooms are huge with a large open-plan walk-in bathroom. The suites have double walk-in mosaic rain showers. All rooms have a free-standing claw-foot large bathtub with "his" and "hers" bath pillows (depending on who's staying in the room). The turn-down service leave your bathrobe on the bed plus a little dessert waiting for you. PLUS... the mini-bar in the room is completely complimentary (including a red and white wine, some beer, soft drinks, water and juice).
Yes, you are outside of downtown Cape Town and yes, durring rush hour traffic it can be around 30-40 minutes away... but you are going to have traffic in any city. Coming home from dinner in the Cape Town waterfront took only around 10-15 minutes to get back to the Constantia. If you are looking for personal service in a small boutique hotel, you will be very impressed!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

This was just the most perfect place to stay, can find no faults whatsoever!! cant wait too go back

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoldsWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
518 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
465 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
216 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
545 reviews
6.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Constantia

Address: Spanschemat River Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: £225 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Constantia 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Cape’s oldest and most beautiful wine valley, The Last Word Constantia is close to seven of South Africa’s top wine estates and many internationally celebrated restaurants. Great attention is paid to peace and tranquility. An inviting sunken swimming pool and tanning deck is the focal point of the magnificently manicured garden with rolling lawns, vibrant colours and exquisite mountain views. The lounges, dining area and sun patios all open onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Last Word Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Constantia
The Last Word Constantia Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing