We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancourt Golfing Mecca”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Fancourt is a beautiful place to visit and I’d definitely visit again to play golf. The room we stayed in was adequate but definitely not on par to other 5 star hotels I’ve visited and I must admit I was a little disappointed. The service levels in the hotel were good but nothing special, particularly at reception. The golf courses are amazing and made the trip memorable and I would most definitely return to play them again. Overall a good experience but I’ve visited better 5 star hotels. I would stay elsewhere if I wasn’t playing golf.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skywhalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your sharing your experience of Fancourt.

We are so disappointed that the hotel didn’t live up to your expectations. At Fancourt, we pride ourselves on our service excellence, and we are constantly focused on improving our service levels through training. We have addressed your comments, on our service, with the relevant managers for review and consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you to back to Fancourt and to “wowing” you with our service!

Thank you for sharing your experience and bringing some areas of concern to our attention.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had the opportunity to spend a week at Fancourt which was an experience of note. The facilities are unbelievable and the level of service in all areas was outstanding. Golf courses are in immaculate condition and probably the best in the country. It has all the facilities available so even a non golfer would enjoy staying there. an absolutely world class establishment.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandit314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderfully positive review of Fancourt.

We are incredibly proud of our facilities and our offering and we couldn’t be more thrilled that you enjoyed your week with us.

Some of our facilities for non golfers, and for golfers resting from the courses, include four tennis courts, leisure trails of 2.5, 5 or 10km, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, The Spa, fishing, mountain biking, gym, Kidz Club and teen lounge, to keep the whole family entertained.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

What a wonderful venue, spoilt by the the inadequecies of hotel management toward guest relations and client service. The blase' attitude toward sorting out the theft of my golf clubs outside the members bar is something you would not expect at a venue of this stature. I must say that the total disregard to their patrons would not befit a one star hotel. The fact that two of the three stolen clubs were found the next day in the back of the members locker room was a small consolation for the unconcerned attitude of senior management. Poor poor reflection Fancourt. Maybe you need to get the Plattners more involved as I am sure the ugliness of the situation would have avoided with a little German efficiency

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are disappointed to hear that we handled the unfortunate situation, of your golf clubs going missing during your time with us, poorly.

At Fancourt we take all matters of security seriously and as soon as it was reported to our Security team, we arranged a Security Supervisor to take a full report, during which time I met with you, and a thorough investigation was launched including a full search of the area. Two of your three golf clubs were found that evening, as a result. The search continued the next day, in full light, although your remaining club was regrettably not recovered.

As your visit with us may have been marred by this unfortunate occurrence, please accept our most sincere apologies. We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent this past weekend at Fancourt Hotel. Venue and facilities are amongst the best available. Service in restaurants and bar could be improved. Caddies were top grade. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable experience that I'd highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for the review of your experience at Fancourt and for recommending us to other travelers.

It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our facilities. We have noted your suggestion to improve the service in our outlets and bar and I have shared this with our Food and Beverage Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I don't think their is a resort that has as good customer service as they do at Fancourt. The staff are genuinely attentive.

The rooms are large and well kitted out but the bathrooms are magnificent. Breakfast is good but not as vast and flavourful as some other resorts on the Garden Route.

The Roman bath (adults only) and the indoor heated pool for kids are the unsung heroes of the resort. With the weather not always ideal for outdoor relaxation these two pools are magnificent to relax and unwind.

But the best part of Fancourt is the golf. Truly amazing. Montagu and Outenquia are spectacular parkland courses. The conditioning must be the best I have seen in South Africa. The caddies at Fancourt need a special mention. They are really very good, the best I have seen in SA as well.

The Links at Fancourt is a course that should be on every golfers bucket list. It is a brute of a course in distance and difficulty but a beauty. You can see it is a course that is held up to the highest standards.

Fancourt is a golfing mecca and with George GC, Oubaai and Kingswood all within 15 minutes of the resort you can spend a week there playing world class golf.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for your gracious review of Fancourt.

We are incredibly proud of our offering at Fancourt and your review has really captured the essence of what makes Fancourt such a truly special place, thank you! As you mention we are well positioned in the Garden Route for sight-seeing, outdoor activities, scenic drives and golf.

We hope to see you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My whole family attended a company management year end weekend at Fancourt. There was approximately 30 people in our party.
All in attendance agreed that the Hotel was immaculate. The golfing experience ranks right up there with the best. (Certainly the best in SA) Our hosts on Friday evening went out of their way to cater for every whim. Food was brilliant, service even better and the atmosphere fitting the occasion.
The hotel rooms were great, with lots of attention to detail. (PS kids loved the towel elephant and "kissing swan" turn down touch!). Lots available for the kids to do as well.
Only one slight negative was the breakfast service - better available at lesser hotels and resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Fancourt.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We have taken your feedback about our breakfast on board, and the Food and Beverage Manager is investigating our service levels for areas of improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The first time we stayed there was back in October 2010 - we had one hour to kill and ended up buying a lodge.
The resort offers two great golf courses which each have 5 tee options to test everyone from beginners to major champions. The members are extremely friendly and easy to get on with.
The resorts has 3 main restraints all excellent and all the staff are extremely friendly. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatGat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing Fancourt and in such a positive light – we are very proud.

Fancourt is an exceptional place and absolutely worth a visit, during any stay on the Garden Route, whether to enjoy a round of golf, a meal in one of our outlets or a lovely sundowner in the Club Bar overlooking the 18th of Montagu.

Thank you again for your gracious review!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0 mi away
The Manor House
The Manor House
#3 of 9 in George
94 reviews
3 mi away
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel George King George
10 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: Montagu Street, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £173 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the Garden Route, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 133 luxury rooms and suites including The Manor House, The Spa, restaurants, three Gary Player designed golf courses and a Leisure Centre including a Kidz Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing