We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with historic touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairview Historic Homestead
Ranked #5 of 65 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We came to George on a grey rainy day, but this place was the right place to be: fireplace in our bedroom, very friendly staff, gourgeous breakfast and a lovely garden to wander through! Very relaxed atmosphere and the ideal place for a honeymoon

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

So glad we could add to your joyful memories of a short trip to our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

If you enjoy enjoy living in a grand old house this is the place for you. We had three days enjoying one of the oldest houses in George, wonderful breakfasts followed by strolling round a garden which has been totally restored to its current fantastic status. And our hosts were great too....!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CaptainAndy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely having you with us to share our home and surrounds . Hope your next visit will be a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a great place to stay ! Great to feel so welcome and always willing to go the extra mile. Breakfast on the porch is a must for anyone going ! Amazing to have the historic feel with those 21st century comforts !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

"historic feel with 21st century comforts" those words I should use on my website as it sums up exactly what we are trying to achieve : modern comforts, with just the right amount of antique thrown in for atmosphere! Thanks, and glad you loved it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just a few minutes drive away from the center of George you'll find this top class accomodation within a quiet living area. Desmond who is taking care of the british style garden all day long and Philda running the guest house are both amazing hosts. The garden and the house in perfect condition, and the roomes carefully restored and equiped with well selected old furniture delivering a warm and cosy atmosphere. You are feeling set back 50 years or more without missing any modern amenity. The breakfast served at your individual wishes is the right highlight to start a perfect day. We do not believe that there is a better place to stay in George. Thanks a lot for this unique experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enricoBeiWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! After 17 years of opening our home to guests Desmond and I can honestly say that we still love it - and it is heartening to read words of encouragement and appreciation like this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed at Fairview in 2010 for the first time and have since been back to George on business 15 times and never even bothered to find alternative accommodation, Fairview is just too good to change. Philda and Elize provide excellent service and it feels like home now.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SteynStJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

thanks - I may only rank 9th on the Tripadvisor 'popularity list', but so what with such loyal guests!

When you come again you are going to be bowled over by what we have done in the garden. The rose garden is now standing in a 'room' of it's own - surrounded by a wrought iron trellis partitioning and planted with a 'fruit salad' of vines, pear trees, quince, passion fruit and blueberries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent 5 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The house is a fine example of an old Georgian homestead which has been lovingly restored and kept. Philda was a wonderful host with very useful local knowledge. Its our only choice for future stays in George.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JustinHardcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

ooops , sorry for only thanking you for the kind words now. (I still remember you well - your daughter got selected to compete on Provincial level for horse-riding when you stayed with us.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed at Fairview 8 years ago for business, and it was lovely to stay there again after so many years, and find that it still offers the same service and comforts it did before. Lovely friendly people are just an added bonus

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you so much for the kind comments. We love what we do and being appreciated for it, makes it all worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
7.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
72 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
1 mi away
Edenwood House
Edenwood House
#1 of 65 in George
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 65 in George
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Historic Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Historic Homestead

Address: 36 Stander Street, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range: £81 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Historic Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality in a unique and authentic (circa 1861) Cape Georgian historical home. Fairview Homestead is a 5 bedroom guest house in B&B style - that means the owners,Desmond and Philda, live on the premises. The guest rooms are private, but we have a communal lounge/breakfast area for the guests. Philda is responsible for the running of the Guest House and Desmond is the gardener and plant collector (when not in the garden, still working as a medical doctor) We have a large kitchen garden, a small orchard and keep our own chickens. Do consider staying a few days: George is the hub of golf in the Garden Route with many of South Africa's top courses within a 60km radius. We can organize a guided tour of the garden Route wine route, paragliding, bungee jumping, game drives to Bottelierskop Game Reserve and trips to the Seal Island and/or Shark cage diving in Mossel Bay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairview Historic Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing