We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“9 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edenwood Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
founex
1 review
“9 day stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Beautiful setting in a lovely garden and a very peaceful area. We had a very warm welcome from Dawn and Stan and of course, Halo. Dawn had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable, even down to the european/SA electric adaptors in the room ! The breakfasts were wonderful and we much appreciated their recommendations for restaurants. The guesthouse was situated within easy reach of all the good restaurants, shopping centre, cinemas, laundary, golf courses, in fact a very good choice for a base from which to visit a large area of the garden route. This is not goodbye, merely an au revoir. Susan and Tony

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We look forward to it "until we meet again" - thank you for taking the time to do a review - and your descriptive content will surely be a great help for fellow travelers. I hope you had a relaxing and rewarding stay in SA and we truly do hope to see you again "next time".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
111
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have recently completed a five night stay with Dawn and Stan (probably our fourth or fifth stay with them) and if anything the standard of accommodation was higher than ever and you are made to feel a member of the family. We cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough. Ken & Jean

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We cannot thank you enough - it is people like yourselves that make what we do so rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

What a fantastic place, thanks very much to Dawn and Stan (not to mention Halo, the kitten) for such a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay. We stayed in the separate house which was extremely well equipped, and very comfortable for any length of stay. All in all, it couldn't be bettered!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely remarks, it was a pleasure to have you and so glad our little guy "Halo" was able to charm you all! He gets bigger by the day. The other creature you were looking for in the garden (chameleon) materialized the next day at breakfast and we were so disappointed you missed him - I will send you a photo via email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford EC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Excellent accommodation. Dawn and Stan are very friendly hosts and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. The garden is a delight and the pool very inviting. Centrally situated and within easy reach of restaurants. Well recommended

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BWDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review, it was a surprise and we truly appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Dawnve we knew this was going to be a great stay.
The House and garden were lovely and the swimming pool setting charming.Dawnve and Stan have been running this Guest House for18years and their loving attention shows.
Our room had two King size beds,a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and garden,plenty of storage space and drawers.
The coordinated soft furnishings were delightful.
We were self catering and had a modern kitchen with every item supplied you required.

The setting is very peaceful in a quiet cul de sac road.within a short drive to George.
Stan knows everything about the area and can plan your day if needed.
There are excellent restaurants nearby which we sampled and thoroughly enjoyed.
We did not have breakfast but it smelt wonderful in the morning and looked good.
We did not want to leave but regretfully had to continue to our next stay in Plett Bay.
Dawnve and Stan you really made our stay.Thank you.

Phillip UK

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PRSJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for the lovely words and your very kind considerations to our little kitten and new doggies whilst you were with us. We got so used to having you here that we were sad to see you leave, but hope to see you again one day soon. We know that flights to our beautiful country are expensive and therefore we aim to try to make everyone enjoy there time spent relaxing and unwinding. Next time I insist you have breakfast on us, and I will make a special plan for your specific dietary needs, as we often do for other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

What a pleasure to stay on the doorstep of paradise. A beautiful garden with sloping lawns and forest backdrop - a true benefit to the South African tourism industry! Serene surrounds, safe and brilliantly clean accommodation.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Schoon789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Wow, you really made our day with your lovely review - that is why Edenwood is our own "Garden of Eden", and sharing it with people who can appreciate the tranquility makes us very happy. We are so glad you felt safe and comfortable and hope you will return again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights on our trip to George and cannot recommend it more highly. The guest house is surrounded by a beautiful lust garden. The garden cottage has every amenity you could hope for and more (including and iron and ironing board). The service was top notch and the pool offers welcome relief at the end of a long summers day. It is also a must for bird lovers with a wide variety of species spotted in the garden. The breakfasts are a must as well. Keep up the good work Edenwood!

Room Tip: The garden cottage is very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
We strive to make every guest's experience a memorable one and the fact that you took the trouble to write a review means a lot to us. Many thanks for the wonderful description of Edenwood and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again one day in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
7.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
5.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
1.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 59 in George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenwood Guest House

Property: Edenwood Guest House
Address: 9 Hammerkop Street | Eden, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up-market safe and affordable, friendly guest house in tranquil surroundings on the edge of a nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Edenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing