We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Service with a Smile”
Review of Constantia Palms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Constantia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Constantia Palms
Ranked #28 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This well designed Bed and Breakfast property was superb, centrally located with every possible amenity.

The rooms were reasonably sized, light and bright, beautifully and practically furnished with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was generously proportioned and well equipped.
The extra touches of lovely linnens, quality hand creams, shampoos and soaps, a daily dose of chocolate etc were well appreciated and the tea tray complete with typical South African rusks was superb - what a treat. The glasses were quality and it was a pleasure drinking lovely cold SA wines out of classy glasses ( so many hostelries fall down in this area - thank you Gerrie). Outside the bedroom was a small private lawned area with privacy screening (our room faced the road but this was not an issue) and with views of the mountain.

There is a smallish refreshing pool in beautfiul lush ferned gardens with a waterfall tinkling in the background to serenely distract guests from the distant road traffic.

Breakfasts were superb, hot and hearty and overseen by Gerrie who personally chatted to each of his guests. Gerrie was the perfect host who made every effort to offer advice and help guests with information to ensure their holiday was perfect. Thanks for the loan of your binos.
The property is fortunately also close to the Constantiaberg Hospital in the case of any emergency.

The property is situated safely and conveniently in a short cul-de-sac close to the main routes with easy access. The Pedlars Inn restaurant is a two minute walk away - perfect for dinner. The Constantia shopping centre is a 5 minute drive away. You do need a car and there is adequate secure parking with a good system and dual gate access.

This was a lovely B & B - compliments to mine hosts, their staff and to their doggies.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. There are four downstairs and a couple upstairs. If you have mobility problems...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Constantia Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

As all the superlatives have been used before, we would just like to thank Gerrie for a most wonderful time. We were lucky to have been 'upgraded' to the enormous suite on the top floor with views of the mountains.

Every morning, Gerrie would come into the breakfast room and talk to all the guests to ensure that we were properly organised for the day ahead - although I don't think he had to advise much to the couple who had stayed there 34 [yes, thirty four] times! We just had to mention which area we wanted to visit and Gerrie would produce maps and guides, mark out the best route and advise the best restaurants along the way.

We were visiting S Africa on holiday for the first time and had considered the recommended but long drive along the Garden Route. However, the friends who had recommended Constantia Palms to us suggested a week exploring the Cape Town area from Constantia would be less tiring. The highlight of the week was our visit to Hermanus [no whales, too windy] and Betty's Bay penguins, closely followed by a visit to Robben Island just two days before Nelson Mandela's passing - very moving.

Pedlar's Restaurant nearby was our favourite for a meal in the evening. Other superb meals were at the Marine Hotel in Hermanus, Chapman's Peak Hotel in Hout Bay and Reubens in Franschoek. The most expensive meal the whole week was £40 for two people including wine, but more typically £25-30, so between 50-75% of a similar quality meal in the UK

Room Tip: All the downstairs rooms are excellent. The Garden Room has a verandah onto the garden. If you wan...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HexhamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The best B & B we have ever stayed in! What a treat to have a bath with a telephone shower, and a separate stand-in shower! The hospitality was also first class. Many thanks Gerrie.

Paul and Joan Jacobs

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I was travelling on business to South Africa and my clients booked me into this guest house conveniently located in Constantia on the wine trail. British travellers might make the mistake of missing this in favour of a hotel, but make no mistake this is something on a different level to what we Brits think of as guest house! A beautifully appointed super clean, very quiet room with views of the surrounding mountains which wouldn't be amiss in a copy of House & Garden. Lovely bed linens and Charlotte Rhys soaps, shower gel and shampoo in the huge bath and shower room all helped to make my stay very enjoyable. Not to mention the hearty English breakfast every morning and friendly service from Gerrie the owner. The local pub, a very short walk away is a lively and well priced pub serving good basic food for those that don't want to venture far. Highly recommended, I had a great stay. Can't comment on the swimming pool as it was a South African winter during my stay, but it looked inviting!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldlife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Rooms were extremely comfortable and clean, excellent breakfast choices, and a perfect place to relax. Nice garden area and pool available for guests. Your host Gerrie was welcoming and a font of knowledge about local restuarants and advice about bookings etc. Would certainly recommend Constantia Palms and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We now use Gerrie's for several days at the start and end of our annual mid-Jan to mid-Feb trip to SA. It is the perfect place to chill out before we set off into the winelands and garden route and then to wind down at the end of the trip before setting off for home. Very central, safe, lovely accommodation and breakfasts, perfect for sunbathing to the sound of the waterfall in the garden.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benhol007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Having read other reviews, I find it difficult to add to the superlatives already said about Constantia Palms. Your host Gerrie is a fount of knowledge and always there with a smile and chat. The guest house location could not be better, with easy access to good restaurants, wine farms and Cape Town. Also you are en route to Cape Peninsular and all its attractions. The rooms are all first class, in size, comfort and amenities - I wouldn't want to single out any one in preference. The breakfast could not be faulted, with every item you might want, and I suspect if its not there then Gerrie would get it for you. The garden and pool area I found stunning with adequate loungers for those wanting to top up their vitamin D.
We have visited Cape Town for many years, and this year we spent 11 nights in Constantia Palms for the first time. Needless to say we will return on any future visit to Cape Town.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenshewak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
0.9 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.2 mi away
Glen Avon Lodge
Glen Avon Lodge
#3 of 40 in Constantia
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
497 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantia Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantia Palms

Address: 3 Constantiaberg Close, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: £48 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantia Palms; Luxury accredited Portfolio B&B (4 star grading), in the Constantia Wine Route. Surrounded by stunning mountain views, in a lush garden featuring magnificent water features and swimming pool. Close to Kirstenbosch Gardens, top golf courses; 20 minutes from airport, Waterfront and beaches. 4 luxury designer decorated bedrooms (2 suites) - private en-suite facilities in a separate wing. Delicious, individually cooked breakfasts. Your host Gerrie will help plan day trips, to ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Constantia Palms Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing