We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Last Word Constantia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$292
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Hotel(Newlands)
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
188
15
2
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
15
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautifully appointed roomscape towneach afternoonthe staff were incredibly friendlymaking dinner reservationsincluding alcoholall inclusive drinksplunge poolgarden of edenstunning bathroomoutdoor terracequiet hoteltranquil haventea and cakefresh flowersfamily suitelounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Our beautiful room and the stunning gardens were a welcome haven after driving over 500K. We were amazed how peaceful it was considering its proximity to major roads,but you could hardly hear any traffic noise and it made it very convenient for driving to the sights. The staff were lovely and made you feel very welcome, that nothing was too much trouble and were very helpful in making reservations and finding out if the cable car was running etc. (The day it was open we got there about 10.30 and there were already large crowds with a 45 minute wait, so we came back at about 17.20 and walked straight in.) The other plus points to our room were the secluded patio (Room 4) and the lovely mosaic in the shower area. Small details but adding up to a very harmonious whole. A lovely place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucestershireLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Marketing at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

We are delighted with your review and so pleased that you found our accommodation so hospitable.

We look forward to your stay with us in the near future.

The Last Word Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Today my sister and I took our eldest sister for the High Tea experience at The Last Word, Constantia. In one word it was - FANTASTIC. Plates laden with dainty sandwiches, savoury meatballs, tiny samoosas, small crepes filled with salmon,cheesecake slices, chocolate cake slices, scones with jam and cream, homemade shortbread, cupcakes, and more. As much tea or coffee as you wanted, charming service, AND a card and present of champagne and nougat for the birthday girl. The surroundings are elegant, the gardens well tended and inviting. Altogether a lovely few hours.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patzimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan W, Marketing at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

We are so glad that you enjoyed your high tea at our hotel. We no longer offer these exquisite afternoons but miss them dearly!

Join us again and stay over to experience our lavish breakfast buffet and luxury turndowns.

The Last Word Constantia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed for a week in the Last Word Bishopscourt. For some reason they have opened and closed this hotel several times in the last year. On our experience it would be tragic if others could not enjoy the luxury, pampering and views that we revelled in. It is close to everything, restaurants, shopping centers and all the Constantia wineries. Neville their driver was always on hand to save needing a car and designated non drinking driver. Bishopscourt has a lovely garden and pool beside which you can partake of the all inclusive alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks and snacks. That's just the property, the staff are even better, Tess and her helpers spend their day thinking how to make their guests enjoy their day more. Quite remarkable and never before replicated in my travels and I have many favourites round the world. It would be a pity if we were deprived of returning by closures in order for the company to concentrate on their other properties. I'm puzzled because they can't be better than this one.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at The Last Word in Constantia and we had the most amazing time. The staff were so friendly and the room was beyond our expectations. We couldn't have wished for a better start to our holiday and we would like to thank the team at The Last Word for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

An absolute pleasure from all of us here at The Last Word. We're so happy to have played a part in making your holiday a success and we hope to see you again soon.
The Last Word family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This was not our first stay at The Constantia and it will not be our last. Since our last visit, more rooms have been added and the gardens have reestablished. Everything is top class here, the rooms, the service, the assistance and the way the gardens are kept. On top of that we could order our own menu from the in-house chef (and she is good) or visit several quality restaurants in the wineries nearby. Everything is available from the first smiles when you walk in, to travel help, tour bookings, in-house transport...all you need for a getaway. They even arranged for us to visit their sister hotel, Long Beach, on a trip down to Cape Point and we were also welcomed there. Thoroughly recommend...the quiet yet only 30 minutes from the bustle of the City.Many thanks.

Room Tip: All suites are secluded. I think the best is the one nearest the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyprusmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you so very much for your incredibly kind review and all of us here at The Last Word are overjoyed you loved your stay with us. Chef Rachel is so happy you enjoyed your in-house meals. So happy to hear you'll be back and we look forward to welcoming you.
The Last Word family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews