We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but lack of price transparency...”

Lord Caledon Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lord Caledon Guest House
Ranked #35 of 62 George B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The pro's: Great rooms - well designed, spacious, clean, new and extra long beds (with excellent mattresses), quiet aircon, fantastic shower (and bathroom in general). Lord Caledon is located in a very beautiful neighbourhood close to the local botanical garden and less than 15 minutes walking distance from all the good local restaurants (e.g. the supreme restaurant "The Old Townhouse" max 1.5 km away).
The con's: A pool with no trace of chlorine (water beetles were actually living quite well in the pool). And the pool was occupied daily by the owner's 6 year old kid and her friends.
The small dogs are barking whenever something passes the front gate (or any gate) at any time of the day.
Non-transparent pricing. The asked for a price quote. We got a price per person being 25 ZAR lower per person than stated on their web site, BUT after breakfast the first morning the owner demanded an additional fee of 75 ZAR/person/day for the breakfast thus bringing the price well above the price published on their website (where breakfast is included in the room price)... VERY unpleasant experience!!! So get your quote specified in every detail!

Room Tip: The only upper room has a stunning view of the mountains and is most isolated from the rest of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

Lovely size rooms with free wi fi and large tv flat screens. Bathrooms large with superb layout, plenty of space. Small bar fridge which is great to put your juices and drinks in. Rooms have aircon as well which was needed as the evenings were sticky. Extra long beds are also available should you be on the tall side. Beautiful big pool with lots of furniture to lounge around on. Stunning indoor/outdoor braai area to use if you want to have a traditional South African braai. Hosts are really superb and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed.Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NutsGerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Lovely guesthouse. Convenient location, beautiful setting. Stunning garden to relax in.
Wifi exceptional and free !! Great breakfast. Crisp linen and fluffy white towels !
Helpful and informative hosts!! We will be back ! Perfect !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Highly recommended. We had a lovely few days at The Lord Caledon guest house. Rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable and stylish with crisp white bed linen and the bathrooms were luxuriously appointed with a never-ending supply of fluffy white towels. Our rooms overlooked the garden and pool, had modern tv and satellite facilities and wi-fi. We found the location convenient and Jackie was a considerate and thoughtful host. She made some wonderful recommendations for restaurants to visit in the evening and offered breakfast although we preferred to breakfast out as we had some early starts. Her husband Brian was invaluable with his knowledge of the area and was able to help with information on what there was to see and do and the best way of going about it. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying in the Lord Caledon guest house for two nights in September and can recommend this lovely home. Rooms have very comfortable beds with free wifi everywhere. Breakfast was very nice, although there was not much of a selection. I did miss the little extras, which I have seen at other guest houses in the same price category, eg more amenities in the bathroom, rusks and plunger coffee in the tray, and something special like chocolate on the bed. All the basics are in the room, which will ensure a comfortable stay, though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilsev348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

As a frequent business traveller to George, I stayed at Lord Caledon for a year every month for a week. I looked forward to my stay in this beautiful guest house. Stunning rooms and fantastic hosts, Jackie and Brian. Always a personal touch and felt like extended family. This is a must for anyone going on business or looking for somewhere to stay for a holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed at the Lord Caledon for a night; what great accommodation it is! Lovely, impeccably clean rooms with a big tv and a generous bathroom. Slept like the dead! Woke up the next morning to a delicious breakfast and great conversation with the owners who had all the newspapers we could ever ask for. Will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charts87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George hotels
1.9 mi away
Edenwood House
Edenwood House
#1 of 62 in George
227 reviews
5.5 mi away
Surfari
Surfari
#1 of 2 in Victoria Bay
63 reviews
7.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Over the Mountain Guest Farm
3.2 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Caledon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Caledon Guest House

Address: 35 Caledon Street | Camphersdrift, George 6529, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range: £57 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION ! LOCATION ! LOCATION ! A stylish, deliberately small and exclusive guest house situated in the upmarket suburb of Camphersdrift, George - heart of the Garden Route. Centrally located, the perfect destination for leisure or business traveler alike. Accommodation consists of seven en suite rooms. The establishment has a private lush garden, large sparkling pool and braai(barbecue) facilities with Wifi internet access. Each room has a king size extra length bed, air conditioning, satellite television, tea/coffee making facilities, laptop safes, mini bar fridges (stocked on request), hairdryers and en suite bathrooms with either a bath and shower or a shower only. The honeymoon suite offers a fireplace for those chilly winter nights.The first guests stayed at Lord Caledon in December 2009, a group of golfers. Needless to say they enjoyed the rooms, facilities and most of all the hospitality. The Phillips family are very proud of the Lord Caledon and wish you a pleasurable and memorable stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lord Caledon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing