We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent 3 nights on a golf special here & were very pleased with what we encountered.
The rooms are beautifully decorated & very comfortable & spacious with TV & very small bar fridge. The bathroom & shower are part of the room with glass surrounding. Just wondered what & where I was supposed to put the soap... as no shelf supplied to hold such things.
The only drawback for me was we were accommodated on the 3rd floor & with bad knees it was quite a hike a few times a day.
The food in the restaurant was good, but the service was very poor. However this is a training issue & we hope they will better train the staff for their dining guests.
The breakfasts were very good with a large selection of cooked items & fresh fruit, cheeses, cereals etc.The noise from a tour group of people & kids in the morning was a bit concerning & unpleasant. They almost took over the breakfast area & were seen to be preparing food for the bus for the rest of the day & it looked like the locusts had been let loose.
It is a lovely place to base yourself to play golf in the area & explore all that George & Mossel Bay have to offer.

Room Tip: There are lovely rooms right at the front overlooking the ocean. Ask for a quiet room if tour busses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlossPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear FlossPortElizabeth
Thank you for sharing your experience with others! We appreciate your detailed and constructive feedback and all your comments have been noted. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Sandra Kneubuhler
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 kids (1+4yrs old). The rooms are big and spacious. The breakfast was nice but average and not what you expect from a Hyatt. Room service was excellent.

There is not much to do here for the kids except to swim. Club Hyatt is ok if you need your kids to be looked after while at the spa. The Spa was amazing though.

So if you need a little getaway for some R+R, its fine but overall there is not much to do at the Resort or in George.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nurahn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Nurahn E
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased to receive your positive responses, as well as the highlighted areas, which you consider need to be addressed in order to enhance the hotel’s overall operation.
We appreciate your feedback very much and all your comments have been noted and addressed with the team.
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Sandra Kneubuhler
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Nestled I between the picturesque Oteniqua Mountains and George on the South African Indian Ocean Coastline Oubaai is a great stopping off point to chill and relax before setting off on the Garden route to Port Elizabeth or a 4 hour drive to Cape Town

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend as part of our firms retreat. Since I am not a Golfer and did not use the Spa I can't comment other than to report that my colleagues who did were impressed. It is also only 15 min from the well known Fancourt resort.

Try a garden suite. Well appointed and spacious. Food was good too.

Room Tip: Choose a garden suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianpatterson273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear brianpatterson273
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Sandra Kneubuhler
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The golf cart used to travel from room to other places, the driver said the cart not for INDIANS.We had to go walking to reception.The driver was standing on the gate smoking...Worst behaviour...Service is best but such things cover it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vegda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Vegda
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take all feedback very seriously, in our constant endeavour to improve standards and make our guests experience all the more pleasurable, and it is only through feedback such as yours, that we are able to improve our service.
Please accept our sincere apologies for challenges experienced during your stay and rest assured that your comments have been noted.
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Sandra Kneubuhler
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful and in a stunning setting. However, we arrived late afternoon on a Friday and had 1 lukewarm and 1 cold shower. On Saturday night around the same time, there was absolutely no hot water - so we had cold showers. Not happy! Management said there was maintenance taking place that they were unaware of - rather strange that they would be doing maintenance on a busy weekend just at the time that people want to freshen up. I think they simply ran out of hot water and their geysers are too small for the number of guests they had.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor else you won't get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Jacqui A
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointments you experienced during your stay. It is only through detailed feedback like your own that we are able to measure and improve our performance and services.
Whilst we appreciate that, an apology may not restore your total confidence in the entire offering at the Hyatt Regency Oubaai Resort & Spa, we can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment, and all your comments have been genuinely noted.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Sandra Kneubuhler
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I was on a site inspection for clients. Great confrtence facilities and versatile venue. To me the big draw card was the Spa or Golf course. Not really an hotel for families with children that dont play golf and the kids club caters for very little people. You can however take day trips to keep little people amused and the Garden route has so many options. Our meal at the grill was good but to be honest our dinner the night before at the clubhouse was better.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lutzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Lutzie
Thank you for taking the time to share a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us!
Kind regards,
Sandra Kneubuhler
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This being my first stay at the famed Hyatt Oubaai resort with my family, I could see what all the fuss was about. Excellent ambiance, wonderful spacious with modern interiors and great breakfast with a wide variety.

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to the Regency floor with complimentary coffee and snacks in the early evening...pleasant surprise.

Unfortunately, the tennis courts were under repair but squash was available. Too cold to indulge in the tempting outdoor pool with great vistas. The Ernie Els design course is a great challenge with spectacular views of the Indian Ocean and is in great condition. The par 3 17th is breathtaking to say the least and a must Kodak moment. The pizzas on offer at the halfway house were legendary.

The only blemish during our stay, was the somewhat rigid and tense nature of certain staff. We had a very unpleasant experience in the gym where we "scolded" by one of the managers called Mark for having our kids there, when clearly the sign outside mentioned kids allowed with adult supervision! When I brought this to his attention I received a cold, somewhat arrogant and unapologetic response...shocking for a 5 star resort. He even had the audacity thereafter to accuse them of being bare feet when they both had their sneakers on!

I must say my usual stay at Fancourt thereafter was much more relaxed, child friendly and with the usual courteous and kind staff. I think Oubaai can take a few tips from them....

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaheergani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OubaaiHyatt, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear 786ZHR
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appeciate your positive comments as well as your highlighted disappointments. We take all feedback very seriously, in our constant endeavour to improve standards and make our guests experience all the more pleasurable, and it is only through detailed feedback such as yours, that we are able to improve our service.
Please accept our sincere apologies for challenges experienced during your stay and rest assured that your comments have been noted.
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Sandra Kneubuhler
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
489 reviews
6.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
6.8 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
57 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: 406 Herolds Bay Road | Herolds Bay, George 6528, South Africa (Formerly Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £66 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa is set in the picturesque hamlet of Herolds Bay, within 15 minutes from George Airport, Western Cape, South Africa. This 316-acre upscale Residential & Golf Development set apart in our specatacular Garden Route stretches out along the Western Cape from Mossel Bay to Port Elizabeth. Home to our Signature Ernie Els Golf Course as well as the Freesia Spa. The Oubaai Hotel has 100 Luxury Guest Rooms showcased alongside some of the most spectacular Herolds Bay Heritage Real Estate. This includes 322 upmarket Oubaai Residential Properties and 128 Oubaai Village Apartments. Golf Membership is optional. The Golf Club comprises of our 18 Hole Championship Ernie Else Signature Golf Course, the Golf Academy, a Driving Range plus 1 Chipping and 2 Putting Greens. Added Value includes Daily Breakfast in our Main Restaurant " Cucina," plus FREE Wifi access and FREE Parking. On our Property you can enjoy our Swimming Pool, Tennis Court, Squash Court and fully equipped Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Hotel George
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing