We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous quaint guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairview Historic Homestead
Ranked #7 of 62 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous quaint guest house”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a gorgeous historic Guest House in George. The house is full of beautiful antiques and has a great feel. Beautiful rooms, divine garden and very conveniently located. Service wonderful and friendly. Our entire stay was perfect - thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LadiesLOVEtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Much appreciated...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
45
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent and rich breakfast. Very helpfull houskeeping personal giving tips, clues for activities in the area and doing bookings at restaurants. Calm location with clean and appropriate rooms. Familiar atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Google Translation
Herzlichen Dank für die angenehme Botschaft, Wir schätzen es sehr. Eine historische Wohnung kann vielleicht wie ein Museum wirkt und deshalb freuen wir uns, dass Sie es so gemütlich fand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

what a stunning place! with love to every even smallest detail in&out ,the rooms and the gardens are incredibly charming and atmospheric, fireplaces in the rooms, antic furnitures throughout the entire house&rooms, every tiny part of what one would need is thought through and is available in the room&in the premises, a true spoil and treat to the eye and the senses. i cannot recommend this place enough, you are in the middle of george but it feels like in the middle of the countryside with the lush big garden. wonderful owner Philda & her husband keep this place in excellent perfect condition but with every bit of homey feeling a place like this should have.. wonderful! come& spoil yourself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planetwandering55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
So glad you enjoyed what we offer at Fairview Historic Homestead.I like to joke that I'm the best thing that's happened to Fairview in 100 years and love it when people can see my love for the house and Desmond's love of the garden. We enjoyed sharing it with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014



The georgian home with it's antique furnishings, clean & comfortable room & landscaped garden ensured a pleasant stay along with friendly, efficient service too. I enjoyed staying here, very peaceful & quiet.
I have already recommended this establishment to others, both privately & professionally.

Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Route 62 and enjoyed this guest house very much. Our room was absolutely fabulous. Being surrounded by so many antiques and beautiful things made us feel as if we were staying overnight in a museum. Beautiful garden, delicious breakfast.
Philda, the hostess, was very kind and accommodating, and Juno the dog is adorable. Definitely recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nightflight707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Glad to hear Juno charmed you! And that you loved your room - I try really hard to bring in enough contemporary elements to appeal to the modern traveler, but love it to hear that people appreciate our lovely antiques.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A great find in a quiet neighborhood. Very safe, lovely English garden and places to explore. We enjoyed it all; full, tasty breakfast.

And host kind enough to store our auto and belongings while we toured the area in the morning. Let us leave our wine and perishables in our room out of the heat. greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words; much appreciated. We are looking forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were extremely pleased with our stay in this Guest House. Fantastic rooms and location, coupled by superb service. All of this is rounded off by an excellent breakfast from perfect hosts. Thanks for the freindly reception that warms a travellers heart! I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank esceepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We've been sharing our home and garden with guests for more than 17 years and we still love it! Thank you so much for those kind words - your appreciation is what motivates us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
7.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
4.0 mi away
Far Hills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 62 in George
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Edenwood Guest House
Edenwood Guest House
#1 of 62 in George
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#4 of 62 in George
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Historic Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Historic Homestead

Property: Fairview Historic Homestead
Address: 36 Stander Street, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Historic Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality in a unique and authentic (circa 1861) Cape Georgian historical home. Fairview Homestead is a 5 bedroom guest house in B&B style - that means the owners,Desmond and Philda, live on the premises. The guest rooms are private, but we have a communal lounge/breakfast area for the guests. Philda is responsible for the running of the Guest House and Desmond is the gardener and plant collector (when not in the garden, still working as a medical doctor) We have a large kitchen garden, a small orchard and keep our own chickens. Do consider staying a few days: George is the hub of golf in the Garden Route with many of South Africa's top courses within a 60km radius. We can organize a guided tour of the garden Route wine route, paragliding, bungee jumping, game drives to Bottelierskop Game Reserve and trips to the Seal Island and/or Shark cage diving in Mossel Bay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairview Historic Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing