We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in George”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairview Historic Homestead
Ranked #7 of 59 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay in George”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We just spent a night at Fairview and would highly recommend it. We were welcomed by Philda who was an excellent hostess and the charm of the room as well as the delicious, home cooked breakfast overlooking the gorgeous garden was exceptional. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Variava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are so blessed to have the opportunity to share our home and garden with guests. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
45
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a great stay at Fairview! The garden is beautiful, our stay relaxing and breakfast was fabulous! A big THANK YOU to Philda, Desmond, Elize, Juno and Mushroom for a welcoming us into your home :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zerlina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We enjoyed sharing our home, garden and pets(!) with you. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a most enjoyable and comfortable stay at Fairview Homestead. Philda was very accommodating and friendly and the rooms were beautifully decorated and well equipped. We would most definitely return when visiting George.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bridget J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
and we would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sursee, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We felt like at home. Everything is prepared with love. The breakfast is great. Every morning started with a highlight.The staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you very much for everything. We'll be back.
Jeanette and Peter

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette / Pete... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thanks for those kind words! And we would love to have you back...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We came to George on a grey rainy day, but this place was the right place to be: fireplace in our bedroom, very friendly staff, gourgeous breakfast and a lovely garden to wander through! Very relaxed atmosphere and the ideal place for a honeymoon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
So glad we could add to your joyful memories of a short trip to our beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

If you enjoy enjoy living in a grand old house this is the place for you. We had three days enjoying one of the oldest houses in George, wonderful breakfasts followed by strolling round a garden which has been totally restored to its current fantastic status. And our hosts were great too....!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAndy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely having you with us to share our home and surrounds . Hope your next visit will be a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a great place to stay ! Great to feel so welcome and always willing to go the extra mile. Breakfast on the porch is a must for anyone going ! Amazing to have the historic feel with those 21st century comforts !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
"historic feel with 21st century comforts" those words I should use on my website as it sums up exactly what we are trying to achieve : modern comforts, with just the right amount of antique thrown in for atmosphere! Thanks, and glad you loved it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
4.1 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
1.0 mi away
Edenwood Guest House
Edenwood Guest House
#1 of 59 in George
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 59 in George
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#5 of 59 in George
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heriot Manor Guest House
Heriot Manor Guest House
#10 of 59 in George
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Historic Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Historic Homestead

Property: Fairview Historic Homestead
Address: 36 Stander Street, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Historic Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality in a unique and authentic (circa 1861) Cape Georgian historical home. Fairview Homestead is a 5 bedroom guest house in B&B style - that means the owners,Desmond and Philda, live on the premises. The guest rooms are private, but we have a communal lounge/breakfast area for the guests. Philda is responsible for the running of the Guest House and Desmond is the gardener and plant collector (when not in the garden, still working as a medical doctor) We have a large kitchen garden, a small orchard and keep our own chickens. Do consider staying a few days: George is the hub of golf in the Garden Route with many of South Africa's top courses within a 60km radius. We can organize a guided tour of the garden Route wine route, paragliding, bungee jumping, game drives to Bottelierskop Game Reserve and trips to the Seal Island and/or Shark cage diving in Mossel Bay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairview Historic Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing