We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fancourt(George)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Lodge George(George)(Great Value!)
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
US$302
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
229
158
94
40
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
158
94
40
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterside grillbeautiful hotelcucina restaurantwhale viewinggarden routemain restaurantrooms are hugeluxurious roomsgeorge airportsliding doorkids clubsmall thingsindian oceanherolds baystunning viewssouth africacape town
Filter
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Impressive at first glance. The hotel and rooms are stunning. However when checking into the room, the bathroom wasnt as clean as one would expect. Toothpaste on the mirror and hair lying on the floor.

The breakfast buffet was delicious and kitchen staff well trained.

The service is terrible.

As guests of the hotel we were also referred to restaurant outside the resort as their restaurants where booked with customers not staying at the hotel.

I would not recommend staying here

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Carina E
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this stay. Please rest assured that all your comments have been noted and will be addressed to improve our service and standards. I have passed on your comments to the departments involved. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast at our hotel. Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have recently stayed the hotel in December 2013. It is set in a stunning location and the rooms are well appointed. In general our stay was OK, but we indeed expected more especially having stayed at other Hyatt's around the globe! So in a nutshell definitely not 5 star rating in our opinion.

Problems encountered:

When making the booking we asked for inter-leading rooms and the person who took the reservation confirmed this. How on earth can my wife and I be on one floor and our kids aged under 10 years old be on another!

We arrived at the hotel after 2pm and yet we still waited almost 2 hours for our rooms before we checked in

The hotel seems to cater more for outside guests rather than the paying guests as we were unable to have dinner in either of your restaurants on New Years Eve!

At the Clubhouse we waited over an hour to have 3 pizzas made, no management came to inform us but rather after 45 minutes we got an apology after asking about the pizzas, surely if you know there is going to be a wait on food you would inform your guests!

The manager (Troy) at Waterside is just rude and has no way of dealing with people and is indifferent. On a night we went to the restaurant to ask if we could dine there: The answer was NO! There was none of: Can I take your room number in case there is a cancellation or would you like to have a drink in the bar in the meantime......On the occasion that we did dine there the service was shocking, we waited 20 minutes for our drinks and all for the waiter to come back to say the wine we ordered is not in stock. We saw a waitress sitting on a box behind your sushi station. Never mind the guests that are dining! The Manager is not engaging with his guests. In a 5 Star establishment that is what we expect, we pay the money so at least we can expect the value in return. In our opinion Troy should not be in the position he is in!

We had dinner in Cucina well the food was definitely not great, but great service can save bad food. The buffet was of poor quality not 5 star at all. From a service point of view we felt welcomed and the and the Manager Evan addressing us by name so we felt valued as well.Breakfast was a treat, a wide variety food and the waitresses very attentive. Service was great!

The hotel is in a great location but please sort out your issues! If we are going to pay the price we paying then deliver the value and exceed our expectations!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottinScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear ScottinScott
We wish to thank you for bringing to our attention the problems experienced by you on your recent visit to the Hyatt Regency Oubaai Resort & Spa. It is only through detailed feedback like your own that we are able to measure and improve our performance. We take all comments, both negative and positive, very seriously in our constant endeavour to improve standards and make our guests experience all the more pleasurable. We have discussed in detail the concerns raised by you with the relevant staff, and rectified these issues.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Been there on a business trip. The hotel was well prepared and managed all aspects for conferencing exceptionally well. The hotel itself is a in a beautiful location with nice amenities for guests. Well laid out and managed the transfer of business delegates and hotel guests in a very professional manner. staff really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAquiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear MAquiel
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased we were able to meet all of your needs on your business trip.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hyatt Regency as part of a family roadtrip through South Africa. We have stayed at this hotel before but it never fails to impress. The club lounge area has free beverages (hot and cold) at all times during the day with canape's served at 5pm. The rooms themselves have high quality linen, the bathrooms are spacious and well appointed. We took a golf cart tour of the resort which was well worth it- the driver took us down to a cliff viewpoint where we could watch the waves crashing on the rocks. There was a festive season programme including a yoga class and pilates which was all thoroughly enjoyable. Highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KB2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear KB2905
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The rooms are vey nice and indeed five star, but the minute your are by the pool or in any of the restaurants this place is barely a three star. Very poor value for your money. The service is anything but accurate, management setting the bar and it is LOW. The manager of the seafood restaurant Waterfront Grill is a man named Troy and he is probably losing money by the minute for the Hyatt company. He insisted three times from 5 pm through 9 pm that it was impossible to get a table due to booking situation and he would call us if a table for two ope up during the being. Despite No telephone call to our room we walked in to the restaurant at 9 pm and more than 10 tables were empty...... Surprise we got seated but ignored and preoccupied. By The surrounding guest complaining about bad service an uneatable food. The manager Troy was indifferent and could not care less through out this turmoil of complaints and frustrations and sent back food, the staff was 50/50 caring and trying or just indifferent like their boss. If I had anything to do with the prosperity of the Hyatt I would get people like Troy redundant within 5 seconds and turn this place in to a nice experience

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear saltis
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this stay. Please rest assured that all your comments have been noted and will be addressed to improve the services and products we offer at our hotel. Your feedback has been passed on to the departments involved. I am glad you enjoyed your room. Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews