We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise!”
Review of Constantia Stables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Constantia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Constantia Stables
Ranked #5 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a wonderful relaxing luxury guesthouse with immaculate rooms, beautiful gardens,wonderful staff and such friendly hospitality. The breakfasts are absolutely amazing .Lola and Rick are such wonderful hosts that you feel right at home and i will always treasure the memories of our splendid stay at Constantia Stables.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

We returned to Rick and Lola's beautiful guest house after over 10 years (it was that memorable!) and were not disappointed. We felt thoroughly looked after from start to finish. As you approach you are surrounded by the stunning garden full of exotic flowers. The rooms are absolutely luxurious and yet homely. The food stunning (I recommend the smoked salmon and poached eggs!) and make sure you have a glass of wine with the owners who certainly know their stuff about the cape's finest attractions. An absolute must - can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The welcome from Rick and Lola is second to none. Our stay in Victoria's Cottage was like being in our own place. The comfort and style is so perfect.Lola's Breakfast sets you up for the day and nothing is too much trouble for Lola. Rick is the the ideal host and he can't do enough to make sure that your stay at The Stables is trouble free. We had our Hire Car waiting to pick us up at the Airport to take us directly to The Stables where all the paper work was signed.On the return journey a driver was organised to take us back to the airport.
Your days out are a pleasure, because the advice on routes and places to visit,are so well explained by both Rick and Lola.
We will always stay at The Stables when in Cape Town.

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I think I have now stayed in every one of the luxurious, quirky, welcoming rooms and cottages at the Constantia Stables, from one night to almost 10 days over a period of 2 and a half years. The fact that this has become the only place I stay when on business or holiday in Cape Town says it all. Lola and Rick are the most attentive, caring hosts who go out of their way to ensure that you have privacy when you need it and company when you don't. The highlight of my visit is always the lovely breakfast spread and Lola's perfect salmon and scrambled eggs. An added bonus is the excellent but unobtrusive security (the security company is based next door!) so that you don't have to sleep behind razor wire and electric fencing, and feel completely safe and relaxed. I love the garden, with its surprises and greenery. It's difficult to find anything negative to say aside from the fact that reality intrudes and I have to leave at some point!

Room Tip: Every room has a personality, but my personal favourite is Victoria's Cottage, tucked away in gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaJeanWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This guest house, conveniently tucked away in Chantecler Lane in the leafy tranquillity of Constantia is the perfect place to find winter sunshine and the best of South Frican hospitality.
Furnished in a nostagic colonial style ,this creatively converted stable block is only a short drive from Cape Town airport, Table Mountain, the world famous Waterfront Mall and an outstanding selection of bathing and surfing beaches. Encircled by outstanding restaurants, your escape from chilly European winters is guaranteed to be an enduring memory.Our hosts, Lola and Rick Bartlet
transported us to a life of an elegant relaxing Edwardian country house party.
This is "must visit" place for your next milestone visit to the Southern Hemishere.......
all sun and no jet lag !!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the delightful garden cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

From the moment we turned into the 'Anne of Green Gables' driveway of The Stables, I felt that I had found a long searched for hideaway. The Stables is a 'pause button' from the daily grind. A slice of old world Cape charm, from the accommodation at Lily's Cottage to the amazing garden and pragmatic efficiency of Lola and Rick.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have written about The Stables on a previous occasion (please refer to my review 3rd June 2010) but having just returned from our holiday which included another stay there I thought I share the following with fellow travelers:

Firstly, all I have written in my previous review still applies, our stay was as wonderful as always. However, my husband and I had been on a Paleo style diet since the beginning of the year and this meant that we had to plan our travel more careful then normal.

We e-mailed Rick & Lola (the owners) to let them know that we would need to make some adjustments to our breakfast and would not be able to partake in the wonderful yoghurts, cheeses, breads, croissants and other delicious things which are always on offer in the morning for breakfast.

When we arrived at The Stables we found that the extremely tempting biscuit jar which Lola puts in every room had been removed and replaced by a bowl of fresh fruit – very thoughtful.

The next morning at breakfast we were greeted by a table bending under the weight of bowls of the most amazing berries (delicious raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, cherries and more). Also, there was Pepino fruit every morning – delicious, it tastes a bit like a cross between a melon and a papaya - which we have not seen in the UK before.

Afterwards Lola prepared a low carb breakfast with a choice of omelettes, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, eggs with bacon (the bacon is amazing, by the way) and many more tasty things. Avocado was always on the table too.

Every morning we would find something new, one morning we even had frozen berries – heaven.

Both Rick and Lola went out of their way to accommodate our needs and help us to eat healthy which was a really big help.

Upon returning to the UK we found that we had jointly lost 9 pounds – this simply would not have been possible without Lola’s help. Our personal trainer was very pleased with us.

Yet again an absolute joy to stay at The Stables, needless to say we will return.

Room Tip: All rooms at The Stables are beautiful - we have stayed in all of them over the years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goggo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
2.4 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
502 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
297 reviews
1.3 mi away
Constantia White Lodge
Constantia White Lodge
#7 of 40 in Constantia
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantia Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantia Stables

Address: 8 Chantecler Lane | off Willow Rd, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantia Stables 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Constantia Stables Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing