We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star experience from start to finish”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

From the moment we arrived at the gate to when we left we experienced nothing but excellent service from all the staff we encountered. Our rooms were stunning (two rooms both en suite with a lounge, dining area, small kitchen and guest bathroom) with quality furnishings. We made full use of the amenities on offer and enjoyed the golf, tennis, Roman baths, sauna, ice bath, Spa and restaurants. Breakfast was very good with a wide range of very tasty treats. The setting is very peaceful and the mountains provide for beautiful scenery. The estate is very well maintained. Definitely worth visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for your heart warming review of Fancourt.

It is always a pleasure to receive such wonderful praise. As a Leading Hotel of the World we are continually striving to exceed our guest’s expectations throughout their stay, and to receive feedback like yours, makes us all feel very proud of the work we do.

By the sounds of it, you really did make full use of a lot of our facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here over Thanksgiving Holiday and played golf on all three courses. Golfing was excellent, especially the Links course and rooms were very nice. My only complaint was when we went to the Manor House for dinner. My husband wore golf shorts and a golf polo shirt for dinner (since it is a golf resort) and we got reminded 4 x throughout the course of dinner that his shorts were not acceptable. We would have rather not been allowed to eat there then be reminded 4 x that we were not dressed appropriately. I guess we are used to a different type of golf resort in Texas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natbrat185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your review of Fancourt.

We couldn’t be more thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We are however disappointed to hear about your experience at our classical dining restaurant, Henry Whites. The dress code that should have been communicated to you on reservation is slightly more formal than the rest of the resort with long trousers, a collared shirt and closed shoes. At Fancourt we pride ourselves on service excellence and I would like to sincerely apologise for this lapse in service levels.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Fancourt for 2 nights. The plan was for him to get in a round of golf. Unfortunately it poured that day so golf didn't happen. But, if forced to chill for a day, this was an excellent place to do it. The grounds are beautiful. We were upgraded to a 1-bedroom suite, which is always good news at check-in. There was a half bottle of champagne chilled and waiting for us. The suite was lovely and had recently been updated. The bed/bedding was great. Breakfast was included in our rate. A large cold buffet and eggs cooked to order were offered. The only ding I'd give it was dinner at their restaurant, La Cantina. We ate there both nights. One night was excellent, the other disastrous. I guess you'd call that 'inconsistent.'

Room Tip: Our room was recently remodeled, but I hear that not all of them have been yet. ou might want to inq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your sharing your experience of Fancourt.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your upgrade to a one bedroom suite and the hotel facilities. We are still sorry to hear that the service in la Cantina let you down; we have addressed this with the relevant managers to ensure our guests receive better service, in future.

Next time you are at Fancourt I hope we can wow you with more consistent service and some sunshine for your husband’s round of golf.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Fancourt is a beautiful place to visit and I’d definitely visit again to play golf. The room we stayed in was adequate but definitely not on par to other 5 star hotels I’ve visited and I must admit I was a little disappointed. The service levels in the hotel were good but nothing special, particularly at reception. The golf courses are amazing and made the trip memorable and I would most definitely return to play them again. Overall a good experience but I’ve visited better 5 star hotels. I would stay elsewhere if I wasn’t playing golf.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skywhalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your sharing your experience of Fancourt.

We are so disappointed that the hotel didn’t live up to your expectations. At Fancourt, we pride ourselves on our service excellence, and we are constantly focused on improving our service levels through training. We have addressed your comments, on our service, with the relevant managers for review and consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you to back to Fancourt and to “wowing” you with our service!

Thank you for sharing your experience and bringing some areas of concern to our attention.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had the opportunity to spend a week at Fancourt which was an experience of note. The facilities are unbelievable and the level of service in all areas was outstanding. Golf courses are in immaculate condition and probably the best in the country. It has all the facilities available so even a non golfer would enjoy staying there. an absolutely world class establishment.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bandit314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderfully positive review of Fancourt.

We are incredibly proud of our facilities and our offering and we couldn’t be more thrilled that you enjoyed your week with us.

Some of our facilities for non golfers, and for golfers resting from the courses, include four tennis courts, leisure trails of 2.5, 5 or 10km, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, The Spa, fishing, mountain biking, gym, Kidz Club and teen lounge, to keep the whole family entertained.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

What a wonderful venue, spoilt by the the inadequecies of hotel management toward guest relations and client service. The blase' attitude toward sorting out the theft of my golf clubs outside the members bar is something you would not expect at a venue of this stature. I must say that the total disregard to their patrons would not befit a one star hotel. The fact that two of the three stolen clubs were found the next day in the back of the members locker room was a small consolation for the unconcerned attitude of senior management. Poor poor reflection Fancourt. Maybe you need to get the Plattners more involved as I am sure the ugliness of the situation would have avoided with a little German efficiency

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are disappointed to hear that we handled the unfortunate situation, of your golf clubs going missing during your time with us, poorly.

At Fancourt we take all matters of security seriously and as soon as it was reported to our Security team, we arranged a Security Supervisor to take a full report, during which time I met with you, and a thorough investigation was launched including a full search of the area. Two of your three golf clubs were found that evening, as a result. The search continued the next day, in full light, although your remaining club was regrettably not recovered.

As your visit with us may have been marred by this unfortunate occurrence, please accept our most sincere apologies. We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Spent this past weekend at Fancourt Hotel. Venue and facilities are amongst the best available. Service in restaurants and bar could be improved. Caddies were top grade. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable experience that I'd highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for the review of your experience at Fancourt and for recommending us to other travelers.

It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our facilities. We have noted your suggestion to improve the service in our outlets and bar and I have shared this with our Food and Beverage Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0 mi away
The Manor House
The Manor House
#4 of 9 in George
92 reviews
3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
10 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: Montagu Street, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: £188 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the Garden Route, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 133 luxury rooms and suites including The Manor House, The Spa, restaurants, three Gary Player designed golf courses and a Leisure Centre including a Kidz Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing