We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
George Lodge International
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fancourt(George)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Lodge George(George)(Great Value!)
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
75
58
26
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
58
26
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripnice staybath showeroutstanding qualitycompared to other placesrooms are clean and spaciouswithin walking distancebooking processthoroughly enjoyed my staydstv channelsclose to shopselectric blanketsfamily roomquiet areaon arrivalair conditionerstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The service was very helpfull.The room had everything a person needs and was clean and neat.Very good price for what you get.The guesthouse is very central, near to the business centre of George and right between Mosselbay and Plett.Also near to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mirella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad u enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having u back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The staff are friendly, helpful and competent.
Rooms are clean and spacious.
Conference facilities were well organised and staff were able to accommodate requests.
Breakfast offered a lot of variety and was really nice.


  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elize V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we glad u enjoyed your time and conference with us, we look forward to your next visit to our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed in the George Lodge last week. Matress was uneven and hard, should have been replaced years ago. No running hot water for 10 minutes in my room the morning. Only air blowing out the pipe. The mattress had a egg shell cover which is unhygienic and normally used to prevent bed sores and hould only be used for one patient and then replaces. I will never recommend this hotel or use it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerhard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and we are truly sorry that u feel this way about our guesthouse.

As can be seen from the previous reviews, the guests were complaining about our mattresses being to firm, i called the company that we bought the beds from for a solution and they suggested, slumber pads. The egg shell mattresses that the guest refers to is called a slumber pad by the mattress company and all our rooms have it and we have not had one complaint about it or about the mattresses being to hard since we have put them on. It get's placed under the sheet on top of the mattress to soften the mattresses. I explained this to you in the breakfast room, furthermore you did not mention that there was a problem with your hot water, all our geysers get monitored by an independent company to ensure all guests have hot water and furthermore your room is alone on one geyser so it is surprising that you had no hot water for ten minutes, just saying.

We have also phoned a number of our guests who have stayed in the room in question, some of our return trade actually prefer that room and request the room again and again. All the guests contacted had no complaints about the room or its hot water.

Our mattresses conform to the South African Tourist Grading Councils standards and criteria and were recently replaced with the recommended type of mattress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I had a great,comfortable stay at the george lodge. Providing electric blankets during the winter months would make it perfect. Providing undercover parking should also be considered. Breakfast was filling and tasty

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff were super friendly and helpful; I used the new shuttle service which was very convenient for me and the room was comfortable. My only mild discomfort was the noise from the road; I would prefer a room further away from the traffic next time, I did have a disturbed night. Some long life milk (30ml parmalat boxes) tea drinkers would be nice. Breakfast was good; I opted for the buffet with fruit but the cooked breakfasts looked inviting as well. All in all, I would stay at the lodge on a business trip again for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pavarni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed all we had to offer and is sorry about the noise from the road. When you make a future booking, please ensure to mention this to the receptionist and we will gladly assist you with a room furthest from the street. We will also look into the matter of the 30ml boxes milk alternatively you are welcome to ask our receptionist for some fresh milk for the duration of your stay. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews