We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outeniqua Travel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Outeniqua Travel Lodge
Ranked #26 of 28 Speciality Lodging in George
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The lodge is fairly well situated, being quite central in George. The property has attractive gardens and plenty of parking. Our room was clean and neat. However, our room was quite noisy - the toilet sounded like it was in agony after being flushed, and the electric gate (situated just outside our room) was very loud. Thankfully no other residents arrived late at night, otherwise we would certainly have been woken up. The price was fair, but certainly no bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Laggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    4
    9
    14
See reviews for
8
17
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Booked this place on line and on arrival was told that I was early i.e. 10 minutes before booking in. The male owner was really an unpleasant person although his wife was nice. The room is very tiny with no television - you have to share the living room with others and be happy with what they want to watch. The one night I stayed there I could not watch anything as the owner (male) had an "Orchid Club" meeting so all guests had to stay in their room.
Wi-Fi signal is very bad as well so there really is nothing else to do. The power outlet was not working as it had been disconnected so drying my hair was a mission. Oh yes, no hairdryer available either. Bedding was clean and bed was comfortable.
Even the housemaid looked afraid and unhappy being there.
Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyViews_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Our family stayed for a couple of nights at Outeniqua Travel Lodge. Very affordable for the great service and comfort you get. It was for sure home from home and my 2 and 6 year old had a great time and also felt welcome. Clean bedding, fresh coffee every morning and a cosy fireplace in the evening made us feel welcome right through the day. Lovely bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, swimming pool and outside braai area make it so easy for every traveller to be self catering. I can recommend Outenikwa Travel Lodge to any traveller - leisure, business, families, single travellers, backpackers, etc. It is across the golf coarse, so very convenient for golf lovers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacdekock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Would not advise staying at the Outeniqua Lodge in George. My partner and I had arranged to stay there to then be informed that our booking had been cancelled the morning of arrival. We turned up to discuss the issue just to be faced with there non responding door bell. Luckily we found a place a couple of kilometres away but we didn't appreciate the principle of it all. Would not recommend Outeniqua Lodge if you hope to have a confirmed place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Helder
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

I have stayed here before, but this place has only improved over time. The owner can still be really grumpy and annoying, but when you take it all as a joke you can just laugh it off. The other owner is really friendly and will help you with everything. The lodge is really clean and the rooms are really nice. There is lots of pictures everywhere with a nice vibe. There is also safe parking in the back.
I loved my stay again and hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Arrived to find our Booking.com reservation (for 4 rooms) had been lost and only one room was booked in our name.
Rooms are OK, but make sure you confirm your reservation as owner seems to be a little confused with Booking.com's reservation system.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blogarithm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed here for one night with husband and 9 month old son. Lovely and helpful people, nice and clean room and bathroom, lovely living room, fully equiped kitchen, nice terrasse with a little swimmingpool. The room and the doublebed is however a bit small. If you are two and need some space - go for a room with twin beds. Walking distance to supermarket and a wonderful little deli (Laurens) Would definently recommend this place to anyone visiting George.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalouMalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
7.7 mi away
Far Hills Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ibis Place Country House & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Loerie Guest Lodge
Loerie Guest Lodge
#12 of 59 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Reheifo Lodge
Reheifo Lodge
#20 of 28 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
8.2 mi away
Surfari
Surfari
#1 of 2 in Victoria Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outeniqua Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outeniqua Travel Lodge

Property: Outeniqua Travel Lodge
Address: 19 Montagu Street, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Speciality Lodging in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Outeniqua Travel Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Outeniqua Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing