We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Constantia
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a fabulous hotel!”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at The Last Word in Constantia and we had the most amazing time. The staff were so friendly and the room was beyond our expectations. We couldn't have wished for a better start to our holiday and we would like to thank the team at The Last Word for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
An absolute pleasure from all of us here at The Last Word. We're so happy to have played a part in making your holiday a success and we hope to see you again soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    12
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
126
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Catalkoy, Turkish Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This was not our first stay at The Constantia and it will not be our last. Since our last visit, more rooms have been added and the gardens have reestablished. Everything is top class here, the rooms, the service, the assistance and the way the gardens are kept. On top of that we could order our own menu from the in-house chef (and she is good) or visit several quality restaurants in the wineries nearby. Everything is available from the first smiles when you walk in, to travel help, tour bookings, in-house transport...all you need for a getaway. They even arranged for us to visit their sister hotel, Long Beach, on a trip down to Cape Point and we were also welcomed there. Thoroughly recommend...the quiet yet only 30 minutes from the bustle of the City.Many thanks.

Room Tip: All suites are secluded. I think the best is the one nearest the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyprusmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you so very much for your incredibly kind review and all of us here at The Last Word are overjoyed you loved your stay with us. Chef Rachel is so happy you enjoyed your in-house meals. So happy to hear you'll be back and we look forward to welcoming you.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

What a fantastic place. My family and I stayed there over the weekend of the 18th and 19th November 2012. The quality of the rooms that is, the Elegant and Family rooms were excellent. Everything one would wish to be provided in the rooms was there right down to Kinder chocolates for my grandchildren at night. The complimentary bar in the rooms was was stocked offering a wide choice of drinks. The two bars in the family room surprised us all. Everyone at the hotel couldn't do enough to ensure that our stay was both enjoyable and memorable. The pool area is well kept and surrounded by beautiful gardens. My thanks to everyone at the hotel from the gardeners for keeping the grounds immaculate to the Reservations Manager for providing us with an unbelievable weekend stay. I will definitely be staying there when I next visit Cape Town. Once again, thank you for making our stay so memorable. GSVH

Room Tip: There is no need to add a tip. The only thing travellers need to do is book to stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SansHiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thanks so much for your extremely kind words and all of us here are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. The garden is one of our hidden secrets at The Last Word Constantia and it really brings smiles to our faces when a guest enjoys it as much as we do. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

The Last Word was a wonderful experience. It is off the beaten track making you feel you are on your own little island. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathroom was a haven. OMG the double shower was incredible! It made it very easy for two people to get ready. The gardens are breathtaking and the service was impeccable! The breakfast room was lovely with a generous assortment of food. Treat yourself I doubt you'd be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tere56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself here and we couldn't agree more regarding the shower in your suite, it's so easy to lose track of time in there. We hope to see you again soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The staff was very attentive. Everyone was willing to help us with special arrangements or needs. highly recommend! Lovely rooms and atmosphere. I went with two girlfriends and we stayed 3 nights. Evening bed service included creme brulee with our robes. Great view of the lovely courtyard from our patio. Bath products were lovely along with bath pillow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We pride ourselves on the uniqueness of our very different and very special evening turndowns and we are so happy you enjoyed them. We hope to see you back soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This was our third stay at the Last Word Constantia. It was as before absolutely perfect in every respect. We were given Room 8 which was simply beautiful with a lovely view over the garden and little balcony so we could sit outside. The room was so wonderful that it was hard to get ourselves out to explore Cape Town. The managers, although different ones to our previous visits, as before extremely helpful and friendly. We were thrilled that many of the staff were still there especially Beauty who has now met our whole family. One improvement from before was the breakfast which we thought was more extensive with delicious fresh fruit and wonderful cooked alternatives. It was hard to move off after breakfast. We will most certainly be returning on our next visit to South Africa.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the pool suite, Room 8 and garden rooms and all were fantastic. It does not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thanks so much for the compliments and we are all so happy you enjoyed your room, the service and our famous breakfast, amongst other things. It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back to The Last Word for the forth time on your next visit to South Africa.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in The Last Word Constantia over a weekend. The location is very nice and the Hotel has a very intimate feel to it. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. I have slept on more comfortable beds than they had in the room, but it was not uncomfortable. The bathroom was very big and had a huge bath to relax in. The service was not the friendliest we experienced staying at other hotels, but everything that needed to be done was done. We enjoyed the complimentary mini-bar and creme brulee/chocolate cake we received as bed time snacks. Our car was also washed on the Saturday morning before we left to go to town. Overall this hotel was very comfortable and relaxing, but not the best hotel we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose a suite - it has a private plunge pool, lounge and complimentary mini bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thanks very much for the review and the constructive advice. I am very sorry to hear you experienced some unfriendly service and I can assure you this is not the norm at The Last Word. We pride ourselves on our hospitality here and I will personally take this issue up with the staff and make sure that this does not happen again. Once again, my sincerest apologies, and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hopefully we can welcome you back one day and exceed the level of service you expect.
Kind regards
Steve Robertson, marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
3.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
496 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
417 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
211 reviews
6.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
324 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Constantia

Property: The Last Word Constantia
Address: Spanschemat River Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Constantia 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Cape’s oldest and most beautiful wine valley, The Last Word Constantia is close to seven of South Africa’s top wine estates and many internationally celebrated restaurants. Great attention is paid to peace and tranquility. An inviting sunken swimming pool and tanning deck is the focal point of the magnificently manicured garden with rolling lawns, vibrant colours and exquisite mountain views. The lounges, dining area and sun patios all open onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Last Word Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Constantia
The Last Word Constantia Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing