We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent market”

Outeniqua Farmers' Market
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Outeniqua Farmers’ Market is located opposite the Garden Route Mall on the N2. The five-hectare site is the home to nearly 120 food and craft stalls offering produce and goods created by local farmers and skilled craft people. From berries to bread, fish to flowers, and everything in between, local residents and international visitors will find carefully selected goods to suit the most discerning tastes, at consistently reasonable prices.
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent market”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A proper farmers market with a variety of quality food stalls.
Neat and well organised. A perfect place for a Saturday
morning breakfast. Child friendly.

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Market in SA”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Having been to a number of markets, especially in the Western Cape area, this one is by far the best. There is enough parking, the number and variety of stalls are excellent and very importantly, they have a great area for entertaining children. The toilets are as best as you can organise, but that is one aspect that they can still improve...but it in no way detracts from the experience. I love the way the art and craft section is demarcated and the wood chips are fab for ensuring you feet stay dry even if there's been some rain. When in George...this is a must-do attraction!!

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A market must!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The neatest market I have been to in a long time. Everything is beautifully and very well presented. A huge array of food to choose from and nice seating. Perfect family outing.

Visited January 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A market not to be missed!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is without a doubt the best market I have been too. I loved the layout, space to move between the extremely neat, clean and well put together stalls. The ground was covered in wood chips which kept the mud at bay, the dust under control, it was comfy to walk on and tidy at sight. The variety of food stalls offering scrumptious eats fit for all tastebuds was fabulous! With musicians on stage providing a delightful atmosphere whilst browsing through all the stalls offering beautiful and many a creative item which includes an interesting nursery, was a fantastic experience. This market has also catered for little children. The car park was well organised with car guards friendly directing whilst casting a watchful eye and the bathroom facilities super clean.

Visited April 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
667 reviews
355 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“Shopper's heaven, gourmet's delight!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Just loved this place - everything about it - from the neat layout, to the waterjongens hosing down the dirt pathways to keep the dust down, to the myriad of things on offer, not only to take home but also to eat on site.Nothing brings on the appetite more than a bit of boerewors sizzling on the coals - and by George (no pun intended) there was enough food on sale to satisfy the most varied of tastes.
I came away with a really wicked bar of chocolate/chilli nougat as well as a jar of olives stuffed with garlic.Also bought a tray of the biggest, tastiest cling peaches that I have ever eaten - blemish -free and really superb ( thanks to the labour unrest in the SW Cape, us locals could get to experience some of the export quality fruit that our land is so famous for!) Another tray of fruit - this time, some hanepoort grapes also landed in our basket of goodies - all first grade standard, and at the most affordable prices. A visit to the nusery yielded some sturdy plants - and for the rest of the time, we were content to drift from stall to stall, chatting to the folk and generally, just enjoying the ambience. Children were enjoying tractor rides and the relaxed atmosphere made it very hard to leave. I think the good people of George need to be commended on their excellent market - its one of those places that need a revisit - for me, that can't be soon enough!

Visited February 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outeniqua Farmers' Market also viewed

George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing