We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax and peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed 16 August 2012

It offer extremely big rooms. It is so beautiful and relaxing that one need not go out anywhere else. The view is so good and surrounded by sea. The staff and food is good. Golf cart provide regular service.It is good for those who want to stay away from hustle and bustle of city. No WIFI in the rooms

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drparmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

The process of making reservations is seamless and smooth. The hotel itself is exquisitely positioned; from the balcony of your room you can see the tranquil Indian ocean and the majestic Outeniqua mountains. Within 10 minutes you can be at the Heroldsbay beach or on the highway on your way to the nearby city of George. The hotel caters for all tastes; from golf to gym, tennis, squash, hiking and the kiddies' club. The rooms are big enough and well furnished. The service from the porters, reception staff, restaurant is something to behold and everywhere you are met with friendliness. You are made to feel that staff at the hotel go out of their way to make the hotel a home away from home for its guests. To cap it all a few days after our stay, I received an email thanking us for staying at the hotel, accompanied by a short survey trying to establish how the hotel can improve! Other establishments can learn a lot from the Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa. We already planning our next stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east side are sunny and offer an awesome view of the ocean and the mountains, espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sombu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The property meets/exceeds the standards of some of the best Hyatt's worldwide. Facilities are modern, clean, efficient, and the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We came here with the family in July 2012.
The hotel rooms are comfortable and big, but the bathroom is "modernly-designed", which means that they don't have doors and are open from one side. Also, they have semi-transparent glass walls, which makes it ideal for couples and very uncomfortable for families/friends. It was the end of the rains, and our room was on the ground floor. There were many earthworms crawling out into our room every night, which was a bad experience. We asked the hotel to clean them, which they did, but the worms returned every day. Our bathroom sink also got clogged, which was a bit frustrating. The hotel rooms are very far from each other and one needs the hotel golf cart to reach them, which is a problem during the rains. The breakfast spread is also quiet OK and nothing very lavish, compared to normal 5 star hotel. I say this, because we were on a tour and had been to two 5-star hotels on the same trip. The whale deck was under construction and we couldn't see it.
After reading all the good reviews, I was hoping for a better experience, but I sadly leave with a bitter one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahulajmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had the opportunity to attend the induction dinner for the Chaine des Rotisseurs,
Congratulations to Jaco le Roux (GM) and his team,but also many thanks for the special attention to detail,from the airport pick up to the cupcakes as a surprise for Gisela.

Please convey our gratitude to your entire team.
From Michelle,Deon, and Team Surval

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

this was by far the best propety in our south africa trip.

the rooms were superb and large , the breakfast was sumptous and the hotel had such a large area we couldn't visit it on foot , so we requested for the golf cart.

the club at the waterfront is beautiful

the best part is a deck by the name of whale watching deck , if u go and watch sunrise there u will be thrilled

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuragyog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Mid-week business trip at the Hyatt Regency in Oubaai was an unexpected treat! Absolutely beautiful rooms with luxurious and comfortable classic modern touches - gorgeous mountain and ocean views...impeccable service and hospitality! Dinner at Cucina restaurant was delicious - and creme brulee for desert was out of this world... 5 star facilities made extra special and enjoyable by 5 star staff. Well done!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamlynP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
489 reviews
6.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
6.8 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
57 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: 406 Herolds Bay Road | Herolds Bay, George 6528, South Africa (Formerly Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £66 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa is set in the picturesque hamlet of Herolds Bay, within 15 minutes from George Airport, Western Cape, South Africa. This 316-acre upscale Residential & Golf Development set apart in our specatacular Garden Route stretches out along the Western Cape from Mossel Bay to Port Elizabeth. Home to our Signature Ernie Els Golf Course as well as the Freesia Spa. The Oubaai Hotel has 100 Luxury Guest Rooms showcased alongside some of the most spectacular Herolds Bay Heritage Real Estate. This includes 322 upmarket Oubaai Residential Properties and 128 Oubaai Village Apartments. Golf Membership is optional. The Golf Club comprises of our 18 Hole Championship Ernie Else Signature Golf Course, the Golf Academy, a Driving Range plus 1 Chipping and 2 Putting Greens. Added Value includes Daily Breakfast in our Main Restaurant " Cucina," plus FREE Wifi access and FREE Parking. On our Property you can enjoy our Swimming Pool, Tennis Court, Squash Court and fully equipped Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Hotel George
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing