We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$610
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$532
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fancourt(George)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Lodge George(George)(Great Value!)
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
227
157
94
40
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
157
94
40
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterside grillbeautiful hotelcucina restaurantwhale viewinggarden routemain restaurantrooms are hugeluxurious roomsgeorge airportsliding doorkids clubsmall thingsindian oceanherolds baystunning viewssouth africacape town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

To all the staff of Oubaai - BIG thumbs up for your hospitality and friendliness. Our room was HUGE and the special attention to detail for our 5th wedding anniversary leaving us strawberries and chocolate sauce, fruit, red wine, biltong platter - AMAZING!!
Being parents of two busy boys under three - the weekend away was much needed.
We ordered room service and the Burger is to die for as well as the chicken pasta.
The only thing that i can fault is the loud music on Saturday - think there was a wedding, but at least the DJ played nice music.
Well done to all staff members with your kindness and willingness to help - especially the new receptionist (she has been with you for almost 4 months I think) WELL done, she was very helpful and friendly.
We will be back :)

Room Tip: I would say book the Club Executive Suite - everything is amazing!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esti929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Esti929
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your positive comments on TripAdvisor!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights towards the end of February and this truly is a world class facility. Friendly staff (always the most important to me), beautifully appointed, large, comfortable rooms and the main building has glorious views over the estate. The one disappointment was the standard of the food in the Waterside Grill - it did not live up to the expectations set by the rest of the hotel. But we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear JohanMoolman
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We also appreciate you highlighting your area of disappointment.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hyatt Regency Oubaai in the not too distant future!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a difficult review to pitch right as there were aspects of this stay that we're excellent, but our major disappointment was that the rooms are not as advertised.
First the good, this is a comfortable and clean hotel, the standard of room is excellent and you are pretty well guaranteed a good nights sleep. The staff were delightful, with the exception of a couple of reception staff who definitely need a reminder on the basics of customer service, that said the young lady that checked us out was one of the best and I wish I'd noted her name to say thank you. The porterage was excellent and we used the restaurant and bar and we're happy that we were well looked after by competent and very pleasant staff.
Why the three star? To start with the web site advertises this hotel as having 'mountain or ocean views' from all rooms. This is very far from the truth and if, like me, you plan your holidays always having some view of this beautiful country, you'll be enormously disappointed if you check in to one of the many ground floor rooms with clearly no view. The assumption when you read of all rooms having a terrace or balcony might be that these are usable, no, there is no furniture for any outdoor relaxing. We were checked in to a ground floor room, which was an excellent room but with no view. We asked to be relocated to a room with a view and we're told by a receptionist (who sucked air through her teeth as if I'd asked her to pronounce on the meaning of life) that 'the computer says no'. I went back to my room to check on how I could have messed up the booking and there on the website room description was clearly that all rooms have mountain or sea view. I rang reception who informed me that I hadn't specified a mountain or sea view, and I told them I shouldn't need to and asked to speak with their manager when the phone went dead. After I spoke with customer services a very helpful lady rang to inform us that we had been moved to the third floor and there was a view from there. The new room wasn't as nice as the first one and wifi didn't work there, but it had a view with a small, unusable, balcony so we were happy with the outcome.
The design of the hotel is, in my view, very poor. You have to go up and down stairs to get anywhere, there are no obvious links between rooms and functional areas of the hotel. If I had been staying here with colleagues on business I would have been happy with my stay, but as a recreational user the building is far from ideal. The haphazard rules on which restaurants, the constant overpowering smell of burnt cooking oils around the main building from lunchtime onwards are countered a lot by good rooms and excellent staff (with the exceptions mentioned), but on balance, for us, this will never be a destination again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank welshtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear welshtraveller09
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take all feedback very seriously, in our constant endeavour to improve standards and make our guests experience all the more pleasurable, and it is only through detailed feedback such as yours, that we are able to improve our service.
Please accept our sincere apologies for challenges experienced during your stay and rest assured that your comments have been addressed with the team.
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our room was very nice. The dinner was great, very good quality. The breakfast was ok, but not great. Many cakes, but less bread and not good juice (to sweet, not fresh squezzed). The Lobby was very nice and the Spa was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Dina870
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased to receive your positive responses, as well as the highlighted areas, which you consider need to be addressed in order to enhance the hotel’s overall operation.
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Was an invited guest to this hotel on a business/golf trip. Had a second floor room that was very spacious and very comfortable. The room was beautifully laid out and decorated and had every amenity necessary. The breakfast buffet was good and generally the service in the hotel was of a high standard. Look forward to going back

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SuperSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear SuperSpeed
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews