We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't visit Redberry farm”
Review of Redberry Farm

Redberry Farm
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Visit Redberry Farm for a delightful family outing. Activities include strawberry picking, the largest permanent hedge maze in the Southern Hemisphere, the Redberry Express mini train, pony rides, bubble ball and bumper and paddle boats. Our tea garden and farm stall offer a range of exclusive strawberry products. The Red Shed Coffee & Berry Bar is an exclusive farm style coffee bar serving berry beverages, coffees and treats.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't visit Redberry farm”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Like another reviewer, I found the place appalling. Firstly the service in the cafe was terrible. I waited in a queue for half an hour only to find that when I reached the front of the queue, the lady pointed me to a different queue saying the queue was over there. I found this very funny as the people in front of me had just got served. The lady was an obese, elderly lady with glasses. I told her that I had been waiting for long but she insisted I join the queue. Please DO NOT visit this place!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    133
    36
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Red berry farm is great!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

When you're a dad alone, exploring with your kids, this is the place for some time out for you..
They have so many activities which are safe for your kids so that you can chill in the restaurant area with something cold.
They have attractions for kids of every age group. The maze is particularly fascinating.

George is a wonderful place to use as a base for exploring some great attractions on the garden route.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Must do for families”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is such a great experience for families travelling in the George area, especially for young kids. There are a variety of activities to keep kids and adults happy. You can go strawberry picking in the patch, there is a small train that takes kids through the maze, into the strawberry patch and through a tunnel. There are also little boats on a small dam and horse rides. Over and above this the whole area i just filled with jungle gyms and beautiful decor. The farm stall also sells many strawberry products of which the strawberry syrup was my favourite. Make an afternoon of it and experience all this little farm has to offer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Family Friendly Farm”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great family fun farm with loads to do for both adults and children oh and of course don't forget those delicious strawberries!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unique Strawberry Land”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I visited the Strawberry Farm aka Redberry Farm last year, and it was unique although the farm itself was small but the surroundings were really great. I love to see the strawberry plants there, and also the strawberry restaurant. For the restaurant, I ordered the strawberry milkshake, it was really tasteful. I also got the chance to ride the train, and it runs around the whole garden, and we were really excited to enjoy the view. Overall it was pleasant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dmitriys_8258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Redberry Farm also viewed

 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 

Been to Redberry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing