We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meat in town!!”
Review of Cafe Serefe

Cafe Serefe
Ranked #13 of 109 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Although Turkish elements are still present in the foods and ambience, the emphasis moved to serving outstanding South African cuisine at the most affordable prices.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best meat in town!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

If you want some nice meat, go here!! Just above Van Rensburgs butchery it has the freshest and best meat in town. Always a good meal here and will always go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coles8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hands down the best ribs ever”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a family meal here before Christmas. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient and the little touch of being given hand sanitiser and a nibble of Turkish Delight after being seated was a treat. We were all there to try out the ribs and were certainly not left disappointed - all agreed that they were the best we've had anywhere! Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobingSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy food and awesome atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Really good food and an amazing atmosphere! My sister got picked to dance with the belly dancer and it made her night! I will most definitely return for more delicious food! ps. The service was also really good!

Helpful?
Thank Cilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
308 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“SA Cuisine with a Turkish Twist”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were greeted warmly but had to wait quite a while to be asked what we wanted to drink and eat. My husband ordered lamb rump which he thoroughly enjoyed. It was a very thick piece of meat but was cooked superbly to his taste. The way they serve the vegetables all in a filo pastry tart was extremely innovative and very tasty and the wedges were piping hot. I ordered chicken & mango curry which was accompanied by poppadum and sambals. Unfortunately, I had to comment to the waitress that although my meal on the whole was very nice I could not make out any curry flavour in the food. I do not like hot curries but my meal really did not taste of curry at all. However, having said that, the menu was varied and priced just right so we will go back for another visit soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helge d, Owner at Cafe Serefe, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hi, thank you very much for your review.
I will look into the curry-as it stated on the menu - a very mild chicken & mango curry, as general people don't like a medium or hot curry. Some customers ask for more mild / medium / or hot, it's a personal preference. Our chefs will gladly prepare it to your liking!
Hope to host you in the near future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is one of the best value for money restaurants in George, always excellent service and the Lamb Rump and Ribs are to die for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Serefe also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Serefe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing