We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairview Historic Homestead
Ranked #7 of 62 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Philda and Desmond Benkenstein's wonderful B&B for three nights. What a find! Breakfasts were outstanding, rooms more than comfortable and the hosting fantastic! There was an equal measure of privacy and excellent company which made us feel very much at home. Desmond's garden has been lovingly cared for and attracts a variety of bird-life. The attention to detail in the house is meticulous: I loved the silver coffee pots, decorative antique books and modern bathrooms; my husband enjoyed attention from Juno the dog. We can't recommend this establishment enough ... and look forward to another visit in the not-too-distant future!


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cdwright2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

I think we all know the importance of a review to help other guests to make an informed decision in their choice of accommodation, but a show of appreciation also motivates and encourages the accommodation provider. Thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hosts were very welcoming and made sure that we were comfortable and well taken care of. We also had an amazing breakfast which is far beyond what I expected (better than some 5 star hotels) and even though it is probably not very toddler friendly due to all the lovely furnishings, they really tried to cater to all our little daughter's needs. I would definitely recommend this place to those who want some pampering.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LeeAD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

It gives us great pleasure to have been a part of you (and your daughter's) happy memories of a trip to South Africa. Thank you so much for the encouraging words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very good hospitality, Elize and philda went extra mile for us! Delicious breakfasts for all tastes ...from tasty fruit to "home grown"eggs! Would definitely stay there again. Loved the house, the garden, and the dog!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate all comments and when they are so positive, we glow! Looking forward to your next visit. Elize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The house is awesome, neat and beautiful. The garden is stunning. Well done to the dedicated gardener!! Our banting breakfast was delicious!!! The staff is friendly and helpful. Even the dog was friendly!! We enjoyed our stay. Thank You

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We loved having you too - and those Banting 'flapjacks' are a hit every time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant overnight stay. We had excellent food and a very comfortable room in a beautiful historic house surrounded by a delightful garden. Our hosts were welcoming, knowledgeable and made us feel part of the family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Manager at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

It was lovely hosting you. Thank you for the kind words; much appreciated. We hope your next visit will be a longer one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was absolutely delighted with my stay here, a beautiful distinctive heritage building on lush garden grounds, peaceful and restorative to visit. The food was extraordinary, wholesome and abundant, all served in special dishes and lots of homemade items. The hosts were very congenial and helpful, I would love to have a reason to stay there again !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for those kind words ; let us be the reason to come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay. The rooms were beautifully decorated in accordance with the historic homestead. We even sighted an eagle owl watching us from a tree in the pretty rose garden.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philda B, Owner at Fairview Historic Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Happy guests - in essence that is why I'm in the business of B&B! After all these years it still warms my heart instantly when I realise that a stay at Fairview has added happiness to a traveler - thank you for putting this to words.

Have you read the blog post about the building of the owl house on my website? We hear them just about every morning now - hope they are checking out the bedroom quality as we wait for the first occupants of Fairview Historic Homestead’s “room with a view”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
4.1 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
501 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Manor House
The Manor House
#3 of 9 in George
88 reviews
7.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Edenwood House
Edenwood House
#1 of 62 in George
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 62 in George
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#4 of 62 in George
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Historic Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Historic Homestead

Address: 36 Stander Street, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Historic Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality in a unique and authentic (circa 1861) Cape Georgian historical home. Fairview Homestead is a 5 bedroom guest house in B&B style - that means the owners,Desmond and Philda, live on the premises. The guest rooms are private, but we have a communal lounge/breakfast area for the guests. Philda is responsible for the running of the Guest House and Desmond is the gardener and plant collector (when not in the garden, still working as a medical doctor) We have a large kitchen garden, a small orchard and keep our own chickens. Do consider staying a few days: George is the hub of golf in the Garden Route with many of South Africa's top courses within a 60km radius. We can organize a guided tour of the garden Route wine route, paragliding, bungee jumping, game drives to Bottelierskop Game Reserve and trips to the Seal Island and/or Shark cage diving in Mossel Bay... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairview Historic Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing