We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and superb value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edenwood Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edenwood Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great service and superb value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Edenwood Guest House is situated in a quiet cul de sac in a safe, residential area of George. We stayed in the Annex which adjoins the main property. The accommodation had two rooms, a bedroom which, while completely adequate, was a little on the small side while the second room, a good sized lounge and kitchenette was more than adequate for any party wishing to self-cater. There was no air conditioning but fans were provided. The compact bathroom met all our needs and had a large shower.
A superb breakfast was served in the main house where free Wi-Fi is also provided. Dawn and Stan were extremely welcoming and great hosts who were in no hurry to see us leave. The pool area and gardens were beautifully maintained and both properties (main house and annex) were also very well maintained and spotlessly clean.
Of the eight guest houses we stayed in during our month trip around the East and West Cape, Edenwood was one of the best value for money properties we stayed in. You are made extremely welcome and we strongly recommend it as our first choice when we are next in George.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeacatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Edenwood and for the great detail portrayed. We truly hope to see you here again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
110
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed just the one night, on our way from CT to PE, but we were still made to feel welcome. We stayed in the Annex and all was good. We are 2 six footers and whilst i would have liked a bigger bed, it did not stop me having a good sleep.

The owners even gave us a lift into town in their car and its little things like that that make the difference. Breakfast was fresh and lovely and we enjoyed playing with the dogs in the garden (to make up missing my 2 beagles at home).

If you have a car or are ok with taxis, its maybe 5mins back into town, but would maybe be a 20 min walk or so. There is a pool, but a bit chilly for West Aussies!!

Thanks again to the owners.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinmc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you so much for the review. So glad you felt at home, we love to hear that. Hope the rugby was good and that you found some more places with Guinness! The dogs loved having someone to through their ball. We hope your next visit will not be so fleeting and you can see more of the lovely Garden Route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

This is the best guest house we have stayed at. The hosts, Dawn and Stan, are so welcoming and look after you with exceptional kindness and are unstinting with their time and help. The food and accomodation are excellent and the cats and dogs well trained and behaved so add to the home from home experience. We stayed for 3 weeks and would love to have stayed for longer! Let's hope we can next time.

Elizabeth H

Room Tip: George is very well situated on the Garden Route with easy access to all sorts of interesting place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
We would certainly feel honored to have you both back again for as long as you like - we miss our "upstairs" people and our lovely conversations. This year has been an amazing year for us, most importantly because we have been blessed by meeting such wonderful people. Thank you for the time you took to write your trip diary for us, and to help others with things to do in the Garden Route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

You won't find a nicer, more wlcoming place then Edenwood Guesthouse. Dawn and Stan are a most charming couple and know how to make you feel at home. The house and gardens are just beautiful and very nicley kept. Thanks to both of you we are always looking forward coming back to your place.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished and very well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you - Once again it was nothing but a pleasure to have you at Edenwood - we look forward to seeing you again next year and want you to know it is special people like yourselves who make our job so rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
founex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Beautiful setting in a lovely garden and a very peaceful area. We had a very warm welcome from Dawn and Stan and of course, Halo. Dawn had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable, even down to the european/SA electric adaptors in the room ! The breakfasts were wonderful and we much appreciated their recommendations for restaurants. The guesthouse was situated within easy reach of all the good restaurants, shopping centre, cinemas, laundary, golf courses, in fact a very good choice for a base from which to visit a large area of the garden route. This is not goodbye, merely an au revoir. Susan and Tony

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We look forward to it "until we meet again" - thank you for taking the time to do a review - and your descriptive content will surely be a great help for fellow travelers. I hope you had a relaxing and rewarding stay in SA and we truly do hope to see you again "next time".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have recently completed a five night stay with Dawn and Stan (probably our fourth or fifth stay with them) and if anything the standard of accommodation was higher than ever and you are made to feel a member of the family. We cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough. Ken & Jean

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
We cannot thank you enough - it is people like yourselves that make what we do so rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

What a fantastic place, thanks very much to Dawn and Stan (not to mention Halo, the kitten) for such a warm welcome and a very pleasant stay. We stayed in the separate house which was extremely well equipped, and very comfortable for any length of stay. All in all, it couldn't be bettered!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely remarks, it was a pleasure to have you and so glad our little guy "Halo" was able to charm you all! He gets bigger by the day. The other creature you were looking for in the garden (chameleon) materialized the next day at breakfast and we were so disappointed you missed him - I will send you a photo via email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
7.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
5.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
1.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 59 in George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenwood Guest House

Property: Edenwood Guest House
Address: 9 Hammerkop Street | Eden, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up-market safe and affordable, friendly guest house in tranquil surroundings on the edge of a nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Edenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing