We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private luxurious accommodation in the Garden of Eden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Last Word Constantia
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Dunellen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Private luxurious accommodation in the Garden of Eden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

You will find absolute peace and quiet in the hands and care of super qualified Staff members. A short drive to the activity of Cape Town, The Last Word at Constantia delivers on all fronts and exceeds expectations every second of your stay. Spectacular location with several great wineries and dining in close proximity. The breakfast on offer will satisfy your hunger and cravings, while sitting in the breakfast room with doors opened to the garden and the birds. It is a blissful start to every morning. You have a plethora of choices on how to spend your day, or stay close and enjoy the pool, the quiet, the comfort and the very knowledgeable Staff or solitude. The joy is in the choices available and the perfection in accommodating your every request. Breakfast, wonderful wInes and other beverages are included in the cost. You will be transported to the place you are seeking during your stay here.

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms with a private pool. Each room is a joy. The garden is available to all g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyeShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
What a great review, thank you so much! We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed the The Last Word concept of Intimate Hotels and thank you for allowing us to look after you.
Looking forward to having you back in the near future.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    11
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
119
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I knew when Sam met us at the door and welcomed us to the lounge that our stay was going to be amazing . . . And it was! The Constantia is located in a beautiful part of Cape Town, secluded, with a beautiful garden. The rooms are beautiful and the service impeccable. Just lovely!! I hope to return some day!!!! Also dinner at Peddlars On The Bend was delicious! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed the sanctuary that is The Last Word Constantia and we can't wait to have you back.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Would totally recommend this hotel. Everything about it was luxurious. All the staff very warm and service was excellent. Breakfast was to die for.we would return here if we ever go to Cape town again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenBinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thanks so much for your review. Looking forward to having you back in Cape Town soon, we'll have the breakfast ready!
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Where to begin? We have previously stayed at the Bishops Court and our stay there was first class. However, our stay at the Constantia was even better. The rooms were the best we have stayed in including hotels in the centre of London. The breakfasts were excellent and there was plenty of choice. We also had two evening meals at the hotel and they too were first class. The staff were very efficient and anxious to do everything to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble to them. We look forward to staying here again. Our philosophy is, that a holiday is not worth taking unless the accommodation is better than at home. This surpassed everything

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully furnished and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourGovenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We love it when our guests stay at more than one of our Intimate Hotels as this gives them the chance to see even more of Cape Town as real Capetonians see it. So glad to hear we could be your home away from home.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moraira
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Lovely place too stay, comfortable clean, charming staff. Lovely pool and gardens. Our room was airy and bright and in excellent condition. Breakfast was fab

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnyardMoraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

What a wonderful place. Our room near the pool was luxurious with a seating area. The staff was attentive without being intrusive. The breakfast was delicious and the ladies in the dining room were so warm and friendly. This is definitely a place to return to. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shg1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

We had already stayed in the LW Franchshoek and were loathe to leave it because it was so perfect. We have to report just as lovely experience in Constantia. For gardeners the garden is gorgeous and I wish I could recreate it at home. The wonderful Neville drove us everywhere we wanted it go. As it was autumn our private pool was rather shady and therefore rather under used, but the main pool was very pleasant. Again the staff were wonderful and helpful. Tessa and Shanee made us so at home. We would definitely go back

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fonzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
3.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Constantia

Property: The Last Word Constantia
Address: Spanschemat River Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Constantia 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Cape’s oldest and most beautiful wine valley, The Last Word Constantia is close to seven of South Africa’s top wine estates and many internationally celebrated restaurants. Great attention is paid to peace and tranquility. An inviting sunken swimming pool and tanning deck is the focal point of the magnificently manicured garden with rolling lawns, vibrant colours and exquisite mountain views. The lounges, dining area and sun patios all open onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Last Word Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Constantia
The Last Word Constantia Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing