We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small friendly hotel”
Review of Glen Avon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Avon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent a wonderful relaxing week here from end February to early March. We had a lovely room with doors to the pool garden furthest from the road which was very quiet. Very comfortable room and great bathroom with large bath and shower. Very good food and service always. Lots to see nearby and plenty of other restaurants, some very high quality, if you want to eat out. Highly recommended - will definitely return!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wonderful standard of accommodation in excellent surroundings. A beautiful tranquil garden with lovely pool area. Rooms are excellently furnished. Staff are very helpful and whether you only have breakfast or decide to dine in the evening you will not be disappointed. This is our third stay and not our last.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Agnes2golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent time at Glen Avon with all the staff being very helpful and courtesy. Accommodation was top standard. Meals were varied and of a very good standard.
All in all great to be back in SA for another holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Once again beats expectation.Beautiful large bedrooms modern bathrooms,lovely well kept gardens and wonderful position.Ideally placed for exploring the area and Haven of peace on your return. On site guests restaurant provides a different menu every day presenting excellent food with very interesting combinations of flavours. The staff really make this place there is nothing you ask for that provides them with a challenge. This kind of attention only comes from everybody working as a family. A definite must for anybody visiting the Constantia valley area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djbeecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyDrummond, General Manager at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Beecroft
Thank you for your lovely comments. Livison has missed the soccer chat in the mornings. We look forward to seeing you again in February.
Kind regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent 3 nights in the lodge and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. All the staff were friendly and efficient and went out of their way to help with any requests. The room was very clean and well decorated and the bathroom spacious and well fitted. My only criticism is that we found the bed a bit on the short side so my husband's feet were very close to the edge. The food was excellent, breakfast beautifully served and a good selection. We had dinner on 2 nights and the lamb we ate on the 2nd night was exceptional. We had a room overlooking the garden which I think was fortunate as you can hear the busy road close by from the swimming pool area and I would imagine from the rooms on that side. Overall a lovely place to stay and I would be very happy to return there and to recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vjoynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was our first stop on our holiday in S. Africa and after a tiring over night flight from Scotland
could not have had a better welcome or accommodation. The staff could not have done more for us and our room was as good as if not better than most 5 star hotels. On our next visit we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was the last stop of my South African holiday, and we spent three nights there. Much better than an hotel in the middle of Cape Town, this beautiful lodge is about half an hour's drive at the most from the centre of Cape Town. The Lodge can arrange excursions to wherever you wish to go. Constantia is a good area, safe, with some lovely properties. Nearby are the beautiful Stellenbosch gardens, and Groot Constantia, the oldest wine estate in South Africa. Glen Avon has five stars, richly deserved. The service is professional, friendly and very efficient. We dined in on our first night - the meal was delicious and expertly served. My room, overlooking the beautiful rose-filled garden, was very comfortable, with good quality bed linen and a huge bathroom, well-equipped. But best of all are the "team", headed by Lauren. All of them really looked after me, and I will certainly return.

Room Tip: I preferred my room, which was overlooking the lawn and nearest to the beautiful Cape Dutch style ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
2 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
465 reviews
2.9 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#7 of 81 in Somerset West
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
14 on Klein Constantia
14 on Klein Constantia
#9 of 40 in Constantia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Avon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Avon Lodge

Address: 1 Strawberry Lane, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: £131 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Avon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Avon has been officially upgraded by the TGCSA to 5 stars and has expanded to 16 superior luxury rooms and suites. Only minutes from major attractions like the Cape Town Waterfront, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Top Beaches and the Constantia Wine lands. Our en-suite bedrooms have all the luxury comforts including air-conditioning, private bar, internet access, modern marble bathrooms and swimming pool access. Hearty breakfasts and gourmet dinners are all part of the tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glen Avon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Avon Lodge Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing