We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience staying in George Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George Lodge International
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Experience staying in George Lodge”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Security fecing, shap-shap, gave me a bady sleep. Indication boards are invisible, can find yourself fumbling passing the place. Rooms are speciase, good relief. Br/fast was lekker, reception lv u guyz

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mhlangabezi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to writing us a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. Looking forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    47
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
18
7
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ladismith
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was my second visit to George Lodge and like the first visit, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. I would however ask for more lighting in the rooms, because on both of those trips I had to work at night and I experienced some difficulties with the lighting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maryna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for being one of our returning guests and taking the time to write us a review. In future when you make a booking, please just mention to the ladies that u will be working in your room and we will make the necessary adjustments so that you can work in comfort, I am not sure if you are aware of it, but you are more than welcome to work in our boardroom, situated in our conference centre instead of working in your room. Totally your choice. Look forward to having you at our establishment in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Good. The room was neat and clean.
Bad. The hairdrier did not work
The one reading light was out of order.
The bath had chisel marks around the outlet. There was a hole at the outlet that was badly filled in.
The centre light did not give enough light at the coffee table.
There was only two packets of coffee/tea, there should be one for the
evening and one for the early morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cilliers V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for informing me about the mistakes you experienced in your room, I can only give my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused and would like to inform you what we have done to rectify same. The bath has been re-enameled by a company called Mend a Bath and looks brand new, the hairdryer was replace and our staff has been addressed about the mistakes that has not been brought under management's attention. We have also put in stronger bulbs to ensure better lighting. Once again my sincere apologies and we trust your next stay with us will be superb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
223 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I arrived in the evening with some colleagues. We were given our keys and shown half way to our rooms. It was Very windy and in my room the windows where open in the bathroom. The room was really cold. I couldn't find any means of heating. In the morning I found a tiny heater tucked in a corner behind a counter.

We went straight out to eat. There are plenty of restaurants within 3 minutes walk.

The hotel is very ordinary. No facilities apart from wifi. Ok for saving money on a business trip but not really a place to stay on holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lokamitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
I thank you for your review, but must just state that it is winter now in the Garden Route, and an extremely cold one as well, ranging to under 10 degrees at night. I am sorry that u could not find your heater in the evening, and it is not hidden away it is just placed where it is not in your way in ordinary conditions. Furthermore there is a duvet,a blanket,a throw on the bed as well as spares blankets in the cupboards to help with the extra cold conditions.

As far as the holiday is concerned i guess it depends on what you have in mind, our December guests, which is our main holiday time has a blast when they visiting us. They leisure around the pool, swim, braai and in the evening sit around our bon fire and can either make use of our shuttle service for daytrips or can tour the Garden Route by themselves. For our holiday makers we give custom made brochures (these are available in our breakfast area or in reception) of each area in the Garden Route with all the information about the activities as well as a CD with all the information of Things to do, Restaurants in our area, Beaches and game reserves, golf clubs in our area and upcoming events, these are also available on our website for people to go thru before they making a booking so that they can see what is available while they are on holiday in the Garden Route. There might not be a whole lot of activities at the Lodge itself but I can assure you that our staff will make your stay in the Garden Route pleasant and will keep u busy with a whole lot of activities to do during the day, whilst touring our lovely area. Thank you, hopefully next time you can visit us in the lovely summer time and see how the other holidaymakers enjoy their stay by us and in the Garden Route
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I am a frequent traveller for business and its always hard to try find suitable accomodation. I am pleased to say that i will definatly be staying at George Lodge again purely because the welcoming on arrival was excellent, the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was great. Furthermore it felt like a home away from home. i was also really impressed at how professional their hostess Sharni was, very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her. Thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DeanH710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The ladies were brilliant! Always happy, willing and available to assist; no matter the time nor task. From booking in our delegates, to a well-placed conference room to extra fans in the sleeping area, they were impeccable… Thank you very much. I will definitely recommend this place to everyone coming this side.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TumeloM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The service of George Lodge's staff and their friendliness is of the best I've received.
The Lodge is very central situated with all the major restaurants at walking distance.

Keep it up - I'm sure I'll see you soon again....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
2.2 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
6.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loerie Guest Lodge
Loerie Guest Lodge
#12 of 59 in George
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Lodge International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Lodge International

Property: George Lodge International
Address: 86 Davidson Road, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George Lodge International 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lenie Stander and Reinette Marais form the mother-daughter team behind the success and allure of George Lodge International. With many combined years of experience within the hospitality industry, we appreciate the individual requirements of each guest – and go out of our way to reach and exceed your requirements and needs. Our personal and intimate knowledge of the area, along with our experience in managing wonderful weddings, fabulous functions and successful conferences, allows us to tailor-make your stay. While George Lodge International is a family run establishment and visitors may expect all the comforts of home, our professional team adheres to the highest of standards. This combination ensures that your stay will not only be exactly what you needed and expected, but so much more. We offer a truly value for money experience with 22 en suite rooms, a swimming pool and braai area, cooked breakfasts, packages for tour groups and complimentary WiFi connectivity. Our conference centre also offers wireless access to the Internet with various rooms available that would suit the specific needs of every corporate group – regardless of the size of the group. All Rooms are equipped with fridges, some have microwaves as well. DSTV - each room own decoder with 50 channels to view. Free wifi in all areas of the lodge. Communal lounge for relaxation and designated information area with information packs and brochures of all the areas in the Garden Route. For corporate traveller, we offer business services ie: copying, laminating, faxing, book binding etc. Airtime and Data purchasing for all the networks also available at reception. For convenience the following items are available to purchase from reception. Braai wood, Charcoal, Blitz, Sunscreen, Milk and Bottled Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your George Lodge International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing