We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tacky!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
French Lodge International
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Firstly the picture at the top is 100% misleading - that is NOT the George accommodation!!! Honeymoon suite with a toilet shack - no ceiling, makeshift roof, major leaks. Not enough hot water, some of our group had cold showers for more than half our stay, but "jacuzzi's in every room" and enough hot water for one jacuzzi!! Rats in the ceiling, cats in the rooms and musty smelling rooms. Lights not working all over then place. Weeds growing out of the gutters. Beautiful swimming pool. Rondawels may be better, but main lodge a rip-off, and owner not apologetic or showing any inclination to make-up for the problems.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debbyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

Pool side rooms at least suffer from damp and mould, allergy sufferers would do well to stay away. Black mould for example around the shower base in the three rooms we had while there.

Breakfast overpriced (twice as much as a full size main course at a local restaurant).

Seems to me the owner understands how the star formula works and has engineered four stars somehow, beats me. An affront to some genuine four star properties we have stayed at in the area.

A positive word for Natasha who does a great job of keeping the guests happy despite the issues. She deserves better from her coleagues.....

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinnieVX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

On the plus side - property was well located for town and was in a lovely setting with the thatched cottages and pool, with beautiful flowers and lighting all around. Both Natasha and the owner were very friendly and helpful. Good parking area and pool looked very clean.

Minuses - in my view it is more a 3* establishment than a 4* as the room furnishings and linens were tatty, very few toiletries supplied, only 1glass in the bathroom and, I believe, only 1 electric plug. It just felt a bit run down. Breakfast was a little strange having to choose between 3 options and not being able to swap between them i.e. if you have the muffin and croissant option you cannot have a yogurt etc. Also when we were there (early October) it was apparently the season for a certain type of crawly thing - we found several on the walls and carpet so pick your time to go!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biffo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We went there during our honeymoon, it's a very very nice hotel, with a friendly atmosphere. Spacious bedroom and bathroom. Excellent breakfast. A short drive to Victoria Bay (stunning place!)
I highly recommend it.

Francois

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BretSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivier s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pedromI6210DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lothar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
0.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#3 of 62 in George
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lodge International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lodge International

Address: 29 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in George
Price Range: £46 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — French Lodge International 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and exclusive hotel combines superb hospitality with the easy ambiance of African style and comfort. Situated in the middle of George - in a relaxed, very quiet and restful atmosphere - the luxury and sublime service of the hotel cater to the discerning traveller to George and the Garden Route. Imbued with the warm rich tones of Africa, The French Lodge International meets the needs of the 21st century in a truly unique way. Our rooms are all spacious with King-sized beds fitted with electric blankets. In addition, we have rooms with multiple bedding arrangements for the large groups.Each room has a couch as well as a desk and wardrobe. In addition, all our suites have coffee amenities, as well as a bar fridge, aircon and heating! Plus, All our Chalets have flat screen TVs! Each room has DSTV (as well as a French Channel!) And our en-suite bathrooms are beautiful with both shower and Jacuzzi! Our entire hotel is a wi-fi hotspot and guests are able to use the internet for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your French Lodge International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing